We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hospitality”
Review of Caravan'Serail

Caravan'Serail
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caravan'Serail
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed a few nights here in the uppermost loft overlooking the garden. What a treat!

Our second day there, we met the owner's cousin who was very sweet and gave us ideas on neighborhoods to check out and things to do. She was also moving and throwing a bit of a shindig the next night. I doubt that most Americans would invite hotel guests to a private party, but she immediately extended an invitation, giving us further evidence that pretty much everyone in Belgium has got to be the nicest in the world.

If you're looking to get away from the touristy center of the city, get a rental bike (seriously, how can you go wrong for $2 a day?) and hurry over here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ichikoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

Wonderful place, with an amazing backyard. The hosts/owners are very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Location
A 10-min tram ride from the city centre. There are good eateries nearby which Stephanie will recommend you. For fries, you must eat Flagey Fries which is just round the corner! You can't miss it as there will always be queues. For those who want to buy groceries, there are also supermarkets in the vicinity.

Room
The room is very spacious and the décor is beautiful. Its almost like staying at a boutique hotel, where your room has a theme to it. The room looks very new and is spotless; a good night's sleep is guaranteed.
Just a word of advice: check with Stephanie which level your room is on. We stayed in a room on the highest floor, and the only way up was the stairs.

Breakfast / service
Breakfast comprise a selection of bread with spreads, cheese, ham, yoghurt, etc. The breakfast is healthy; Stephanie hand-makes some of the breakfast items like the yoghurt, and the spreads are organic / natural. This is certainly a breakfast with a healthy, personal touch to it.
Stephanie is helpful and knowledgeable about the area. She gave us good recommendations for food (mussels and fries!), and even offered to make reservations for us. The hand-made breakfast items really speaks volumes about her service.

All in, a beautiful B&B with a great healthy breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheep1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I think it is definitely worthy to spend some days in this hostel. Good location (tram 200 m away direct to the center of Brussels), perfect breakfast (croissants and capuccinos) and nice rooms at an affordable price. Downstairs, there is some art gallery and a garden with some hens (?). All in all, this is an unusual hostel with very good food, quiet, clean and not too expensive. All I can expect from a hostel. Do not miss it!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at Caravan'Serail for four nights with our two children while we were moving into a new home in Brussels. Caravan'Serail made every effort to make our stay comfortable and pleasurable. Our hosts offered us a delicious breakfast - each item made or chosen with care - and were a source of useful advice about the local area. We wish to thank them for their hospitality and look forward to seeing the exhibitions in their gallery in the forthcoming months.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

What a hidden gem.

We stayed on the top floor (great thigh workout) of this super welcoming b+b. It's in the Ixelles district which is an eclectic mix of world food restaurants and old glamour. There is a tram stop literally outside the front door and it really well connected with centre and Eurostar (station midi).

Our host was very helpful and made suggestions for our holiday plus served a delicious breakfast.

The room was immaculate and had an en-suite shower hidden behind a secret panel (you are visible to the room when you are in the shower).
The beds were really comfortable and there is a mini kitchen/fridge available.
The wall to wall windows made the room feel extra spacious and more like an apartment.

Room Tip: Top floor loft room is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonita69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I have stayed Caravan'Serail several times when working in Brussels. It's in a lively location with an abundance of good bars and restaurants, just a short walk from Place Flagey. The three bedrooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, with beds that are big and very comfortable. There is a small shared kitchen just outside the door for guests' own use. Breakfast is taken either in the lovely exhibition space or in the beautiful walled garden. It is copious: fair trade coffee and tea, freshly pressed juices, home baked bread, artisan cheeses... On top of all this, Stephanie and Giacomo are lovely and attentive hosts.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
Thank Danlakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brussels Louise
Ibis Styles Brussels Louise
#98 of 199 in Brussels
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Chatelain Hotel
Le Chatelain Hotel
#60 of 199 in Brussels
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
0.6 mi away
Jam Hotel Brussels
Jam Hotel Brussels
#8 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravan'Serail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan'Serail

Address: Rue Lesbroussart 47, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ixelles
Price Range: £45 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Caravan'Serail Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing