We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A homely and tranquil oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravan'Serail

Caravan'Serail
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caravan'Serail
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A homely and tranquil oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I spent a very comfortable week in the Caravan'Serail when in Brussels for work. I was going through a stressful period at the time, and its soothing atmosphere was just what I needed.

I stayed in the Timbuktu room at the top of the house. It is spacious, light, airy and warm, with wall to wall windows overlooking the garden, and a great en suite shower.

It was very handy to have access to a small kitchen equipped with a sink, oven, fridge and electric hob plate, so that one could make cups of tea or simple meals.

The area is great - near to the elegant Avenue Louise, and also Place Flagy with its supermarket, banks, restaurants, and shops. It's about a 25 min walk to the European Parliament.

The breakfast every morning was delicious, with fruit & veg smoothies, homemade yogurt and delicious bread.

Stephanie and Giacomo are friendly, attentive, courteous and relaxed, and so were lovely hosts.

There are a lot of stairs (and no lift) so not for those with mobility problems, and wifi struggles to reach the top of the house, but a lovely place to spend a few days, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda3052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
24
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Recanati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

This B&B is in a good location, close to Place Flagey and public transport. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The owners are very kind. The price/quality ratio is excellent: the best B&B you can find in Brussels.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt0879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I don't really need to add anything here... The accommodation and hospitality were fantastic. Rooms are beautiful, breakfast is amazing. Amazing value for money!
The only downside is it is a bit far to walk to the main sites in the cente of Brussels..about 30mins. This was fine in the mornings but on cold nights we had to taxi or tram it.
This is a small downside though as the trams are 5 mins away and the area has lots of lovely bars and restaurants open at night.
Thank you Stephanie!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieFromOuterSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was traveling with friends this past week, and after a few rainy and stressful travel days, staying at Caravan'Serail felt like the best kind of homecoming. The breakfast was delicious, Jacopo gave us great recommendations for things to eat and see in the area, and the beds were very comfortable. We only wish we could have stayed longer--I'll book earlier next time! I hope that I'll be able to go back again someday (perhaps in the summertime when the patio is open).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

For a student traveler, Caravan'Serail was a small splurge for our last travel night, and it was well worth it. The rooms are tastefully decorated, cozy, and artistic, and the small kitchen space upstairs was perfect for making a late-night tea. If we'd stayed there longer we would have made more use of the coffee maker and fridge. The breakfast spread was wonderful - freshly squeezed carrot-orange-apple juice, cappuccinos better than in the coffee shop down in the nearby square, toasts and spreads of all sorts, home-made yogurt, and surprise homemade waffles. Best of all, the owner was incredibly friendly and kind, carrying all our heavy bags up several flights of stairs and offering recommendations on restaurants and bars. I don't know if I need to go back to Brussels, but if I do I'm staying here!

Room Tip: The larger room has a bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nutellalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Gallery owner Stephanie Pety de Thozee and her partner hire out three rooms on the top floors of her exhibition space in the Ixelles district of Brussels. It's a three-storey walk up to the rooms, but well worth the effort. Idiosyncratically decorated with African art objects, the Timbuctoo room on the top floor has a panoramic view over the greenery of back gardens.

Best of all, though, is the friendliness of the welcome. Breakfast is served in the gallery itself (which previously housed a cafe), and the owners treat their guests as friends as much as customers. Thanks, Jacopo, for your helpful advice and those wide-ranging conversations over breakfast. We'll be back, I'm sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyallan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed for two nights at this guesthouse and were really impressed by it. We had two different rooms (on two occasions). The Fez room was pretty good, but top prize goes to the large attic room, with lovely views over the garden and cityscape. Both rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The host was friendly and helpful and breakfast was delicious. There is a gallery/cafe downstairs, which is nice to sit in, and a lovely garden out the back, complete with chickens. The area is quite arty and convenient for navigating to both train station and tourist attractions via the public transport system. The only real drawback was that there are a lot of steep stairs up to the rooms, so this isn't one for the less than able-bodied! Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this place and will be back myself if I travel through Brussels again.

Room Tip: Go for the attic room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agrajad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brussels Louise
Ibis Styles Brussels Louise
#97 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
0.2 mi away
Le Chatelain Hotel
Le Chatelain Hotel
#69 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#22 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravan'Serail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravan'Serail

Property: Caravan'Serail
Address: Rue Lesbroussart 47, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Caravan'Serail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravan'Serail Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing