We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Argus Brussels
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and good location”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We were moved to this hotel from another hotel which overbooked us, and we were very glad we had to move. This hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to the centre of Brussels on both foot and with use of the metro and tram system. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and reception is open 24hrs should you need assistance. The hotel (as I understand recently refurbished) is in excellent condition and the rooms are clean and welcoming. The breakfast was the only real let down, but it is adequate. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in brussels.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    73
    50
    20
    7
See reviews for
16
52
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

After flying to Brussels with the intention of getting the train to Bruges where we had 3 nights hotel accommodation booked we found we had to make alternative arrangements because the trains were on strike and there were no buses to take us either. We therefore had to stay overnight in Brussels. We came across the Argus Hotel by chance and found it good place to stay. We got a good offer for overnight accommodation with continental breakfast. We had double bedroomed accommodation with 2 beds in each room so there was plenty of space. The bathroom was fine although it could have done with a bit of sprucing up. The reception staff were very friendly and were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Impressed_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I had a very pleasant 2-night stay at the Argus for an excellent week-end rate of 65 euros/night. The room was smallish but perfectly clean and VERY quiet! Excellent modern TV. The WiFi however didn't work and it seems I'm not the only one to have had difficulties...
Breakfast average, but perfectly OK.
Great location near the great Avenue de la Toison d'Or (cinemas, restaurants, between 2 metro stations)
Friendly staff.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertzlia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Since we've been living in Brussels in the past, we knew the location will be perfect for passing through the city in our way to nearby Holland. Just off the Ring, with parking, and walking distance to the Grand Place and mussels at "Chez Leon". We arrived late afternoon and left early the following morning. More than adequate for our purpose, including the room rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielakorem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times in the past years, always for 1-3 nights and I really like it. It's very close to the subway, in a good district and prices are acceptable.

They have nice cosy restaurant in the basement and the breakfasts are OK. Rooms are small but not too small. The staff are friendly and helpful. As far as I remember they have introduced free wi-fi Internet recently.

Recommended, at least for a short stay.

  • Liked — location, staff, free internet
  • Disliked — tiny elevator
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WarsawTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Stayed in this hotel for a week end, 2 nights. The location is good, not far from the city centre and 5 min to the metro station. The receptionist were all so kind and helpful. I'ts 7th floor and each floor has 4-5 rooms. i'd booked a single room but i got a double bed. The room was big enough with TV, refrigerator and a good wardrobe. The bathroom was normally spacious but clean with extra towels. The only negative thing is that they didn't change the linen . The breakfast room is small and it's not selfservice , they take your breakfast to your table but it's enough and various. Newspapers available in the breakfast room too. The hotel has no restaurant but you can find various around. I definitely suggest to you, it has a good quality/price relation.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — linen in the bed
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

My family booked 2 adjoining rooms just after Christmas, Dec. 26-31, 2007. We were put on the top floor, which was odd since I don't think there were more than 2 or 3 other people staying in the hotel at the time. We were the only people at breakfast for 3 of the days. The desk staff were mostly friendly (one female desk clerk was not very nice when I tried to pay for a sightseeing trip with a credit card and when I told her the desk lamp in the room was broken). The dining room was very large for such a small hotel, very clean, and the breakfast was simple but more than sufficient, with the option of cooked eggs for one or two euros, a real bargain.

The hotel is in a good location, safe, excellent shopping, really close to a metro, and walking distance to Grand Place. It is just a few hundred feet from the Louise subway stop, on the same side of the road as the hotel, and that is only 2 stops away from the Gare Midi (Brussels South) train station. There are also movies theaters on the same block as the hotel if you need to down time after walking around all day. There were many places to eat nearby, but no grocery stores or markets nearby, at least the we could find. Also, it was very difficult to find an ATM that worked anywhere near the hotel. There is a huge indoor mall about 300 feet from the hotel.

The one really big negative: there is some strange art/sound exhibit next the hotel, and the noise from it runs through the entire building. The exhibit is huge, taking up about one-half a city block. It included a sound and laser-light show, starting in the early evening and going to 10:30pm or 11:00pm. The odd music plays over and over and over. It drove us crazy.

Also, the wireless internet system in the hotel did not work for me at all. My room was 5 feet from the hotel transmitter, but I could not connect with my email or with Google or CNN or any other major cite. I could not look up things about the places we were visiting in Belgium and France. I brought my laptop all the way from Ohio because the hotel advertised in room internet, and I was sorely disappointed.

About the rooms: very small, and no real dresser drawer space, but they were clean and comfortable and felt very safe. The bathrooms were spotless. The showers were a little odd, using a sprayer attachment as the shower head, and you could not really direct the spray at all.

One last note: if you are handicapped or have problems with stairs, do not stay here. The tiny elevator is only accessible by going down a flight a stairs from the lobby, or by going up a flight of stairs to the first floor.

Except for that bizarre light/sound show, I'd stay here again in a minute. I do not know if there were rooms that were better insulated from the noise--we were all settled in when we first heard the music, and we just did not want to pack everything up and start searching for a new room.

  • Liked — Price, location near metro, breakfast, cleanliness
  • Disliked — noise in the evenings, internet did not work, elevator not on main floor
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JeffWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.1 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#86 of 198 in Brussels
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 15 in Ixelles
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leopold Brussels
Hotel Leopold Brussels
#5 of 15 in Ixelles
947 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argus Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argus Brussels

Property: Hotel Argus Brussels
Address: Rue Capitaine Crespel 6, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argus Brussels 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Argus Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Argus Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing