We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything proportionate to the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beau Site

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beau Site
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Dublin 11
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Everything proportionate to the price!”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We decided to go for budget accommodation in Brussels to be close to the City Centre and close to the EU buildings. This hotel is quite good. It is typical European budget hotel.

It is just under ten minutes walk from Louisa Metro station and a 25 minute walk from Grand Place. It's also a 25 minute walk to the EU Parliament and Flagey Square.

The Hotel reception is nice with free internet. The rooms have slightly old decor but certainly that doesn't take away from them. The hotel staff were excellent, very helpful and went out of their way to help.

The breakfast offered was standard continental and okay.

All in all, if you're looking for a budget accommodation this is a good place, but does have it's down sides that it's at the top of a large hill and does have slighly outdated decor!

Room Tip: A triple room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    46
    45
    13
    16
See reviews for
17
31
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Date of Stay: 18 - 19 September 2012

I arrived at the hotel at approximately 11pm (23:00hrs). First impressions were the place looked small but neat and clean. The receptionist knew my name because I was the last person to check in. Check-in was painless, I was simply handed my key and asked to sign something. I was informed that the wifi code was on the key. I was nervous of being charged for wifi use so didn't use it - I wasn't told it was free / complimentary. The receptionist spoke excellent English. I was hungry as I'd barely eaten a thing since I boarded the train at Birmingham New Street and ate nothing on the Eurostar. So upon my check-in the receptionist ordered a pizza for me as their kitchen was closed (the pizza was disgusting but the hotel weren't to blame).

After check-in I was assigned a room, I think it was room 19, and was direct to the lift and told my room was on the first floor. I got in the very very small lift and wondered if it would break under the weight of me and my luggage combined! When the lift reached my floor, the door opened onto a closed door .... it was an initially terrifying experience and I thought the life had broken. I came to my senses and pushed on the closed door to find myself in a darkened corridor ... well it was black because there were no lights on again I was very scared and wondered what kind of hotel this was! I happen to have a little torch on my keyrings and used it to find the light in the corridor and made my way to my room.

I understand why the light was off, I felt I had stepped into the 80's nasty wall paper, plastic flowers and awful carpet ... this feeling when I stepped into my room .... oh lord!

The room wasn't big, but it wasn't small either it was ok with;
- a very low cheap bed, cheap thin bed sheets, small pillows
bedside tables
- an old-fashioned wardrobe which has unspecified pillows in but the place was so grim I felt I'd already risked my health using the pillows on the bed!
- a desk with snacks - I didn't touch these as I think they were part of the mini-bar (yes there was a selection of alcoholic beverages in a fridge to drown your sorrows with).
The carpet was patterned, dirty and dusty. I really felt dirty using the grimy plug to charge my mobile phone.
The TV was old-fashioned and small with a selection of channels (French/Flemish speaking), OK I'm English and I hate to be a archetypal British person abroad, but just BBC World Service would have sufficed since my stay was for business not pleasure - there were no English speaking channels.

The bathroom ... oh lord .... it looked like it belonged in a 1940's mental asylum it was awful .... truly horrible. It was clean-ish but was dark, even after eventually finding the light, the white utensils had turned a tooth-yellow colour and everything in there was unfashionable to the extreme.

I had a very bad night's sleep; I kept hearing water, possibly the room upstairs or next door flushing the toilet, there was noise from the street outside (I later realised the window had been left open) and the bed was lumpy and I was cold.

Breakfast .... it had been paid for, I decided to skip it going by the standard of the room I had slept in. Check-in was painless, I simply left the key on the desk as no-one was there and walked to my meeting.

The hotel is situated in a good spot and very close to Avenue Louise, but that's the only thing going for it ... it was a despicable experience in fact one of the worst hotel stays I've ever had.

I'd never return .... I'm surprised at the reviews this place has received and the pictures I've seen on trip advisor as my room was nothing like the one's in the pictures. All I can say is, I obviously have differing standards to others, but I stand by my review ... the place is grim!

Do yourself a favour .... do not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chachachingching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ixelles hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The room was huge, with a fridge and minibar. Large bathroom also. Free internet. Nice continental breakfast. Staff were quite friendly & helpful. However, i was charged twice for my room. 5 days later, still trying to get them to pay me back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellohellohello14243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The customer service here is - hands down - the best I've received in any hotel, which is highly commendable for a 3*. We dealt with at least 5 different staff members (24hr reception) over our 3 night stay and all were equally hospitable and efficient. We were even able to take a packed breakfast at 5.30am when leaving to catch the 1st Eurostar on a Monday morning. The rooms were excellent, very spacious (we even had a hob, sink and fridge in ours!) and the bathrooms perfectly adequate. I would advise against staying in the summer if they don't install air conditioning in the near future, but will definitely stay again when next in Brussels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patisabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This small hotel is located approx 100 m away from the busy road. The reception and the breakfast room looked nice and new and staff was friendly. My room was well functioning but a bit old. The breakfast was simple but OK.
The hotel is situated in the southern part of Brussels with far less tourists than in the city center. Walking time to central Brussels is 30-40 minutes, but public transport with bus, tram and metro is also possible. The location is convenient for the MCE conference center

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very friendly receptionist.
Location is good, but the room are poor, same as with the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaniZsuzsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scots in Europe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel Beau Site is very close to tram and bus stops. As Brussels has a great integrated transport system with multi-use tickets valid for tram, bus, metro & city train stations, we travelled widely to the furthest parts of the city with ease from the hotel. This was our 2nd stay here and is very reasonably priced for Brussels, especially over the weekend. Friendly staff (receptionist immediately remembered our faces from our previous visit 6yrs ago!), plenty of city info leaflets, spacious rooms and a good buffet breakfast. Good location for Avenue Louise shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 16 in Ixelles
584 reviews
1.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#7 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izan Avenue Louise
Izan Avenue Louise
#118 of 199 in Brussels
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Site

Property: Hotel Beau Site
Address: 76 Rue de la Longue Haie, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beau Site 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beau Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Site Hotel
Beau Site Brussels
Hotel Beau Site Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing