We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple hotel but a fair service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Argus Brussels
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simple hotel but a fair service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

The hotel was a maze. Appart from that, quite good hotel, taking into account that the location (near the europe part). Good details like offering a coffee while waiting for the rooms or Internet connection (on demand) are good details. The breakfast, just ok. Nothing bad to say about the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jator-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    70
    48
    20
    6
See reviews for
15
49
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

The Argus has a great location (near a metro station 10 min from the center of Brussels). Relative small rooms but clean and bright. I stayed there with two colleagues for a week and initial impressions were very positive : great breakfast and clean.
But the front-end reception was below par for a business hotel : depending on who was fronting the desk you got either great help or none at all ( a lady at the front desk was consistently not interested bothering on rude). Two times taxis never showed up and asking help for restaurant booking (with customers) was declined. In-hotel Internet was very bad.

This hotel is a great choice for a couple of days of Brussels sight-seeing. For business travelers staying a longer time it would not be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johans057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

The hotel was conveniently situated near the Louise Metro station, in an area of fashionable shops. The decor was modern and attractive. The room was good value at the special summer rate (mid July to end August) of 60 euros for an en-suite single room. There was a bath, which was a nice treat; it lacked a bath plug, but fortunately, I had brought my own!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
357 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

The hotel is positione opposite the huge Hilton Tower, well-located for walking to the centre, the Royal area, the EC district or the subway system. At first it is a bit of a maze to find your way in the connected two building, but the interior is nice and a bit modern. Nothing is overdone, although the reception desk could be a bit more helpful. Simple but good breakfast and sufficiently spacious rooms for the price offered and the area the hotel is located. Worth to try as an alternative and free internet access. For the budget-caring business and leisure traveller.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We were moved to this hotel from another hotel which overbooked us, and we were very glad we had to move. This hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to the centre of Brussels on both foot and with use of the metro and tram system. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and reception is open 24hrs should you need assistance. The hotel (as I understand recently refurbished) is in excellent condition and the rooms are clean and welcoming. The breakfast was the only real let down, but it is adequate. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in brussels.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

After flying to Brussels with the intention of getting the train to Bruges where we had 3 nights hotel accommodation booked we found we had to make alternative arrangements because the trains were on strike and there were no buses to take us either. We therefore had to stay overnight in Brussels. We came across the Argus Hotel by chance and found it good place to stay. We got a good offer for overnight accommodation with continental breakfast. We had double bedroomed accommodation with 2 beds in each room so there was plenty of space. The bathroom was fine although it could have done with a bit of sprucing up. The reception staff were very friendly and were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Impressed_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

I had a very pleasant 2-night stay at the Argus for an excellent week-end rate of 65 euros/night. The room was smallish but perfectly clean and VERY quiet! Excellent modern TV. The WiFi however didn't work and it seems I'm not the only one to have had difficulties...
Breakfast average, but perfectly OK.
Great location near the great Avenue de la Toison d'Or (cinemas, restaurants, between 2 metro stations)
Friendly staff.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 16 in Ixelles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
0.4 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#7 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argus Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argus Brussels

Property: Hotel Argus Brussels
Address: Rue Capitaine Crespel 6, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argus Brussels 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Argus Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Argus Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing