We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusually good!!!”
Review of Hotel Le Berger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Berger
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Unique and unusual and fun to stay here. The rooms are wallpapered old style, which is cool and all the room s have individual names with name plates! Location is good and you can walk to the palace and the fab antique area. Didn't have breakfast as we like the cafes all around Brussels, so can't say how that was. Nice staff and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very French vibe except it's not French it is Belgian obviously. This establishment is down a tiny street so don't be surprised if your taxi driver is not sure what you are talking about. The street is really narrow and unfortunately had some roadworks on the go at the time.

This place is super cute and great for a weekend away for two. We opted for one of the larger rooms and this was a good size. Bear in mind that the building was never meant for guests to stay more than overnight (at the longest) so there isn't any hanging space for more than what you were wearing when you checked in. Decor has been updated but still very old school (heavy patterned wallpaper on the wall and ceiling) and with a strong deco vibe. Central heating was super effective though you might need to open the window. Windows are frost "for your discretion".

The bar is small but the service is good, with an as expected good range of Belgian beers. The hors d'oeuvres are tasty and whet your appetite for going out. The style is art deco meets eclecticism/kitsch. Wifi is free, help yourself to a password from the bowl at reception.

Would definitely recommend for a couple of nights or a weekend away - its super reasonable.

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueberrybadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I was not positively impressed by this hotel. The way to the entrance was blocked by some construction site, therefore I could not get there by car, but had to get out and walk. Not a big deal, but the street is small and quite unfriendly, and pretty full of iced snow. The entrance was not clearly to get and the way in also pretty slippery. The lady at the reception was not really warm in welcoming me. They gave me the room 301. I took the lift, very narrow. The room was a bad surprise: very small, no garderobe - just two hangers to hang clothes at the wall. No place were to leave the luggage or to place the shoes and a very strange way to switched the lights on and off. No table with chairs and a small sink in the bedroom, not in the bathroom. In the bathroom no signs of hair dryer and no possibility to get more than just some soap. The bed was quite comfortable, but there are no night tables, apart from a small wooden thing on one side. Unfortunately the room is very noisy and not isolated at all: I could hear every evening the telephone conversations of my neighbour and also the TV program they watched. The breakfast was quite disappointing: unless you were able to start before 8, then the chances to have a full choice were very limited. The good thing is the location, close to Port de Namur, therefore if you need to get the underground (lines 2 and 6) it would take you just 5 minutes to walk. It is unlikely that I will go again there: maybe other rooms are better, but overall I did not feel very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 301 has no comfort at all. Ask before booking how the room is equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoit T, E-commerce Manager at Hotel Le Berger, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Dear Sunflower20132013,

Thank you very much for your comment!
We are really concerned and disappointed by negative impression you got while visiting our hotel, despite that, you help us improve in particular fields of service. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Le Berger we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.

There is no secret made about the relatively small size or equipment of our standard double rooms.
We want our hotel to stand-out from others in Brussels, therefore we emphasized on its history and past. The renovation has been recently done and we would be happy to welcome you to Le Berger again maybe in one of our Superior or Comfort rooms which are obviously bigger.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Best regards,

Hotel Le Berger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Took advantage of a special deal for January 2013 when booking this hotel. I did so with a little trepidation knowing it by reputation before refurbishment as a 'maison de rendez-vous'.

Refurbishment works really well, its modren and comfortable whilst keeping something of its history. Room was small but cosy with good size bathroom, no wardrobe but in reflecting its past perhaps a 'maison de rendez-vous' did not need wardrobes.

Nice bar/restaurant on the ground floor and good breakfast. Free Wi Fi that works.

Central location close to Metro and great for business trips, well places for the European Institutions.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was a good hotel with an interesting history and themed rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, a little quirky as the bath was just inside the door in a small corridor before going into the main bedroom. There was a separate combined shower and toilet. The room was not particularly big.

I would stay there again, but some people mighty not be happy with the theme.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKoala64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I loved this place. Its themed on the brothel it once was - highly amusing and tastefully done. The rooms had everything I needed - great shower, good wifi, cable tv. Rooms are very small. No problem for me, but some may find that an issue. Great breakfast buffet.

Its up a grubby backstreet, with quite a bit of construction work in progress, although don't be put off - this part of Brussels is very safe. Load of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArthriticToe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Its a nice little hotel in a convenient location for those in work trips for the European Parliament / Commission. The hotel is very special, with a funky decoration, and although my room was relatively small it was quiet and clean. The staff was nice, well above the Brussels standard. Breakfast could certainly be better, but was just ok. Excellent free internet across the facilities.
The hotel location is excellent for a business traveler to the European Brussels. It is close to the European Parliament, close to the metro and just around the corner from a shopping street and the restaurant and bars of St. Boniface / Pl. Londres. The hotel street itself is a bit quiet and dark but it's only 60 meters walk from a busy street and the area is rather safe.
All in all, expect a basic hotel with some glamour, in a convenient location. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jv_lisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintage Hotel Brussels
Vintage Hotel Brussels
#1 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 15 in Ixelles
525 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Berger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Berger

Address: Rue du Berger 24, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ixelles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range: £46 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Berger 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Berger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Berger Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing