We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, terrible follow-up service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Brussels Le Louise

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, terrible follow-up service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

There are some good and some bad about it, some very very bad things... My wife and child stayed 3 nights in a Junior suite.

The good points: Sofitel Le Louise is very well located, closed to shops and public transport; and for those with a delicate palate, there is a wide range of restaurants and cuisine choices in the area. Re: food at the hotel, the breakfast is very french and light but also tasty (avoid the pancakes!). The location is kind of a nice and probably the poshest shopping area of Brussels. The hotel was recently refurbished with a soft modern but heavy trendy touch making it at "international" standards. Bed is very comfortable. The 'So Bed' is worth a try. The staff tries its best to put a nice face and seems genuine in wanting to help.

The bad: rooms are dusty, and can seem uncleaned at times (stained carpet, toilet paper from previous guest left swimming in the toilet, smelly towels, lipstick on glasses in the mini bar, etc.). To be honest, if you complain, for the small things like towels, lipsticks, etc., they'll try to sort something out. For the issues requiring effort (cleaning, bedding, etc) they'll try more than actually do something about it.

Personal experience:
- we like to have an extra flat sheet on the bed to feel tucked but also in case its get too warm with the duvet. So we always make it a request at booking. On this occasion although we stayed 3 nights we had to remind the reception every single day as housekeeping kept on forgetting. Effectively this means making our own bed everyday. Reminder: this is rated "5* hotel"!!
- We also had to request ( everyday) that they put at least one towel per person. We had only 2 for the 3 of us.
- the bedroom had broken rails hangers so the curtains couldn't be pulled fully, meaning that we were awake at 5 am, on a weekend after late nights out visiting, as we couldn't make use of the blackouts. Although we complained every morning and asked to be put in a different Jr. Suite, nothing was done about it. No one really seemed to care, really. Like it was this hotel' standards..

Without being cliche, even if Belgium is not best known for its customer service, this level of service for guests staying in a Suite of a 5 stars international chain hotel is just unacceptable. Very disappointing, indeed.

For these reasons, it's not a hotel I'd recommend. However, if you can afford to spoil a day or two of your holidays/trip then be adventurous, come and pay for poor service.

Room Tip: Air-conditioning is only available - at night - from in suites level and above, not in standard or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, In charge of E-reputation at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments related to your stay in our hotel.

All the team of Sofitel Brussels Le Louise joins me to apology for the inconveniences caused during your stay.
We are extremely sorry to read that your stay was not up to your expectations concerning the room organization and the search of solutions.

Be sure that we took well note of your comments and that we will take it into account to ameliorate the stay of our customers.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise so that we can prove ourselves a better host to you.

My sincere regards,

Ines Abbassi
In charge of E-reputation at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    656
    177
    53
    31
See reviews for
253
948
118
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this delightful hotel. Our room and bathroom were quite posh - spotless and well appointed. The bed and pillows were so very comfortable. We enjoyed the outdoor lounge area as well as the attractive bar/restaurant. The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, Responsable des Services d'Accueil at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your “Magnifique” comments and wonderful feedback regarding to your recent visit at the Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, on the Trip Advisor Forum.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the staff, our Crystal Lounge terrasse and the comfort in the room. Our staffs strive to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel

Looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience

Kind regards,

Stéphanie Bronner
Front of the House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was booked at the Sofitel Hotel Europe. My travel partner and I arrived in Brussels separately, she first, and learned upon arrival at the hotel her reservation was cancelled. Arrangements were made to move us both to the Sofitel Brussels Le Louise. With that info via text message I diverted my taxi and arrived at the Le Louise first. My check-in experience was exceptional, as was every other aspect of my stay. The staff at Le Louise could not have been more gracious or helpful. The room and amenities were all consistent with Sofitel standards; top-drawer. My partner arrived by cab - from Hotel Europe to Le Louise courtesy of the hotels - and also enjoyed a smooth, gracious welcome and check-in. I found the location of the Le Louise property perfect for my short stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, Responsable des Services d'Accueil at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest ,

What a delightful comment! Thank you very much for your wonderful review
On behalf of my colleagues, thank you very much for having taken the time to share it with the on-line travel community Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Brussels le Louise, and that you found our staff and services of such a high standard.
We are all eager to welcoming you back very soon for a new Sofitel Expereince

Best regards
Stéphanie Bronner
Front of the House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Check in was very disorientated and took over 30 mins involving us having to pull up the booking on the app and email. Room was fine at the front but stupidly hot with the air on making no difference. Breakfast was OK but had to ask for everything several times.

It was clear that we just got the staff on a bad weekend and the experience was not what we have previously experienced at this hotel and below what you would expect of a Sofitel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaiJai30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, In charge of E-reputation at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share with us your feedbacks.

However, I am very sorry to learn about your experience with us, mostly with regards to the service you experienced from our staff. The experience you describe is not in line at all with the level of service that we strive for. Our aim is to provide our guests with a warm and welcoming feeling and the best possible service.
I can understand your disappointment. Please rest assured that your comment will be shared within the Management Team and that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise so that we can prove ourselves a better host to you.

Kind regards,

Ines Abbassi
In charge of E-reputation at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We didn't really stay there. Just went there for coffee, which was a great experience for us. There is this beautiful verandah where you can have coffee, a drink or food in a very atmospheric and quiet place of absolute elegance and unique style!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraKoziori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, Responsable des Services d'Accueil at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to the Sofitel Brussels Le Louise. I am delighted you enjoyed the experience on the Crystal Lounge Terrasse
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to another Sofitel Experience .

Kind regards,

Stéphanie Bronner
Responsable des Services d'Accueil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

i was expecting that they upgrade my room since i stay there 4 times in 4 years but this didn't happen and honestly i was informing that my bed is making a lot of noises and honestly they didn't change my room only when i informed them that i will not use this hotel again but to be fair the service of the concierge was excellent plus there is a lot of difference between the employees of sofitel in amsterdam and sofitel le louise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank jeanzeidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, Responsable des Services d'Accueil at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Even though we are sorry to learn about your disappointment, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It allows us to improve ourselves where needed.

I want to assure you of my concern in this matter, as the services that you describe are definitely not up to the standard we strive for. Naturally, your comments have been directly shared with the departments heads involved and an internal follow-up is assured to prevent the events from happening again in the future.

Moreover, I would like to ask you to contact me personally when your travels bring you back to Brussels.

I am sure our employees and I can prove ourselves a better host and would very much appreciate a second chance, if you would be willing to provide us with one.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Le Louise.

With best regards,

Stéphanie Bronner
Front of the House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#22 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brussels Le Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brussels Le Louise

Property: Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
Address: Avenue de la Toison d'Or 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
#2 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#2 Family Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brussels Le Louise 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sofitel Brussels Le Louise a luxury hotel in Brussels prestigious Avenue Louise district nestled amid quiet streets lined with chestnut trees designer boutiques and art deco mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel Brussels Le Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise Hotel Ixelles
Accor Brussels Le Louise
Brussels Sofitel
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing