We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for lunch but food quality and service is getting worse”

Tom Yam By Walkin Thai
Ranked #32 of 191 Restaurants in Ixelles
Price range: US$12 - US$41
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent value for lunch but food quality and service is getting worse”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have been several times at Tom Yam to have lunch and it is undeniable that the quality of the lunch menu is very good for what you pay. Unfortunately, this last time I have been I got the impression that the quality was not as good as in the past but it could be because I tried something new. What I had was still quite nice very good but I felt something was different. Although I might have been biased by the waitress who did not smile one single time. Overall, good address to have a nice Thai lunch. I will most likely come back again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kongen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    89
    37
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“real thai”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

friendly staff, 'authentic' setting. The appetizer sets the expectation. Menu offers a variety of authentic dishes. Try the curry, it's wonderfull. As a starter, try the saté kai and the fried chicken in banana leaves. The dorade (whole fish) is super. Extra: they have a valet service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thai mon amour!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Thai cuisine fits perfectly with different tastes and nutritional habits. You can get a totally vegetarian meal, or get spicy meat dishes. Tom Yam restaurant makes of vegetables its trademark; either as main dish or accompanying meat or fish, it is fresh, tasty, and perfectly cooked. Booking mandatory for this excellent restaurant where you can spend a nice evening with friends, Astonishingly good value for money, it is located in one of the best area of Brussels for events, pubs, restos etc. Offers a parking for clients (only 2.5 euro for the night) which is certainly a plus for the area. The decoration is minimalist and not kitsch as usual in restaurants of this category. Clients are usually middle age professionals and young yuppies, couples. It is a good restaurant for talking because music is soft and noise modest. From a monitor you can look the maitre preparing your meals, only concession to modern times. Definitively an address to keep in your records.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaurant in Brussels”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very friendly service, average prices for delicious, fresh and authentic thai food.
My favourite dish is Saté and the all of spicy main courses. Also take-away (very quick!!).
Very nice and cosy interior: dimmed lights, perfect for couples but also for friends.
Plus: They have a lovely back garden for the summer where you feel like in a fairytale.

Be sure to call before going, especially during weekends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Tom Yam - Tom forget it!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Tom Yam, over years clearly the best Thai take away has come to a point where one seriously regrets ones food-order. The misery started already that we have to wait 90 minutes to get our food.

We got an average tasing Tom Yam Kai soup, failing every rafinesse. Loempia was mega-oily, which did not help the taste at all. The curry jaune, once a delight boasted dry chicken in an average tasting sauce. But all was topped by the Pad Thai, once their signature dish. The chicken was totally dry, a few micro-shimps where an insult to ones eyes and even the noodles where too dry too eat. After only two bites it went into the bin.

The only good dish was Assortiment de bouchées vapeur, but here it is really difficult to spoil them. Having paid quite a lot for such meal, we have really regretted it to order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ChristosAnesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom Yam By Walkin Thai also viewed

 
Ixelles, Brussels
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to Tom Yam By Walkin Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing