We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Berger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Berger
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was good value for money and was comfortable and clean.
It had no tea making facilities, but that is a minor point.
It had its own restaurant - didn't use it - but it looked and was busy, which is a good sign.
There was an underground station about 10 minutes away that gives good access to the train station and the other side of the city.
But it's not that far to walk into the heart of the city.
So, if your looking for a good priced, convenient and comfortable hotel you could do a lot worse than Le Berger.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ATF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    271
    96
    32
    27
See reviews for
24
284
52
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

It was a last second booking: the price was good and the pictures showed it was not bad. It was a good choice in the end: the hotel is really close the one of the shopping street to far from the centre and some nice neighborhood. When we arrived (check in at 11 PM almost) the restaurant and the hotel were full of young people.We took the tiny but new lift and got to our room. At a glance the hotel seems to be little, but all around it's labyrinthic corridors there are lots of room all of them numbered and named. Our room was quite big even if quite dark: there was only a tiny window, but a nice surprice was the style of the furniture and the courtain dividing the bed area from the relaxing one. the bathroom is particular: it pretends to be old style because of the forniture (the bath tub was for 3/4 in the ground and surrounded by mirrors) and the white tiles.
Breakfast was not included, but we liked it more than other modern hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel has no air conditioning, no ventilation other than the windows and one fan (at the front desk, pointed at the receptionist). There is no minibar in the room, so you cannot cool your water. Even with the window wide open, it is at least five degrees warmer in the room than outside (and it is 30 degrees outside). At the front desk, there are no pamphlets or any other form of tourist information. They don't even provide a proper city map. All they have is a print out of google maps with no landmarks that does not even cover the whole city. On the plus side, the room is large, with a double bed and a spacious (by European standards) private bathroom. The location is pretty good and the subway is a five minute walk away. I repeat: don't stay here in summer. If I hadn't already paid through a discount website, I would have switch hotels the second they told me they didn't provide a fan.

Room Tip: Find another hotel in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerT3715TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in room 213 (lone traveller). Had a nice big double bed, with 4 very comfy pillows. Had complimentary chocolate on the bed, and also bottles of water on bedside table. In the bathroom was a generous amount of towels, and some lovely hand made soap for the shower and sink. Decor beautoful - art deco style with shell up-lighters.

Staff very friendly, and breakfast was a real treat (all cold, none hot) with a large selection of cheeses (loved the smelly brie), fresh bread rolls, bread, olives, meats, muesli, and fresh fruit - all help yourself. Also a great selection of drinks for b'fast - 5/6 different types of leaf tea (loved this, I'm english), and a bean-made coffee machine. Also great selection of juices. Would recommend breakfast.

My only criticisms which I think are fair to point out. My room was a short walk along an outside corridor, and was 2 floors up. As such, when people below were smoking outside their rooms, the smell was drifting up into my bedroom at night, even though the door was closed. I had a really bad cough after a few days. I'm sure if I said something they would have moved me though. I think this could easily be rectified with carpets on the decking outside the door. Also, other guests' doors are noisy - due to to the nature of the closing mechanisms. "soft close" doors would help this situation.

Overall, great value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveIIerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Good choice if you want something different from the big hotel-chains. Excellent breakfeast, but dinner in the hotel restaurant was a disappointment. The area is a bit scruffy, but the location is good, with walking distance to most of central Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

When I arrived at Hotel Le Berger for a two-night stay, I was told by the Assistant Manager to pay for my stay. When I explained (in French) that I had booked through Eurostar as part of a package, and that the money had been taken from my credit card, I was asked if I could 'prove it', because as far as he was concerned, the card hadn't gone through. I replied that I did not carry my credit card statement around with me, but that I had already paid. He would not accept my argument, and made me pay again. When I left, the Manager was very apologetic and said that this was the third time the Assistant Manager had made this mistake. She refunded the money, but I am still out of pocket owing to the extra foreign-exchange transaction fee, which she did not account for. I sent them an email over a week ago to discuss the matter further, but received no reply.

The hotel represents exceptional value for money. The rooms are quite small, with the sink in the room rather than the bathroom, but the shower was amazing, and the décor good quality, although not to my taste: it's very dark. Three things offended me: firstly, the sleazy pictures of women in the bathroom and dimly lit landings - the hotel used to be a place of ill-repute. Secondly, the Wi-Fi did not work in the room and there was no desk. Thirdly, it was quite unbelievably noisy in that there was ceaseless noise at the back from neighbouring properties until midnight, from the kitchen staff, and then from the neighbouring room until 3 a.m. My sleep quality was very poor. Unfortunately I'm booked to go back there in August for two nights with my husband. Am thinking of just writing off the money. One positive, though: I was given a free Diet Coke from the bar when sitting in the Reception using the internet, so that was very kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Althea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

- nice location close to a vibrant area with cafés and bars, although not in the city centre
- this used to be a brothel, rooms are well kept but rather small and dark
- not enough space for working inside room, internet connection patchy
- breakfast staff was rather rude and selection is not up to standards
- for the price ok but there are better options in Brussels

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RTWEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintage Hotel Brussels
Vintage Hotel Brussels
#2 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#59 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Berger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Berger

Property: Hotel Le Berger
Address: Rue du Berger 24, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Berger 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Berger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Berger Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing