We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel - Not Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel - Not Excellent”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This is a good hotel but I get the sense they do the absolute minimum to be considered a good hotel. Given their location next to the EU Parliament, they probably don’t have to excel. The room was clean. Beds comfortable. Bathroom very small. Shower good. The pool is part of a commercial Work Out Center and it’s packed and small. But the water was very warm and if you can squeeze yourself into the pool it’s worth it. Service in the hotel is good (not excellent.) The Concierge room is tiny and is closed on the weekend. It did open for a couple hours on Sunday night; not much to speak of. I wouldn’t recommend booking a stay here for the Concierge level services. The breakfast downstairs is good (not great). There are some decent restaurants in the square a couple of blocks down the street.

The hotel is a reasonable walk from the downtown tourist center. Hotels downtown can be old and quite expensive, so it is worth considering staying here if you can get a decent price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for choosing Renaissance Brussels Hotel for your stay in Brussels. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our clean rooms and comfortable beds. We are glad you had the opportunity to use our swimming pool. Our Club Lounge is open from Sunday evening to Friday after the breakfast and offers a generous continental breakfast in the morning, coffee and tea facility and serving light snacks in the evening. When booking a club room there is also internet and parking which is included. During Saturday and Sundays we offer breakfast in our Parnasse restaurant with a large selection of American buffet. Our aim is to satisfy all individual needs and to ensure that all our guests will keep a most memorable experience. As service is the most important matter in the hotel, we are always looking for feedback and innovating way to improve. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you soon at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    710
    236
    81
    33
See reviews for
221
573
90
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

It was my 2nd time in Brussels, the 1st one was a 1day stay, so i didn't know the city and the districts so well and it wasn't easy to pick the hotel. But in the end i was very glad that we stayed at this hotel.
For some reason they didn't charge my credit card right after the booking, but i wasn't worried, because i've received a booking confirmation via email. But on check in the receptionist wasn't glad about this fact and told me that normally he would be obliged to charge the "today's rate" not the rate of the time of booking, but he was making an exception for us. True, i could've double check the reservation, but they had all my data, so they could've called/emailed notifying that there is something wrong with the payment. But thankfully it was the only negative experience.
We got a room with a garden view, which was an upgrade from our reservation. The bed was amazing--soft and comfortable. Everything in the bathroom worked perfectly, all the toiletries were in single and we were 2 persons), but the housekeeping stuff supplied us with extra shampoos, etc without a word.
At first I was surprised that there is no free Wi-Fi, but no internet mean more relaxation, so it was a good thing.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, first of all it was unreasonably expensive (25euros).Plus there are so many cute little restraunts, cafes and brasseries in the area, that it would be a shame to eat at the hotel. At night one can always go out to the clubs/bar at Luxembourg Place, which, in my opinion, has an excellent vibe.
The location is very convenient, in a nice district next to European Parliament. After wondering around other districts, sightseeing, etc, i was very pleased that we didn't choose any other location, cause others seem to be noisy, dirty and much less safe.
If given a chance, I would definitely stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: If you have a chance, take a room with a garden view--nice view and very quite in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasiya_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location, the modern spacious room and the famous Marriott bedding. Please rest assured that we took into consideration your comment for the advanced bookings and we will review the procedure which is currently in place. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again the next time you decide to come in Brussels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Perfect location, 200 metres from the UE Parlament and in the center to make a nice walk during night. Love the service at the restaurant, friendly people that enjoy and love the work. Stayed there during 2 nights it was great. Near the hotel, you have several bars, great for network.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMALopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Many thanks for choosing the Renaissance Hotel for your stay in Brussels. Indeed, the location of the Hotel, being in the very center of the European Quarter is ideal for both business and Leisure Travellers. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the courteous service in our Restaurant and we are looking forward to host you the next time you will be in Brussels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Me and my other half stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. Its fair to say that I am fairly picky about the hotels I stay in and although this place wasnt bad considering we booked last minute, i found a few little things annoying:

Pro
-conventiently located - about 5 mins away from Troone station, which was about 4 stops from Grand Central Station
-Spacious rooms, with good lighting, iron and hair dryer in room
-Beds were comfy
-loads of storage space
decor was modern better (then the exterior)
Staff were friendly

Cons
-Shower not very powerful, small towels
-Toilet didn't flush at night (a problem I have found at a few hotels in Europe)
-Pillows not great
-Only got one bath robe and slippers for 2 people
-no luggage stand
-Breakfast wasn't great. Lots of choice but found the bread/pastries a bit stale
-Housekeeping bit sloppy, left my cup of half drunk tea and only replaced one mug

I know the cons may seem a bit much but for me it is sometimes the little things that count.

We didn't use the pool/ fitness facilities so cant comment.

I don't think I would stay here again, but it was good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasminr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Assistant Front Office Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for deciding to stay at the Renaissance Hotel during your visit in Brussels. We are sad to see that you had some points that did not allow you to fully enjoy your time with us. We are glad you enjoyed our modern and spacious rooms, even though you experienced a difficulty with the toilet, a problem that is rather uncommon in our hotel since all the rooms have been recently renovated. We have pillows of two different sizes in order to please our guests, while most of our rooms are equipped with luggage stands. Please rest assured that your comments regarding Housekeeping and the Breakfast were taken into consideration by the Departmental Managers in our constant efforts to continue improving the service we provide to our guests. It would be a pleasure for us to have another chance to show you our spirit to serve and our improvement towards your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stay at this hotel a few times a year. I had stopped going there for some time but since the renovation, the rooms are very pleasant and cozy. The location is great with the Place du Luxembourg nearby but still distant from the noise of downtown.

On the service level, however ti falls short. From housekeeping where cleaning is just "so so" (not vacuuming everywhere everyday; towels not always being fully replaced, soap bottles empty not replaced, basically inconsistent) to the front desk that however always "nice enough", forgets basics like wake-up calls, free internet for Golds, taxi orders, etc.

The lounge has improved greatly over the past two years. Breakfast can actually now carry that name (thank you!) with cold cuts and cheese, cereals and pastries (the cooks still haven't figured out how to cook bacon though, it always lays in stacks or lumps of slices sticking together). When I compare to the other Marriotts in Europe the evening experience in the lounge is poor. Two choices of wine and two choices of beer (some soda too). The food however (and pardon me in advance for the expression) is a farce.

All in all, a good hotel but for the price and in light of my extensive experience with Marriott, not enough attention to details.

Finally (and this is for elites), when I check in, I always inquire about an upgrade given my status. On multiple occasions, I was offered to buy up but was told that elite upgrades were not available.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for your loyalty with Marriott and for taking the time to share your experience with us. As a loyal guest we value your feedback as we are always looking for new ways to improve. We are glad to hear that after our renovations two years ago, you find our rooms to be pleasant and cozy. Indeed, the Renaissance Brussels Hotel is located in the European Quarter offering a quiet location, next to the Place du Luxembourg where there are several restaurant and bars, and access to the bus taking you all over Brussels! We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our ever improving lounge available for all our Gold and Platinum guests. Please note that we have taken notes of your comments regarding the food served in our Club Lounge and will make sure to share it will our Food and Beverage Department. As a valued guest we have notes of your preferences and always prioritize Elite members by upgrading them to their preferred room or the next room type category, this of course depending on availability. Please rest assured we reviewed all the points you mentioned with Housekeeping team. We were very disappointed to hear about the service you experienced during your last stay with us and even more disappointed to once again not have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. As Guest Relations manager, my main focus is to make all our guests, especially our Elite guests, feel valued, focus on details and ensure we exceeds their expectations each time they stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel. Thank you once again for your loyalty and sincerely hope to exceed your expectations during your next with us. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is yet another 'favourite' hotel and city and, like many others, have been there several times. The hotel rooms have been upgraded and are even better than before. We always had a wonderful suite when we went (rooms ending with 08) but have stayed in the standard room the last 2 or 3 times, which is ok but not as good as the suites.

Service is ok but not exceptional, apart from 'Joe', THE concierge to see for just about any help you need at all - a fantastic guy, with a beautiful family. An example of their bad service is the last time we stayed I went down to reception at around 9:15pm to get a coffee and was told at the bar that 'the coffee machine had been cleaned and coffee was no longer available!

This was then followed up, when I went to reception to complain, by the receptionist pointing out that I could always make coffee in the room myself. I promply went out of the hotel and went to the Radisson Blu hotel, which is just round the corner, and received a warm welcome from the barman and a great cup of espresso (with biscuits) in a nice lounge.

Come on Marriott group - what are you doing?

Brussels is a very small city and after seeing the 'Grand Place' a few times is a bit samey, but with the Belgium beers, food and chocolates we still love it. If you go by Eurostar it is just a few short train rides and a small walk to the hotel, and if you go by car it always has underground parking spaces - so very simple.

There is a lively square near the hotel with some very lively bars in the early evening for a bit of life - it is after all right next to the European Parliament - and about a 30 minute walk to the city centre through a park which is very nice. You can of course get a cab or bus from the square if you want to.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the recently renovated rooms with modern equipment and amenities, as well as the famous Marriott bedding.
The location of our hotels is indeed excellent, being next to the major European Institutions and 5 minutes by foot away from the closest metro station. The square Luxembourg is also a two minute walk offering several bars and restaurants. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff, especially Joe who takes care of every guest needs. I am dismayed to hear that you were not able to have coffee in the bar sicne the machine had been already cleaned. This is not the Marriott service we strive to provide and I apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused. Please rest assures that I have shared your comments with the concerned Management team in order to improve accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you soon at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for business and was positively impressed by the design and comfort of the rooms - one of the best in Brussels. The location is close to the European Parliament and a couple of minutes from the airport bus, so very convenient if the purpose of the visit is related to the area. Excellent for business.

My dissatisfaction came with the restaurant offer, very bland dishes, some correct but definitely not tasty. The breakfast is also very unimaginative and bland, compared to that of other hotels in the EU area. This is a big minus, which might determine choosing another hotel which is top notch on this level also, not only in terms of room design and comfort. I also thought low of the number of staff at the reception during the top hours of the day - i waited about 15 minutes for checking in/checking out, a line of more than 6 people being formed. The staff, both at the reception and in the restaurant area is very helpful and attentive, and give credit to this.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 15 in Ixelles
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Brussels, European Quarter
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#15 of 198 in Brussels
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jam Hotel Brussels
Jam Hotel Brussels
#8 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 198 in Brussels
4,676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the energy of Belgium's capital city from sophisticated accommodations at Renaissance Brussels Hotel. Enjoy staying in the heart of the European Quarter at our hotel in Brussels located near famous destinations in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing