We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straightforward in a nice atmosphere”
Review of Monty Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monty Design Hotel
Reviewed 2 December 2010

This hotel offers what you need: a room, a bed, a good location in a pretty nice atmosphere. The price is good. The room was small, yet clean and I slept well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arendroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

If you have an alternative place to stay in Brussels then do not stay at the Monty. The rooms are tiny, the design furniture uncomfortable, the design carpets stained, the stairs steep (no lift), the breakfast unhealthy (no friut) and comunal and the free wireless internet insufficiently strong to send a single message. Definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

This hotel is in the European Quarter in the sense that if you divide the city into four parts it will be in the same one as the European institutions. If you are expecting to be able to walk to the Parliament in ten minutes, think again. My room was on the third floor and there is no lift. The staff are friendly but few in number. I had breakfast at the one large table in a sea of uncleared crockery and empty juice jugs.

My room was small, with the single bed against a wall and intrusive beams. The free wifi did work, however, with persistence.

That said, I paid a very reasonable price for anywhere in Europe, let alone for Brussels!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The hotel is situated at a big crossroads in the city and boy don't you know it. I had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the street and the windows appeared to be the original Venetian fittings that were there when the hotel was built. Single glazed and loose fitting. So no noise suppression and if you like being woke no by the traffic at all hours its just for you. The rooms are sparsely furnished but very clean. The staff are also very friendly with a genuine caring attitude.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whizzer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Hotel Monty was a nice choice in Brussels although a bit far away from the centre. The service was good and the staff truly willling to help us with any questions we had.
The prices were good but the rooms very small.
Breakfast was served around a big table where all guests gathered. Everything was fresh.
The general atmosphere was relaxed and cosy and everything had a design aura around it.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marimekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

The room was about 2 by 3 metres. It contains a tiny, unusable shelve, available electric outlet, there was no room for a dresser, drawers or shelves on which to put clothes (there was a hanging space). The bathroom was too small to be able to place my wash bag anywhere. The window (peeling paint, single glazing) gives onto one of the busiest boulevards in Brussels, at a cross road with traffic light. As there is no air conditioning, so you need to choose between no air and a lot of noise or air and intolerable traffic noise all night. The room does not have a desk and chair at which you can work.
Breakfast is served at a single large table, at which they have cramped as many places as possible. Do not expect to have room to read at table.
When I asked if there was a larger room, I was answered with a Gallic shrug, when I said that this was rather expensive per square metre, I was told, with another Gallic shrug, that these are normal prices for Brussels. Perhaps, but I have never had so little room, so little comfort or so much noise for the price.
While other hotels usually require a credit card number to hold the room later 5.00 pm, this hotel will cancel the reservation 48 hours before arrival if you have not provided guarantee.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

Such a nice experience, By the time I was there, a photo shoot was taking place for Mss Belgium.read the comments before going to the hotel and decide to book.Really easy access to the hotel,metro stop is wright front of the hotel and many choices of restaurants around.The breaakfast was really inviting and fun with the others around nice way to socialize. It is suprisingly the same with the photos in the website,which with theother hotels are always disappointment,can never see the same value as seen at he website.There are bikes at the hotel for the guests free of charge,which I did not have time but for my next visit I will definately experience it.

Stayed: November 2007
4  Thank FrancescoStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
1.1 mi away
Ramada Brussels Woluwe
Ramada Brussels Woluwe
#2 of 4 in Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
471 reviews
2 mi away
Tangla Hotel Brussels
Tangla Hotel Brussels
#1 of 4 in Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Montgomery
Eurostars Montgomery
#1 of 1 in Woluwe-St-Pierre
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,072 reviews
2.9 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#4 of 6 in Anderlecht
990 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monty Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monty Design Hotel

Address: Boulevard Brand Whitlock 101, Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Brussels 1200, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woluwe-Saint-Lambert
Price Range: £51 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monty Design Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Monty Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monty Design Brussels
Hotel Monty Design
Monty Design Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing