We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs full update only good thing is the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“needs full update only good thing is the location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room is total retro maybe 1970 bathroom and furniture. Wifi terrible did not work, had to stay on the phone for 3 hours to get them to make it work a little. The hotel is using outside service for their WiFi which is totally strange. When I complained about the Internet they connected me to an outside service called IBAHN they did not even know where I was calling from, I needed to tell them what location I am in!. Could not do my work it took forever and at the end the connection was crawling. The phone in the room looked so old with obscure buttons it looked from the early 80s with a big button saying international connection and no button for front desk or other important service. This can't be called a business hotel with its communication service from another century! Bathroom looked date with a strange looking counter top. This hotel needs a total gut update program. Only thing the people working their were very nice but could not do too much to help with the problem

Room Tip: If I you are going on business and need to do work on the Internet don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztravell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elodie B, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We would like ot thank you for choosing the Renaissance Hotel for your recent stay in Brussels. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. As you can imagine we are dismayed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during this stay, mainly due to the internet and phone issues experienced in your hotel room. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused. Please be assured that all your comments mentioned have been shared with the concerned departments and that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.We would like to thank you for your lovely comments shared regarding our staff. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    692
    231
    79
    33
See reviews for
212
557
89
431
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our 2 night weekend break here. Easy check in. Room was very spacious for the three of us. Staff were prompt to set the third bed up for our daughter.The pool was a plus with kids.
I found the location great. 20 min walk to the main areas and train station - even with a 6 year old! Worth heading up to Bruges which is an hour on the train.
5 min walk away are some great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missie_Moo_Moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked through Eurostar and got a brilliant last minute deal, was worried about the location but didn't need to be.
Easiest way to get to this hotel if arriving into Brussels Midi is by overground train to Place Luxembourg, they are quite frequent and takes about 20 minutes (going via the northern station).
To get to and from the centre, only a 30 minute walk, we got a bus which was easy and frequent, no, 95 starts just south-west of Grande Place (Beurs - on the main road itself), dropping off at the "Luxembourg square" just one street down from the hotel.
Check in was wonderful, the lady showed us on the map where to walk to for lunch time frites at Jourdan, she was pleasant to talk to about the wonderful beers of Belgium! As we were having a kids free weekend she ensured we had a nice room with a king bed!
Room was clean and tidy, bathroom well stocked.
Fridge was on the small side, with no complimentary bottled water (there's a small supermarket just down the road at the Luxembourg square).
Good sized TV with channels from all over the world.
Room was quiet and air con worked well.
We had breakfast included, I would not recommend it if you were paying extra as it is extremely expensive! Good variety, warm food. Staff could be a little more attentive to clearing dirty plates but didn't spoil the experience unlike the waffle machine that I really didn't get on with!
No issues on checking out, used luggage room for the last day with ease.
Wouldn't hesitate going back if the price was right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was the first time I stay in this area; very close to the European parliament and some EU institutions including the ECOSOC
the Hotel is very well maintained and clean. the staff is nice and friendly, the rooms are spacy enough with wifi and coffee and tea.
the breakfast is good and rich, the coffee bar in the lobby is very nice

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puertollano
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Renaissance Hotel is just 20 min walking from center but that's compared to others as Brussels is not a big city. You can reach Grand Place in less than 20 min and the European Parlament is just a five min walk. Room was very good and it was very useful to find an iron inside (very useful if you're on a business trip and have to suit up the next day).

A negative point is that they don't have free wifi on the rooms (only in the lobby), it was common some years ago but now you'll normally have wifi for free

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We could only stay one night, but lovely, clean and friendly staff.

Rooms are big, comfortable, nice garden view from room.

Free wifi that actually worked well. Concierge was very friendly and great with restaurant suggestions and other tips.
Excellent rate for the location, accommodations, and service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amarofabiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
395 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good location close to public transportation, and the bus to/from the airport. The staff is really nice and the room was comfortable. Restaurant is expensive so I would recommend going elsewhere like right outside to the falafel spot. The gym is actually a public, fully equiped gym wtih a pool sauna, and classes. It is free to guests and is a really nice treat for a hotel guest who likes to exercise even on vacation or business!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Va9nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.8 mi away
9Hotel Sablon
9Hotel Sablon
#13 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#12 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Property: Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing