We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a service with a smile.”

Ashok's Indian Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 219 Restaurants in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$64
Cuisines: Diner, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Come to change in an original setting of a time travel and a discovery of unparalleled taste and aroma. From soup to dessert through our varied menu, our desire is to help you discover and share the flavors of my childhood throughout your meal. Try one of our many dishes "a la carte" or indulge in any of our meals with a varied assortment of the most typical dishes served with fresh rice, nan and vegetables. All our dishes can be spiced to taste: medium, spicy or very spicy. Whatever your choice is, you will experience a true culinary experience. See you soon!
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The service was very friendly and efficient. The food was very enjoyable and the quantities were more than sufficient. We had a great time and would recommend you try it out.

Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations clients at Ashok's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hello and a big thank you for your opinion. Do not hesitate to let us know when you come back. We’ll welcome you again with great pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

we went there for Valentine's day and only fixed menu was availaible. Food quite poor, wine terrible, slow service, overpriced and they even did a mistake on our order.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Luisella_Elisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations clients at Ashok's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your opinion. Ashok’s restaurants meet daily a large panel of belgian, typically Indian and foreign clients for over 14 years. Of course there might always be a problem with the service or with a meal but your point of view seems quite exaggerated. We are the only restaurants which make come our chefs from Dubai and India with a recognized qualification and experience in traditional indian cuisine. Our staff room is also selected and trained from among persons of experience and reputation. We can only be sorry for your opinion knowing that we do our best for our present and forthcoming clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The reviews here are well over board. Believe me if you have had a good curry in your life then you will recognise this place as nothing special. My King Prawn biryani had little frozen prawns, tasted average and instead of a vege curry i got a pot of yoghurt. I ordered a large Kingfisher beer (EUR 8) and it came in a glass and tasted suspicially like european lager. Also the place was completely empty.
OK place but just that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teddy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations clients at Ashok's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hello and thanks for your one and only advice on Tripavisor, Mr Teddy W. First we don't serve King prawn Biryani but prawn Biryani, which means a difference between giant prawns and regular prawns. Then the price of our Kingfisher is 4 euros, not 8, and I'm afraid we don't have any veggie curry on the card but a great variety of prepared vegetables. May be you mix up with another restaurant? Who knows? Anyway Gault & Millau Guide knows why they recommand Ashok's for year 2014. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The service is nice and the owner is very friendly and helpful! Here is what is a big special about this restaurant: The main dishes are EXCELLENT, especially the Palak Paneer, the lamb and the chicken. However, the appetizers are dismal and substandard. Most likely the appetizers are cooked from frozen ingredients while the main meals are prepared in house. The chefs do an excellent job with all main menu dishes but do not fall for the terrible "discovery menu" trap that charges double the amount for a horrible plate of appetizers.
Will glady go again any time but will never order the appetizers, instead stick to the Lamb, Chicken and Veggie brilliancies that are simply terrific!

Price wise: stick to the main dishes are youre getting an awesome bang for the buck, throw in lassi or desert or the dreaded appetizers and you are settling in for a truly substandard experience in quality/value matrix

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations publiques at Ashok's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hello and a big thank you for your opinion. Do not hesitate to let us know when you come back. We’ll welcome you again with great pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We live in Ixelles and have been quite a few times at this restaurant. Food always good. This time, we had made a reservation at 7pm on a Saturday and we were the first two people in the restaurant and ordered immediately. We ordered a "menu dégustation", that's a menu the chef had already prepared. In the meanwhile, people started to come in. The table behind, next to us, two tables next to us... got served. We were waiting and waiting. We sat right next to the kitchen, and we saw 5 or 6 take away menus being prepared and sent. After 1h10min. of waiting (for an already prepared dish!), we told the waitress. Finally we got our food. We had to leave as there was no time left to have the dessert included in the 25 eur/pp price, and just wanted to pay for the dishes separately (lamb, chicken and vegetarian + drinks). The cook told us in an arrogant way this was not possible. We told him that he let us wait 1h10 min. and served everyone else first, there were no apologies at all and then we have to pay for a dessert we will not eat because we are running out of time?? I will NEVER visit this restaurant again, I would have expected they would have offered the drinks, but nothing! Arrogant people, unprofessional. Also, there was no soap in the toilets.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank H V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations clients at Ashok's Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Hello and thanks for your constructive advice. First the dishes are never prepared in advance, as you can see in the open kitchen. It is possible that there may be a delay and we are really sorry for this misunderstanding. It is unfortunate that you never put good comments for all the times you were satisfied. In addition if you were in a hurry, as you write, how would you have time to enjoy a drink (for free of course)?
And if you still doubt of our daily efforts to satisfy our many customers, and our professionalism, know that Ashok's Indian Cuisine is now recommended by the famous Gault & Millau guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashok's Indian Restaurant also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Ashok's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing