We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and complete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Brussels Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I use this hotel quite often for business purposes and I find it as the hotel with one of the most complete offerings. Although the rooms are not the most modern, the service is friendly, the swimming pool and fitness centre are fine and the restaurants offers a good meal for a reasonable price. Breakfast is very generous. Located close to the European Parliament and the Luxembourg area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisHaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel more times than I can remember. The hotel has unfortunately gone down hill since I first started going there for business. It is local to my office, unfortunately, that it the only good thing left about it. The food menu has stayed the same since I started going there 12 years ago. The rooms are in need of a revamp. The complimentary water in the room is no longer available (and this is the club room). The club restaurant is very poor with limited breakfast options (and you are not allowed in the main restaurant where there is a wider range of food!). The bar staff do not seem to care whether they serve or not.

Worse, the hotel has started to over charge every time I stay there or my colleagues stay there. Also noted that other people were complaining as well.

Room Tip: A;; the rooms are pretty much the same with the odd suite thrown in on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AAP666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Renaissance Brussels hotel. We want to also thank you for being loyal with the Renaissance Brussels Hotel during last 12 years. As you can imagine we are very dismayed to learn that you were not satisfied during your last stay with us. We have taken note of your comments about our lounge breakfast and our bar staff responsiveness and will take corrective actions accordingly.We hope to have the chance to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Brussels.Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of expectations.
Please rest assured that your constructive comments assist us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our clients. We hope to welcome you back very soon to the Renaissance Brussels hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance. The staff were very helpful, provided a map upon checkin and gave some great reccomendations for walking around and places to eat. The hotel is a little off the beaten path but everything we wanted to see was within walking distance.

We really enjoyed the lounge. They provided water and other drinks all day. There was a nice coffee machine also available. They also added a nice touch by putting out local candies with a short paragraph discussing the origin of the candies. We really enjoyed that as we love finding local treats and food. The breakfast in the lounge was great. It is closed on the weekends (which is a little strange) but we just ate downstairs and it was just as good. There was a large selection and everything seemed fresh.

Also this hotel is very close to a train station which was also really handy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel fro five nights for a running event held in Brussels. Most of the guests were on the same event.

The hotel is conveniently located near the European Parliament which is an amazing building also near to Luxembourg Square. Some good restaurants and bars very nearby.

Hotel itself is a little tired looking with a few chips and knocks on the furniture in the room. They are obviously trying to spruce it up a little I smelt fresh paint on a couple of days in the corridor outside my room. Beds are really too soft, but nice pillows. Good amount of drawer and hanging space, which is unusual these days in hotels. Air con controls drove us nuts.

To get to your room you had to insert your room key card into a slot in the lift. Only one worked in one lift and one lift never seemed to work. All the time I was there it was never available, so at busy times there was a wait for the lift.

Room cleanliness was a bit variable and seemed to deteriorate as our stay went on. On the last day of our stay the bathroom was not cleaned at all, and the bed was just about tidied. Sheets should have been changed every third day, but not sure they were.

Internet was a problem, none in the rooms unless you paid excessive price for it, but was free in the lobby, although even then the connection seemed a bit flakey depending upon where you sat.

The stay was reasonable, but the lack of cleaning in the room on the last day was disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TurboToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Brussels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We would like to thank you for choosing the Renaissance hotel for your recent stay in Brussels and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments shared regarding our property and our spacious rooms. We have taken notes of your comments regarding the elevators, internet and the room cleanliness. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused. We sincerely hope that you will provide us the chance to exceed your expectations during a next stay with us at the Renaissance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We held a big function at this hotel and they put up with us. My room was large and the price was reasonable. I thought the group rate was good which included breakfast. It's near the Luxemburg square, the metro and Train station. My room was a little noisy when the garbage trucks showed up but other than that it was fine.

Room Tip: A room away from the street would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roseeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Considering I paid a great price for bed and breakfast I cannot complain about value for money. Reception area and location are excellent. Free wifi downstairs, ample seating and super friendly reception makes this a wonderful start to your stay.
Rooms all seemed clean and comfortable, and again very friendly personnel everywhere. Safe and fridge all working and clean. Lifts in the hotel required a swipe of your card but not all scanners were working causing a lot of sighs.

Though convenient, breakfast provided was bland and boring. I would not like to pay for it. Given Belgium has such great cheeses and breads and beers that people have for breakfast, none was apparent in the international style buffet breakfast. Certainly ample and convenient, fresh and tasty, i would definitely eat out if hadn't been included.

Change rooms in the health area was rough and dirty. Obviously not cleaned over the week I was here. Lockers broken, mixed sauna broken (fuse blows?), one attendant sleeping on a bench instead of behind the counter. Hence it was very quiet in the pool/gym area. The men's sauna had cold showers only.

Excellent location at Luxembourgh Square, very close to a train station and reasonably close to metro stops. Bus stops around the corner. Several laundromat so great pubs and a fantastic beer shop all within easy walking distance.

Yes, I would come again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank waltervp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Renaissance Brussels is located close to Embassy Row - about 15 minutes walk or a short cab ride. The hotel is adjacent to Luxemburg Square (Place Luxe), the train station and close to the European parliament. There are a number of reasonably priced decent restaurants and bars on and around the Square.

The hotel rooms are large by European standards. The hotel is attached to a gym that is open to the public (by membership). The gym has an indoor pool, weight room and cardio area - above average for a hotel. The breakfast area and food works for a business meeting. The only knock is that the internet seemed to a bit overtaxed on my last stay. I mentioned the need for more bandwidth to management and they said that the would evaluate.

Room Tip: Ask about a room away from construction, which frequently occurs in the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#3 of 15 in Ixelles
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4,929 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#73 of 199 in Brussels
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Brussels, European Quarter
1.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Brussels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Brussels Hotel

Address: Rue du Parnasse 19, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#5 Business Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range: £76 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Brussels Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the energy of Belgium's capital city from sophisticated accommodations at Renaissance Brussels Hotel. Enjoy staying in the heart of the European Quarter at our hotel in Brussels located near famous destinations in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Renaissance Brussels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brussels Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Brussels
Renaissance Brussels Hotel Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing