We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Made in Louise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Made in Louise
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Great service, great rooms, staff were very friendly, only issue is there are a few flights of stairs of you have heavy bags. The bar was good and the breakfast was fantastic, with good coffee. Parking is difficult with a larger car.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aNdReW85b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    230
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
118
424
78
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a most wonderful hotel. Friendly helpful staff, superb breakfasts, well stocked and reasonably priced bar, comfortable beds in good sized bedrooms, this hotel is excellent. The position is good, in walking distance to shops, trams and the metro. Can't recommend this lovely hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We used 3 rooms and all were equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I just stayed with my children and parents for a week in Made in Louise.
We felt very at ease in the hotel: the staff is absolutely charming, everyone was very kind with the children. The ladies in the breakfast room washed the little one's bottle every morning!!
The rooms are very nicely decorated so is the whole hotel.
We where there in the middle of a heatwave and there was always a home made cold iced tea or home made lemonade for the guests in the lounge.
We had room 65 and due to heat wave the room was always very hot, we were provided a fan (didn't help much...) the hotel made a nice commercial effort when we left, which was really nice. If we stay again in the summer I would definitely ask for a room with air con though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lac1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin-MIL, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We really love to welcome families.
The heat can hit Belgium, its rare but it seems that you experienced it!. We hope that it did not affect your travel experience.
We have rooms with airco, so dont hesitate to ask during your next stay!

We hope to see you soon!
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Amazing hotel in the hipster part of Brussels. Close to amazing architecture and sweet cafes with outdoor seating. Our room had an super clean bathroom and hooks for everything. They helped up have dinner in our room, delivered from a nearby restaurant. This place is straight out of architectural digest, but with really nice people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSmith1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin-MIL, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for this kind comment. We all believe here that details make the difference! Every day we try to surprise our guest and to bring them a special touch!
Hope to see you soon,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

So my girlfriend and I stayed here last night. Just a stop over on our way to Spain this morning....

Good points
Very welcoming and friendly staff
Beautiful room
Staff organised coffee and croissants ready for a 5am taxi to the airport

Bad points
No aircon, room was hot. There was a fan provided but it was noisy
There was some sort of party opposite the hotel last night. We closed the windows but it was still loud enough to keep is awake
We ordered a taxi to the airport from reception where they had a sign saying 40 euro however when we got there the driver charged us 49 euro

So overall I was a bit cheesed off with the heat/noise last night, we needed a good nights rest and definitely didn't get it. Quite expensive considering.

Room decoration and staff were definitely good though so maybe we were just unlucky!?

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank samuelwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin-MIL, Directeur général at Made in Louise, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Good afternoon,
Thank you for your review, we love good reviews but we love as well when you can help up to improve guest's travel experiences.
It seems that you were unlucky!. Our hotel is in a very quiet street but still in the city centre, so if the neighbours organize a party, its difficult for us to control.
For the heat, temparatures were around 32 deg. when you stayed with us, so you just hit the heatwave, please ask for an airco room during your next stay.
For the taxi sign, it is a sign for the "taxi-moto" and not standard taxi, we decided to take it out to avoid any future confusions.

If you come back to brussels, don't hesitate to book directly with me (martin@madeinlouise.com).

Thank you,
Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

After spending 2 nights at this extraordinary hotel, we both agreed it was the best place we had every stayed at.
There is really nothing they won’t do to make you feel at home. We were given a lovely spacious room at the top with a big bathroom. Everything was pristine and nicely decorated, the wifi is fast and all the receptionists are friendly and have a good command of English.
Unlike in many hotels near central Brussels, parking is also provided and costs 15 per night (we booked well in advance). We had to take our car to a parking garage in the next street, which was absolutely safe.
The location is also ideal: a 10-minute walk from the underground station Louise on foot, or you can take tram 92 (stop Faider, 3 minutes, at the end of the street) to the very heart of Brussels: to Petit Sablon, Parc, or Botanique.
I must mention their copious breakfast, which we really enjoyed in their beautiful breakfast room. Besides the usual things it also includes special things like fruit salad with bananas and watermelon (July), nuts and very delicious cheese. Everything is very high quality.
We will definitely go back to this place if we ever have the chance to visit Brussels again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had high expectations of this hotel from reading the Trip Advisor reviews. It was all everyone said it would be! Here are the notes I took of our stay:

Very helpful front desk - All spoke English well
We stayed in rooms 56 and 57. Room 56 does not have a door on the bathroom. Rooms are small but nice.
Rooms overlook the rooftops across the way. Not best view but very comfortable rooms
Beds are comfortable
Very quiet!
Good size bathrooms by European standards
Stairs up to the lobby and 7 stairs up to the elevator. If you have bags and physical issues, keep this in mind.
Absolutely wonderful breakfast!!! Excellent bread, pastries, eggs, sausages or bacon, meats cheeses...Very, very good!
Limited parking available at 15 euros per night. Need to book with your reservation. Very close to hotel.
Reasonably priced for the amenities
GPS directions are good! Took us right to the hotel with no confusion
Easy walk to tram that takes you to the city center. Have small change available as they like exact change if you buy tickets on the tram
Easy walk to lovely restaurants that are not too "touristy". Per front desk suggestion, ate at Les Fils a Maman which we highly recommend!

We took a day trip to Ghent, Bruges and the North Sea. Easy drive and well worth the time!
Used Rick Steves Guidebook for Brussels and Bruges which also included info re Ghent (also spelled Gent). Really helpful!

I highly recommend spending a few days in Belgium. Really lovely!

Room Tip: We stayed in 56 and 57. 56 did not have a door on the bathroom. Not a big deal as only one person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmySP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
1.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
1.4 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Brussels Welcome Hotel
#8 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made in Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made in Louise

Property: Made in Louise
Address: Rue Veydt 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Louise Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#1 Business Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Made in Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Made In Louise HotelThe Made In Louise … your Brussels boutique hotel where grace and charm are a way of life. Where guests enjoy the kind of hospitality that can only be experienced in a family owned and operated hotel. Discover this unique and relaxing environment in a historic early 20th century building on a quiet street.The ideal boutique hotel in Brussels, the Made In Louise offers personalized and unique service. Entirely refurbished in 2012, the hotel’s 48 rooms in Brussels Belgium are bright, comfortable, and full of character.At Made In Louise, our family welcomes you as a privileged guest. Enjoy the grace and intimacy of a private residence, and the distinctive touches of our Made in Market & Bar and our Made in Breakfast, where you’ll enjoy the authentic tastes of Belgium.Welcome to the Brussels Boutique hotel where you’ll feel at home from the moment you enter.Welcome to Made In Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Made in Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Made In Louise Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing