We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi”
Review of Sushi Shop

Sushi Shop
Ranked #149 of 183 Restaurants in Ixelles
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Sushi at it's best. We ordered a mixed box which was excellent.
The waiter was not on the ball but the food quality compensated most of it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marceloudendijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    22
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Disappointing and poor service”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Upon arriving at the sushishop at Sablon, initial thoughts were the interior was pleasant with a very nice menu, however things quickly went downhill. The waitress got a number of items on our order wrong, the soup arrived with a plastic spoon, I ordered a tea that came in a paper nespresso cup, small things like that which gave a bad impression.
The sushi itself was very good but there are definite areas for improvement.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very bad service”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I ordered a couple of times and it was ok because i just ordered the most expensive combined plateau on the menu that comes in a nice box.

One time i was with a friend but we didnt feel like eating 57 pieces so we ordered other 2 combinations and a cake.
The order came very very late, by the time it came my driver was waiting for me to go to the airport.

The delivery boy didnt come to the door, he called me from outside, for me to go down, in the rain. He wasn't even at the door, he was in the middle of the street.
The delivery boy didnt have change. He send ME to change the 50E bill. I tried to change in a shop but there was a huge line of 6 people in front of me and i was late for the airport... so i had to give a 10E tip. He didnt even speak english, didnt even thanked me.

I went back inside and when i looked in the bag... no desert, no sticks, no soia sos!!!!! 4 of the rolls were completely squashed, all the ingredients mixed together, the boxes were not even closed properly with a sticker.
The tuna had a strange color, a bit too purple, looked old.


This experience was a total turn off, i hate when im being robbed and although the sushi is not that bad i will never order again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Definitely a disappointment. We ate in the restaurant and it did not go well. The sushi was not fresh. They brought out a plate of mixed sushi rolls after only a minute, and at the same time they brought out the miso soup that we had ordered so we were sort of forced to eat them both at the same time. The waiter spilled the soup on my partner! Accidents happen but--come on. Plus the restaurant was full of some annoying gnats that were just flying around the place in front of your nose while you ate. We had ordered some more rolls but after waiting for 15 min. we realized that they weren't going to come so we ordered the bill instead because we had had enough. Just to add the bathrooms were dirty and as it's a takeout place, it's difficult to relax there with takeout drivers constantly going in and out of the place. We won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum !”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

They had the best salmon - cheese rolls !! Oh my god !! It was fresh salmon with a little Philadelphia cheese and rice in a roll .. Soooooo delicious !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sara11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Shop also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Sushi Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing