We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite Belgian restaurant!!!! ”

Le Chou de Bruxelles
Ranked #1 of 183 Restaurants in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$38
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Since 20years our restaurant have the pleasure to serve you a local cooking in a "belgo-belge" decoration, our specialty, the mussels, prepared in more then 30 kinds, built our reputation and well outside our borders. In good weather, a beautiful garden will welcome you.Special in Brussels, you can compose yourself your Menu "à la carte" for 29€: starter, main course and dessert to choose in the menu.
brussels
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite Belgian restaurant!!!! ”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been going to this restaurant for 11 years. The food is excellent. The owner is very kind and friendly. We live in the USA and travel to Europe almost every summer. Whenever we pass thru Belgium, we make a trip Le Chou de Bruxelles. Well worth the effort !!! I wish the owner would open a restaurant in Boston (where I live).

Helpful?
Thank sunfunmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    299
    31
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had a great time at Le Chou, their Mussels are really good! The interior is really cosy and it's a good place for a group as well. Plus it's in a nice neighbourhood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbskinnerbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect Belgian Experience!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If it's authenticity you're after, then look no further! Small and quite intimate with friendly, informal service, this paper-tablecloth establishment produces good value, hearty Belgian food as you would hope for. Prices are reasonable - 21 Euro for a massive bowl of mussels ( of which there are some 20+ variations) with most starters around 9 or 10 Euro. Awesome frites too! Small and well priced wine list with a few decent beers to boot. You simply can't go wrong here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradtheBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I took tripadvisors advice”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

When you don't know were to eat, use tripadvisor. I do this often to find good places to eat. So off I went to Le Chou, on recommendation (also not far from my hotel) Thanks all those that wrote reviews on this place !

I had a billy no mate table for one, out the back in a tiny patio in the sun. I had some nice beer and had to go for the moules, there were 32 types !!!

I had the fixed menu at 29 Euro, salmon, moules and creme caramel, fantastic value. I had the Ardennes moules, they were amazing and a huge huge portion. I planned to go back the next night !

The place slowly filled up with local, which showed how good this place to eat.

Throughly enjoyed the food and experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank another_JohnDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful meal. Wonderful ambience. Wonderful staff who invited us to join them in watching the Belgium-USA quarter final match.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Acoppola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chou de Bruxelles also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Chou de Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing