We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not terrible”
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here three days in a suite. You have to walk a couple of blocks to get to the hotel and its not located on Main Street so it's pretty hard to find. The first night we stayed, hot water ran out when the second person showered. They told us that its common for it to happen in Brussels and they offered another suite for us so then we can shower with hot water. They a pretty complete kitchen kits though which I liked.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meowmeow24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for sharing you feedback regarding your stay with us. I believe you stayed with us at our Marriott Executive Apartments, located right next to the Renaissance Hotel. Our Marriott Executive Apartments offers the luxury of a First Class hotel with the comforts of home. Our Brussels' Apartments have been beautifully designed with separate living and sleeping areas, a fully equipped kitchen and high-speed Internet. We are dismayed to hear that you had trouble finding us upon arrival and also to hear that you ran out of hot water. I am happy to see that our colleagues offered you a quick resolution. Please come visit us again next time you will in Brussels. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    697
    234
    80
    33
See reviews for
215
562
89
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend trip whilst visiting the Christmas Market in Brussels (a 25 minute gentle walkl).The hotel is a 13 euro taxi fare from Gare Midi, excellent front desk, very helpful conceirge, clean functional room made for a great start to the holiday. Buffet style breakfast was adequate and set us up for the day, although some foods could have been warmer for a British palate. We dined out the first night at an italian restauraunt less than a minutes walk from the hotel, recommended by the conceirge, which was very good, basic, popular but not cheap. The second night we dined in the hotel, restauraunt lacked atmosphere, perhaps the blinds being drawn but with the christmas lights being hung inside the blinds would have helped but the staff were very attentive, food good but again not cheap. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: If you can book and travel through Eurostar you MIGHT get a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMeldrewLincsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for choosing Renaissance Brussels hotel for your stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to visit our famous Christmas Market. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our clean functional rooms, attentive restaurant staff, our helpful navigator staff and our excellent front desk. This is the Marriott service we so strive to provide. We are glad you had the occasion to dine in our restaurant Parnasse which has recently changed menu in order to have more local dishes served with a modern twist. Please note that we have taken notes of your comments regarding the lack of atmosphere. We are always looking for new ways to improve. We were delighted to have you stay with us and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Brussels and found this to be a great hotel. Located next to the European parliament and about a 25-30 minute walk into the city. The rooms are exceptional and I had a great nights sleep. A taxi from the airport costs around 40 euros or there's a metro close by. Would definitely recommend this hotel as long as you don't mind walking into the city. The benefit of where it is though is peace and quiet as Brussels is a busy city centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Renaissance Brussels Hotel for your stay in Brussels. We were delighted to have you stay with us and have glad we exceeded your expectations. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments about the clean and comfortable rooms and or divine Marriott beds. Indeed, the Renaissance Brussels Hotel is located in the European Quarter, next to the Place du Luxembourg where there are several restaurant and bars, and access to the bus taking you all over Brussels! Please come visit us next time you will be in Brussels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this hotel in early November, 2012, and we thought that this hotel often exceeded our expectations. The service throughout the hotel was outstanding, particularly at the front desk and from the concierge. Everyone was exceedingly helpful, and they always were very sincere. We like to walk, so the 20 minute walk to downtown Brussels was fine for us, but there is public transportation close to the hotel. The Concierge Lounge was very nice, and the food there was excellent. If you're planning on being in Brussels, this is one hotel that you'll have to consider for your stay. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrapinfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us and that we exceeded your expectations mainly due to our outstanding front desk members and our concierge team. Our aim is to satisfy all individual needs and to ensure that all our guests will keep a most memorable experience with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our Executive Lounge and the food served there. Once again thank you for choosing Renaissance Hotel and looking forward to welcoming you soon. Merry Christmas and Happy New year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed here as the first night of a tour. The hotel is in a good location easy 30 minute walk from the lovely Grand Place. Staff were very welcoming and efficient. Rooms are modern and very clean with lovely comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHannaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Many thanks for choosing Renaissance Hotel for your recent stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We thank you for your lovely comments regarding the hotel location and our modern, clean rooms with our famous Marriott bedding. We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding our helpful and efficient staff. Our aim is to make each of our guest feel welcome and leave with a memorable Renaissance experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I have been a regular guest (avg 7-8 stays per year) at this hotel for the last 8 years, and I am sad to report that the once stellar quality of this hotel is falling FAST. As a Marriott Rewards Gold member, I have access to the Club Lounge, which used to be an absolute delight - now is it down-right insulting to the guests. While the breakfast offered in the Lounge is still nice (and the woman who tends to the breakfast guests is one of the highlights of the staff), the evening serving has gone WAY downhill. The Club used to offer lots of little salads, appetizers and 2 hot chafing dishes full of goodies ... but in the last 2 years, they offer the same 3 snacks (rotate over 3 evenings) that are just terrible. Appetizers are supposed to be served from 5:30-7:30, and dessert form 7:30-9:30; if they run out of appetizers before 7:30, the evening attendants (who are just RUDE to the guests) refused to refill the platters and/or (now) one chafing dish. The hotel is fully booked nearly every evening, so why are they being so CHEAP???? And I haven't seen any dessert served in over a year.
The front desk staff is usually nice and accomodating, but you can get a rude employee every now and then - and I'm a frequent guest; imagine how rude they can be to a new guest.
The gym facilities are excellent; but beware - the gym (commercial, open to the general public who have memberships) is very busy M-F evenings after 6pm.
The place around the corner has many bus lines that stop, so you can get nearly anywhere in Brussels without having to transfer.
The Metro is a short 4-blocks away.
If you're looking for freshly prepared, mostly organic and some vegan food choices, try EXKI in the place. Highly recommended.
As a Marriott Rewards Gold member (who will make Platinum this year), it is nice to be rewarded for your loyalty to the Marriott brand - but this hotel is fastly forgetting about loyalty to their/Marriott's regulars. May be time for me to find a new hotel to frequent in Brussels.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleDolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very dismayed to read your comments and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced. As an Elite member we value your loyalty and offer several benefits, for example free internet and access to our Club Lounge during the week offering a generous breakfast in the morning and light snacks in the evening in a private area for our loyal guests to receive some appetizers and savory items in order to open their senses to be ready for dinner. Indeed, we are no longer serving deserts however we do provide whole fruits.
Please rest assured we reviewed all the points you mentioned with our new F&B management team and the concerned departments. We were very disappointed to hear about the service you experienced at the club lounge for the evening snacks and even more disappointed to once again not have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. In order to prevent this on occurring again we planned extra trainings to all our associates to help them being more proactive and friendly service to all our guests. Our aim is to satisfy all individual needs and to ensure that all our guests will keep a most memorable experience with us.

Your feedbacks were very constructive for the improvement of our department and once again we thank you for raising these points with us. We hope to have the chance in welcoming you again and meeting personally in order to follow up on the improvement of the mentioned points and hopefully we will be able to exceed your expectations by showing you our Marriott Spirit. Please feel free to contact us directly and we will be delighted to arrange your stay with us.
Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel is just outside the European Parliment. if you come to Brussels for business with European Parliment, this is a perfect location. From airport, you can take airport bus (0nly 3.50 Euro) and walk about 150m from the last stop. Or, find your way to Luxembug metro station then walk 75m. The hotel room is clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast and lunch buffets were very good. Only complain is the in room WiFi signal is weak (there is wired internet). There are a few restaurants outside the parliment building. However, being in a business office area, the neighborhood is like a dead town after 5pm. If you are in Brussels for vacation, I would recommend hotels hear Grand Place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC7100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for choosing Renaissance Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Indeed we are ideally located in the European Quarter, next to the Parliament and two minute walk from the Square Luxembourg offering transportation to the city. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us mainly due to our friendly and helpful staff and our lovely selection of breakfast and lunch buffet. We have taken notes of your comments regarding internet as a chance to improve. We hope to see you soon at the Renaissance Brussels Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#14 of 199 in Brussels
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
992 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing