We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Brussels Stephanie
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“recommended”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a really nice hotel in a good area of Brussels with fantastic transport links to the surrounding areas. Its accessibility and proximity to key sites including international terminals, embassies and other important places is a major advantage.
The hotel has some fantastic restaurants in the vicinity and great transport links means that you are only a few minutes away from every other part of the city!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SierraAlphaFoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    518
    129
    24
    19
See reviews for
156
415
78
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just returned on Aug 13 from a week's stay at the NH Stephanie. At first glance we were pleased with the room and hotel, but then we started experiencing the down falls. There are plenty to be said about it, so I'll try to be brief:
1) Room: very poorly maintained (the wallpaper coming down the walls, mold in every corner of the room, duck tape seemed to be the only thing holding the room together). It is spacious and had a large bed, and it is cleaned daily incl the bathroom. Towels are changed frequently, but if you manage to find a clean one, hold on to it - you have stains on all towels. We didn't get a bathrobe, nor slippers in the room, probably because we got an offer which got the room at 66e/night. The bathroom walls were dirty - the tiles had actual dark dirt spots on those and stuck soap between the tiles; and the glass wall had again shower spots on those like it hasn't been cleaned from the previous tenants of the room. The curtains I think they were used at some points as carpets cause they were really extremely dirty and torn off, but probably clean ones wouldn't have matched the mold around the windows - if you have an allergy to these things better stay away or you'll be in hospital in 1h. The smell in the room is overwhelming and we had to keep the windows open at all times, even at night. You have free wi-fi but the traffic is really bad, so if you're travelling for business you won't get any work done from the hotel.
2) Breakfast: is ok, but not great. As you might expect cleaning is left aside here too: every day I had to return a plate to the kitchen because it wasn't washed properly and still had some visible food leftovers stuck. Refreshing the emptied buffet was ok and variety of choices one can manage for several days. When it comes to cleaning the tables, be patient and make sure you ask for it (don't wait for it cause you'll lose half of your day).
3) Location: awesome. 5 mins away from the Palace of Justice, 100m from Louise Street. Very close to the hotel there's a pedestrian street with a wide range of restaurants to pick from: Asian, Moroccan, Belgian, Italian. The price is average, and definitely cheaper than what you'd get in the city centre. a deli is just on the street corner where you can have breakfast for 12e if you don't have it included at the hotel. Also a Delhaize 2 mins away, and other pastry shops 5mins away. It isn't placed on the busy street, but not far from it too. Again 2 mins walk there's a public parking (Louise Village for 16e/day) which is cheaper than the one at the hotel.
All in all, for the price we paid it was ok (compared with the other hotels available for our dates and location). But if you expect a 4* hotel, be sure this isn't where you will find it. This isn't be far a 4* hotel and I cannot imagine how it still keeps it's ranking.
It is worth mentioning that we were mentioned (when we left) that the hotel plans to remove those rooms with issues at the end of August. I should have asked for the room to be changed, but you start observing these things one at a time, not really obvious after 48h of not sleeping. The staff told us they would have changed the room if we weren't satisfied, and that they know some rooms have problems - hm, so why are you still checking in people there?! Just take a look at the photos - it isn't only the windows and mold around them, is everything in an awful state (a picture says more than a 1000 words). Anyways, the hotel isn't a 4* and doesn't worth more than (a stretched) 50e/night.

Room Tip: Don't choose 410 and try an upper floor. All rooms I think are facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week holiday in Brussels and had a wonderful stay at the NH Stephanie. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful and the rooms were very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was well stocked and lots of room to sit. The location was great with nice restaurants very close by as well as a deli and grocery store. The walk to the main square was about 20 mins so not far. We love the smaller hotels and would recommend the NH Stephanie. Thanks!

Room Tip: Our room was on the top 6th floor, 601 and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bailey1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location - restaurants galore, shops (mainly high end), big supermarket, overground and underground transport, sights within 10 minutes walking. Whatever language you speak, someone will answer fluently!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Willi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here for bussiness just south of Brussels.
I found that the hotel is not brilliantly reachable by car, and the entrance car park downstairs was just big enough for my Aygo-class car.
The staff is friendly and the rooms are good, although I heard quite some noise in the morning from the street in front of the hotel. Breakfast was okay, but not very elaborate.

At night it is a great place to go into Brussels. Just a few minutes walking there is a subway station, from where you can very quickly travel to the city center.

Room Tip: If there exist rooms which are not facing the street, those are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

In this hotel, we met Petar and Ana, the greatest concierge we've ever had the pleasure of meeting. We're frequent travelers, yet have never written a review until this day. With the amazing service they provided us, we are happy to show our appreciation in whatever way we can.

Never have we met concierge so happy to be at their job. Their happiness was infectious and they would advise and help us on anything that we requested.

As for the rooms themselves, the beds were soft and clean and gave a wonderful night's rest to the both of us. The massive window allowed a great amount of light in during the day (with the curtains blocking everything at the night). The hotel is located very close to the main shopping street Louize, with Louis Vuitton, Chanel, etc. being a minute away maximum. However, the noise is very quiet and is in no way intrusive.

The hotel itself is great, but I have to continue emphasizing how amazing the concierge is. We have travelled to NUMEROUS countries in many continents but we have never seen concierge as amazing as Petar and Ana, and we very likely may not in the future. They made our entire trip to Brussels a memorable one and it is worth going to this hotel just for them.

Room Tip: Ask Petar and Ana!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

After spending some days searching for the best hotel in my price range, I'm very glad to have found NH Stephanie. The price included breakfast and even so was cheaper than the great majority of hotels in Brussels.

Our room was very clean and big enough. The free wifi connection (not very fast) was also a nice surprise. Breakfast was also very nice.

The NH Stephanie is located near restaurants, mini markets and a short walk away for the metro station Louise. Great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diogo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,006 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.3 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.2 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels City Centre
NH Brussels City Centre
#98 of 199 in Brussels
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Brussels Stephanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brussels Stephanie

Property: NH Brussels Stephanie
Address: Rue Jean Stas 32, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium (Formerly NH Stephanie)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#2 Green Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles
#5 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Brussels Stephanie 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Brussels Stephanie is located in the center of Brussels, just around the corner from the internationally renowned shops on Avenue Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Brussels Stephanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Stephanie Hotel Saint-Gilles
Nh Stephanie Hotel Brussels
NH Brussels Stephanie Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing