We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Über cool, modern in the parliament district. Great for confident travellers.”
Review of Urbanrooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urbanrooms
Ranked #1 of 19 Ixelles B&B and Inns
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Über cool, modern in the parliament district. Great for confident travellers.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Took us a little while to find our bearings in Brussels, this accommodation is best for people who can read maps and follow directions. By no means is it a run of the mill hotel chain in a super central area. Instead, Urbanrooms is a little off the beaten track.
As with previous reviews the area it is located was unsettling to walk through at night (I'm writing this from the perspective of 2 gay girls from NZ), during the day this was not a problem and generally we didn't go out at night anyhow.

The rooms were really cool, minimalist without too much bother on anything flashy. Awesome bathroom (I want those? polished concrete tiles), just be careful to shower with the bathroom door closed as we managed to set the fire alarm off briefly.

The only downside for us was the temperature of the room, it was super hot and we couldn't have the curtains drawn and window open simultaneously.
There was a fan provided but was pretty noisy.
Not great for people who don't like stairs as you needed to climb a few to get to the rooms.

No elevator or anything flashy just beautiful rooms, lovely breakfast and friendly hosts.

Lovely hosts and should we return to Brussels we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ton3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    63
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
60
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I really enjoyed the modern look of this B&B - very stylish and clean - and the pictures on the website actually matched reality. The hosts were very friendly and offered suggestions about where to go in Brussels. Breakfast was simple but filling, and the free coffee and tea throughout the day were appreciated. All was in walking distance to metro stop and EU parliament / Place du Luxembourg.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The room was beautiful, super clean, modern, and the bathroom, big and comfortable. No one was there to receive us, and being new to Brussels, and given that it is located off the "tourist" track, it took us some time to get our bearings and figure out what to do. It would've been nice to have some suggestions of restaurants, etc. from the B&B.
Breakfast was do it yourself too, some signs pointing out that the eggs were raw (I thought they had been previously hard-boiled) would have been nice, directions to use the Nespresso machine would have saved some wasted filters, and we had to snoop around for extra cutlery.... Besides that, it was basic but good: fresh bread, cereal, yogurt and fresh OJ.
The cleaners came into my room while I was still there, well before check out.
Besides the "ghostly" feeling of the B&B, our stay was very pleasant.
For someone in and out of Brussels for business, or for people who are familiar with the city, this is the perfect place to stay. For someone who needs more guidance, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trini15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great location, beautiful rooms, nice breakfast, very friendly owners and fellow travellers (only 2 others!). Walking distance from EU locations, peaceful and private, can be highly recommended!

Room Tip: I was in room 3 facing the street, am sure the others are just as good. Nr. 1 is to the yard, so mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenguru62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The B&B is extremely modern and clean and has a unique layout. Our room had two single beds that could be pushed together as a double if you wanted. The room was huge with high ceilings and had a great sized bathroom area as well! The owners are an adorable couple who are very friendly and down to earth. The only drawback from my perspective would be that the B&B is in the heart of the African district and there wasn't much to offer from a tourist's perspective, however it is still very centrally located and easy to get to a metro stop and to old town Brussels. The breakfast was simple; a few cereals, yogurt, bread, cheese, and eggs. There was a yummy Nespresso machine as well though! Overall, I would recommend this B&B to someone traveling through Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shantastic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The rooms are really nice, and breakfast is delicious. It's in a good location, ~15 min walk from the city center.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wreyenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Urban rooms is essentially a 3 roomed B&B close to the centre of Brussels, certainly within walking distance. Not much to see from the street and you could walk past it to be honest, but don't!!

INside and up stairs you have 3 comfortable rooms with or without a bath but all with an ensuite shower. An open 'lounge' for breakfast and communal area. Its a little different and quirky, but clean, well presented, modern and ideal for staying in Brussels for 1 night or more.
My only comment would be don't be surprised if they don't make your bed!! Everything else s done but this isn't for some reason, but then it is a B&B. Very clean, very relaxed, and your left to own devices.
Certainly I would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.7 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#21 of 198 in Brussels
1,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Hotel Leopold Brussels
#5 of 15 in Ixelles
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#86 of 198 in Brussels
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urbanrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbanrooms

Property: Urbanrooms
Address: Rue d'Alsace-Lorraine 10, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ixelles
Hotel Class:3 star — Urbanrooms 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Urbanrooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbanrooms Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing