We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, restaurant very nice but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Ixelles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As mentioned the location is good is you wanna be in the on the main shopping street.
Parking is sufficient either on road or few meters away in the underground parking. I was not clear, or did not read well that the doormen is able to be used as valet parking and I ended up walking back which I disliked. (Always nice to have direct access to parking from hotel.)
The lobby and the area's + terrace are nice, I just felt the lobby was cramped. The restaurant is nicely decorated and both service and food was perfect. Breakfast was nice, very French as one can expect in Brussels.
My sole remark, and that makes my judgment to average is that the lobby, the hallways/corridors to the room and the elevator are all narrow, small and make you feel depressed. The room itself was complete although the bathroom soso. My bed was used too much on one side making me roll into the lower part. This is very annoying and its something I experience more frequent in hotels. I feel hotels should be more aware of this problem and actually check the mattresses after a while.

Staff in general very kind.

So all in all a fine hotel but not very special if you ask me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

From the start, the chemistry was present. The staff at the reception was very professional. knowledgeable about getting around in the city.
The room as such is fine, with a proper decoration, but the size is not very large. However for a single traveller as was my case, it was enough.
The breakfast offers a variety of dishes, among which some local specialties of the country such as waffles (excellent).
The location is good, but I mostly sought the proximity to the office I was visiting.
During my stay I only missed a sauna. After an early run in the city, I would have really appreciated a relaxing session in the (non-present) sauna...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanl293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The name on the door said Sofitel, but the Taxi could not even get to the door. The reception staff were 'quite' pleasant, but certainly need remedial training in Customer Service. Getting the room ready for occupancy seemed a difficult task for them, and the little things that one expects of a Sofitel were lacking. Fotr example, the pillows were great as was the duvet, but the mattress was well and truly overused and sank down on one side. The bathroom sink could not be emptied as a metal undersink release was broken. The room service menu was inadequate, and anytime I just needed a coffee in a lounge indoor or outdoor, I had to go looking for someone to serve me. The only good thing I could say was the breakfast fare was very good and good value too. The last word was, getting a taxi organised and to have my luggage and the taxi sorted, but that was too difficult as well. C'mon Sofitel Brussels Le Loiuse - You're Letting the Team Down!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This Sofitel hotel, like others we have stayed at in Europe, did a wonderful job of making us feel comfortable and welcomed in Brussels. Clean, great in room amenities, good food service, etc and a convenient location to get to other parts of the city either by walking or using the subway just a few steps from the hotel. If we have the opportunity to return to Brussels, we will use this hotel again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Parabola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, Responsable des Services d'Accueil at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate a lot your comment and wonderful feedback regarding to your visit in december at the Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience.

Sincerely

Stéphanie Bronner
Front of the House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in May. The location is OK, in the middle of a posh shopping area and a variety of restaurants within walking distance, but quite a walk to the main tourist attractions. The walk will yield some nice discoveries of shops and eateries, so we didn't mind it.

We really enjoyed the hotel courtyard and the drinks in the evenings. We stayed on the 5th floor with a nice view of the courtyard. Not sure if that's considered a suite level, we had just a regular room, but we had no issues with air conditioning the previous reviewer mentioned.

The staff for the most part was friendly and helpful. The one complaint we have: when we asked to have our bathroom door cleaned because it had sticky spray all over it and to vacuum around the the ceiling tiles in the small room hallway because there was a layer of what must be years of dust, nothing was done about it. Based on the last reviewer's experience, it seems to be a trend with the housekeeping -ignore the guests' complaints...

Too bad, it would be a recommendable hotel if the housekeeping was up to par for a 5-star hotel...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

There are some good and some bad about it, some very very bad things... My wife and child stayed 3 nights in a Junior suite.

The good points: Sofitel Le Louise is very well located, closed to shops and public transport; and for those with a delicate palate, there is a wide range of restaurants and cuisine choices in the area. Re: food at the hotel, the breakfast is very french and light but also tasty (avoid the pancakes!). The location is kind of a nice and probably the poshest shopping area of Brussels. The hotel was recently refurbished with a soft modern but heavy trendy touch making it at "international" standards. Bed is very comfortable. The 'So Bed' is worth a try. The staff tries its best to put a nice face and seems genuine in wanting to help.

The bad: rooms are dusty, and can seem uncleaned at times (stained carpet, toilet paper from previous guest left swimming in the toilet, smelly towels, lipstick on glasses in the mini bar, etc.). To be honest, if you complain, for the small things like towels, lipsticks, etc., they'll try to sort something out. For the issues requiring effort (cleaning, bedding, etc) they'll try more than actually do something about it.

Personal experience:
- we like to have an extra flat sheet on the bed to feel tucked but also in case its get too warm with the duvet. So we always make it a request at booking. On this occasion although we stayed 3 nights we had to remind the reception every single day as housekeeping kept on forgetting. Effectively this means making our own bed everyday. Reminder: this is rated "5* hotel"!!
- We also had to request ( everyday) that they put at least one towel per person. We had only 2 for the 3 of us.
- the bedroom had broken rails hangers so the curtains couldn't be pulled fully, meaning that we were awake at 5 am, on a weekend after late nights out visiting, as we couldn't make use of the blackouts. Although we complained every morning and asked to be put in a different Jr. Suite, nothing was done about it. No one really seemed to care, really. Like it was this hotel' standards..

Without being cliche, even if Belgium is not best known for its customer service, this level of service for guests staying in a Suite of a 5 stars international chain hotel is just unacceptable. Very disappointing, indeed.

For these reasons, it's not a hotel I'd recommend. However, if you can afford to spoil a day or two of your holidays/trip then be adventurous, come and pay for poor service.

Room Tip: Air-conditioning is only available - at night - from in suites level and above, not in standard or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, In charge of E-reputation at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments related to your stay in our hotel.

All the team of Sofitel Brussels Le Louise joins me to apology for the inconveniences caused during your stay.
We are extremely sorry to read that your stay was not up to your expectations concerning the room organization and the search of solutions.

Be sure that we took well note of your comments and that we will take it into account to ameliorate the stay of our customers.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise so that we can prove ourselves a better host to you.

My sincere regards,

Ines Abbassi
In charge of E-reputation at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this delightful hotel. Our room and bathroom were quite posh - spotless and well appointed. The bed and pillows were so very comfortable. We enjoyed the outdoor lounge area as well as the attractive bar/restaurant. The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELBLL, Responsable des Services d'Accueil at Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for sharing your “Magnifique” comments and wonderful feedback regarding to your recent visit at the Sofitel Brussels Le Louise, on the Trip Advisor Forum.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the staff, our Crystal Lounge terrasse and the comfort in the room. Our staffs strive to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel

Looking forward to welcome you back soon for another Sofitel experience

Kind regards,

Stéphanie Bronner
Front of the House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ixelles
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#7 of 199 in Brussels
1,812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 199 in Brussels
4,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#27 of 199 in Brussels
1,596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Brussels Le Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brussels Le Louise

Address: Avenue de la Toison d'Or 40, Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Ixelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ixelles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ixelles
#2 Family Hotel in Ixelles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ixelles
Price Range: £116 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brussels Le Louise 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sofitel Brussels Le Louise a luxury hotel in Brussels prestigious Avenue Louise district nestled amid quiet streets lined with chestnut trees designer boutiques and art deco mansions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Brussels Le Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise Hotel Ixelles
Accor Brussels Le Louise
Brussels Sofitel
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing