We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to stay in Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good Place to stay in Brussels”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Over in Brussels on business I had to book a hotel at short notice. Usual hotels near Grand Place were either unavailable or at exorbitant prices, so I looked further afield and found this hotel, which was well priced but had some bad reviews, which I thought unusual for a Mariott. In any case I booked the hotel which is in a great area, directly beside the European Parliament and walking distance from Avenue Louise. Furthermore you can get a 30 min bus to the airport for €3.50, as I found later.

Room was large and well equipped, with a desk to work at (not usually available). Bed was comfortable and room had air conditioning. So it was actually an excellent hotel room.
Breakfast was expensive at €17 for the Continental and quality was OK - tinned pineapple vs fresh.

There is a very trendy set of open air pubs opposite the European Parliament where the stagaires drink after work, with a great buzz.

Good Italian restaurant a short distance from the hotel.

I found the staff in the hotel helpful and friendly e.g. I wanted something to read whilst having a drink at the bar and was given free the FT, Herald Tribune, USA Today, as it was late. Also very helpful with good maps showing where I needed to go.

So all in all I got good value from the hotel and would probably stay in it again when visiting Brussels - so my review is good!

As an aside, I find that the Tripadvisor system for selecting hotels has become very cumbersome and practically impossible to use. It takes ages to refresh every time you use the map, and has very limited selectivity e.g. if you want best Reviewed at cheapest price you can't get it. Unless this feature improves I won't continue using Tripadvisor in selecting hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinDereDoneDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Many thanks for your recent review of the Renaissance Brussels. We are pleased that you had a positive stay with us and enjoyed the surrounding of the area! The Renaissance Brussels Hotel is located in the European Quarter, being next to the major European Institutions and 5 minutes by foot away from the closest metro and from the square Luxembourg (2mins away) where we can find many vibrant bars and restaurants. We thank you for your feedback regarding the well equipped rooms and our helpful and friendly staff. Please come and visit us again when you are next in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    692
    231
    79
    33
See reviews for
212
557
89
431
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stay at this Ren every time I come to Brussels; that in itself says a lot! Renovation is elegant without being "stuffy": rooms quiet and immaculately clean, bedding as comfy as expected, and toiletries top notch. Walking distance to Brussels' must see sights: art museums (Old, New and Magritte), Grand Place, and Avenue Louise. Week-end rates are an incredible value. But I save the best for last: the Staff!!!! From the moment you step out of your car - the Concierges, the Front Desk, Restaurant and Housekeeping staffs make it their goal to make you feel welcome. I heartily recommend this hotel for your stay in Brussels. Thank you.
*Title of a Beatles song

Room Tip: My favourite - back, overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Many thanks for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel. I was delighted to read that we exceeded your expectations and will be sure to share this feedback with my team. Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the rooms and most importantly the staff members. Our aim is to make our guests feel at home and to provide the highest standard of service during their stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel next time you will be in Brussels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The hotel is very nice, but the staff, especially the restaurant is awful, feels like being in the army, and you are not allowed many things. The waiters are always saying -no-, first, and give you the evil look. Watch out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobetheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel and for taking the time to share you feedback with us. As you can imagine we were dismayed to read your comments and even more disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We would like to thank you on your comments regarding our hotel. Your feedback regarding the staff will help us to prevent this from occurring in the future as this is not the service we strive to provide.Our aim is to make our guests feel at home and to provide the highest standard of service during their stay. We sincerely hope you will give us the chance to exceed your expectations during you next stay in Brussels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here on points (upgraded to a suite) over Labor Day weekend. It definitely caters to the business traveler. Breakfast was typical buffet, rooms were large and updated, pool was a little disappointing based on the website photos, staff was very knowledgable and friendly. We were there to be tourists and it was a roughly 20min walk to the grand place and other main attractions. With beautiful weather we had no problem with that (it's a nice walk and you get to go by the palais) but I could imagine in the rain or winter it wouldnt be as fun. But for a points stay you can't beat it. Be aware that because the neighborhood is so business focused, it feels deserted late at night and most of the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the lovely weather in Brussels. Thank you for your nice comments on our rooms and staff. We have taken notes of your comments concerning the swimming pool. We hope to again exceed your expectations next time you will stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is located in an area that gets very quiet on the weekends. So especially when you are (a woman) travelling alone and arriving after sunset, figure out on Google maps how to walk from the metro to the hotel. It gave me a bit more confidence and I didn't have to stop walking to look an a map or my cell phone for directions.

The hotel staff is multi-lingual and I could tell they are used to guests from all over the world. In other hotels in Brussel that located far from the EU buildings you can have a different experience.

The temperature in the rooms are too high! When you don't open the window or use the airco it can get 25 degrees celsius in the room. That's is not comfortable for a room where one sleeps in, well, it's not for me anyway. But airco works fine but don't turn it of, it gets hot within in minutes again!
The room was spacious, bathroom amenites plentyful and enough towels. I had a room facing the street but didn't experience any noise at night. Seems ones you close the window it blocks out the noise. But I was on a high floor...

Breakfast was good, enoug choises, but like previous reviewers mentioned: very crowded on Sunday. And from 10am on I noticed items were not refilled. So be on time!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithinnoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bredene, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is top of the bill. Pure luxury and a very nice staff. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice swimming pool and fitness and in the morning, the breakfast buffet is a feast. There are a lot of restaurants in the neighbourhood and the Luxembourg square nearby has bars that are perfect for a party or for a last late night drink. Walking distance to the centre (1 Km) or take a bus. Safe area !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Renaissance Brussels Hotel for your stay in Brussels. We were delighted to have you stay with us and have glad we exceeded your expectations. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments about the clean and comfortable rooms, the fitness area and our breakfast buffet. Indeed, the Renaissance Brussels Hotel is located in the European Quarter, next to the Place du Luxembourg where there are several restaurant and bars, and access to the bus taking you all over Brussels! Please come visit us next time you will be in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Upgraded to a very nice suite for the weekend. Very helpful staff and great facility! We did not use Workout facility but spoke to others who said it was top notch. Very pleased with the hotel, would indeed stay again. -- very nice weekend rate too!

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments on the Renaissance Brussels Hotel including the helpful staff and great facility. We are happy that we exceeded your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon next time you are in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Marriott, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing