We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position and staff make this a Brussels top choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia Brussels
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Reviewed 18 May 2014

HC Brussels is excellent value for money. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms, though small, are pleasant and spotlessly clean. For €10 you can get an excellent breakfast. There is a small bar. The hotel is conveniently situated being in reasonable distance from both Gare Midi and the old city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Viviennemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation which I passed to my colleagues which were very happy that you had such a pleased stay with us, and it will motivate us to get even better in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel Catalonia Brussels.

Best regards

Beni Pons
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Nice welcome, fair prices and a well presented room but oh so hot! You can see the exterior floodlights on the main picture, one of which lights room 509. The room had AC which produced a lot of noise but little cool air. The heating thermostat cut in at 26 degrees C.

I don't know why they bother with a duvet. With a mattress protector underneath, I was perspiring without anything on top.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Free wifi..but no water heater@kettle inside room.i have to go down and ask the receotionist for the hot water.this is due to mo water heater provided inside the room.the lift vry tiny.overall it is a clean hotel.and nearby tram as well as town..overall its ok

Stayed: March 2014
Thank fardzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff is friendly, the new rooms are clean and well equiped, the breakfast is rich. HC Brussels hotel can just be recommended.

I do not know what to write more to fill up the 200 characters, but I think that's what you need to know.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0nald313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel is good - clean room, clean and well equipped bathroom. There is wifi all over the hotel for free, the staff is nice and helpful, but not very quick.
Double room used as single gave me enough space - I think this room was the best I experienced in a 3 stars hotel in Brussels. The area is nice, not far from the city center.
The price for the room was fair - good balance services-price.
Dinner in this hotel wasn't a good idea - very few items from the menu list were actually available. Breakfast is available for extra money (10 euros/ day) - after the 'dinner experience' I decided to have breakfast in another place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariana_Vacaretu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Even for the fact that the receptionist made me wait almost 1:30 hours because she was busy with a group of Spanish people that arrived with bookings that the hotel had not record, of or the fact that the corridors can be very noisy (mah, I was probably also a reason for some noise so who am I to complain that much), its a average hotel.

Nothing brilliant about it, nothing wow or even "very good":

- Restaurant has a bad menu and the portions / description / what you get in return are very bad (as in, not recommended);
- Parking is non existent around the hotel, its an urban area and after 17:00 you need to be very lucky to get a place anywhere (parking is free from 18:00 till 09:00 next day);
- Parking at the hotel is brutally expensive and the parking lot is laughably hard to access;

But people are friendly (if you speak Spanish you get extra brownie points) and after 6 nights there was not much to complain about and breakfast is decent"ish"...

End verdict is really: "it's just a hotel".

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunopereira81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We only stayed one night here but we would happily stay here again. The staff were very helpful and the room was excellent. The area it was located in was nice and it wasnt too far to walk into the city centre or you could take the tram which passes the hotel.

Only negative is that there is limited parking nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue_haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCBrusselsDireccion, Director General at Hotel Catalonia Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, as this positive opinion help us to continue working towards customer’s satisfaction.
I will congratulate all staff and they will be very satisfied.
We really hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards.
Beni Pons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.8 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,054 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.6 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Brussels Stephanie
NH Brussels Stephanie
#2 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jam Hotel Brussels
Jam Hotel Brussels
#8 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
313 reviews
2.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia Brussels

Address: Avenue du Haut-Pont 2, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly HC Brussels)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#7 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range: £60 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Catalonia Brussels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of the Art Nouveau district in Brussels and just 10 minutes away from the Grand Place, the Catalonia Brussels (formerly HC Brussels) hotel offers their guests exterior, modern and comfortable rooms. All of them have free Wi-Fi connection and more than 20 international TV channels, as well as wide and fully equipped bathrooms for you to enjoy a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Catalonia Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Forum Hotel Saint-Gilles
Catalonia Forum Brussels
Catalonia Forum Hotel Brussels
Hotel Catalonia Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing