We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Non-clients hanging out in the lounge, poor service, bad internet, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Non-clients hanging out in the lounge, poor service, bad internet, good breakfast”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I had requested a non-smoking room, and the one I was given stunk awfully. Since I was in an incredible rush for an appointment, I couldn't mention it to the reception, thinking I could make a room change in the evening. When I returned, the staff claimed they had no rights to manage a room change, and only after my insisting that I had health issues and couldn't possibly sleep in the one I was given, did they give me another one.
The internet did not work.-
I felt very uncomfortable with the presence of people who were clearly not customers, in the internet corner next to the reception. It mostly happened in the evening, and they were clearly acquaintances of the receptionist, monopolizing the computers and the coffee machine... All this, despite the security code one needed in order to enter the building at night.

What is more, I contacted them after I left, regarding an iPod I thought I had forgotten there, probably due to the rushed room change, and their reaction lacked effort and empathy, since they only dismissed my concern.

When I filled a contact form with my comments, on their website, I got no reply.

Although the location is fine, the rooms large and the breakfast was very good, I would *not* go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OlgaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    153
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
66
93
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

On paper this hotel seems perfect. All rooms come with a kitchenette and they are pet friendly. Near the metro and a garage attached to the hotel.

All of these things are true. Unfortunately, there is more to the story. While we did park in the garage - it was practically impossible to get out of the garage. There are instructions to "flash your headlights" to get the gate to open - and in order to flash in the appropriate angle to get the gates to open, you couldn't actually make the turn out of the garage (without distroying your vehicle in the process). So we had to rush around to the other direction to get out, and by that point the gate had closed. Maddening. We have a small European car - so it certainly isn't an issue of auto size - basically the construction was just stupid.

Additionally, while we did have a kitchenette, it was crammed into the hallway of our bedroom, so practically unusable (we had a studio apartment, possibly the larger rooms are better). It was equipped with a two burner stove top, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, and sink. Had service for 2 - 4 (although there was no place to actually eat, execpt the bed).

The temperature in the room was ungodly. Not sure why the heat was on full blast (it averaged 55 degrees, certainly not cold) - we didn't have our radiators on in our room, but it was so warm we had to sleep with the window wide open at night. Which wouldn't be a problem but because we were near a few night clubs, it was extremely loud.

Also, our room was next to the elevator shaft, which shook our mirror in our bathroom every time the elevator moved - loud and disconcerting, to say the least.

However, I will give this place props for being in a good location - outside of the city center, but we were next to 2 metro stations (on lines 2 & 6) which were easy connections to the center and other attractions.

If you bring your pets, be aware - there is NO grass near this hotel. We had to walk down the block and cross a busy street for a strip of grass. However, this seems to be true across the board for Brussels - they seem to favor concrete & gravel over grass.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Location: very close to Avenue Louise metro and trams; not far from city centre (15 min. walk) but noisy (road traffic).
Kitchenette area cramped, but functional and handy (with good supermarket round the corner in the neighbouring street plus a good delicatessen some 100 yards farther on in same street). Some nice restaurants in side streets off this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My booking was for the sister hotel Sainte Catherine but was changed on the morning of my arrival due to a 'Technical Fault'. However the management took all possible action to inform me by email and via my mobile. They were also very fair in compensating me for the inconvenience of being further from the city centre. I found the Toison d'Or Hotel to be comfortable and clean with a good size room. The cold breakfast was fine and more than adequate for my needs.

Room Tip: My room was on the main road side and as I didn't need to open the window noise was not a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Whilst the hotel apartment is quite spacious and in a perfect central location, it needs major rennovation, the walls are peeling, the carpeting is so old and some areas have this weird extra carpeting over the original one kind of like patches as if they are hiding tears or something! The sofa bed had a broken piece of metal hanging out of it! There is only one toilet in the apartment (2 bathrooms with showers and sinks but no toilet) so in our situation with 4 adults and 2 kids it was not very convenient. There was no hot water on the first night then it seemed to be working fine after that, the sinks in the bathroom were a bit clogged which really disgusts me. The staff are not friendly at all, the lady behind the check in desk does not even bother to greet you, she raises her head to see who walked in or walked out and that's it! In the 3 nights we stayed, house keeping passed by us on the 4th day as we were getting ready to leave but during our stay our apartment was not serviced, and the housekeeping lady too didn't seem friendly at all, she didn't even smile.
If we ever return to this hotel it will only be for it's location.

Room Tip: We were on the 7 th floor at it wasn't noisy however i'm pretty sure the rooms on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngfamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

A no frills hotel, clean and comfortable and in a great part of town. I liked the layout with the 1 bedroom as we were a couple + 1. The toilet is separate from the bathroom and that makes it a lot easier with 3 people. Super close to the metro with helpful staff and 24 hours coffee & tea i nteh lobby. The hotel umbrellas for use when it was raining added a nice touch. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isheenthisheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Hard to find a modestly priced hotel in the center of Brussels. This is one is just that. Nothing fancy but room was clean and staff were helpful. In the vibrant Louise area. Had a room at the back so was very quiet. I'd go back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djp789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.2 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#7 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
979 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.1 mi away
Vintage Hotel Brussels
Vintage Hotel Brussels
#2 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Stephanie
NH Brussels Stephanie
#3 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,015 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel

Property: Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel
Address: Avenue de la Toison d'Or 61-63, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Toison d'or Brussels is located near the Jardin d'Egmont and the Avenue Louise which is lined with world-class shops. You will love Brussels for its numerous museums (Brueghel Museum as well as the Ancient and Modern Art, just to name 2) and its splendid architecture. This native land of Tintin also boasts of a wide range of gastronomic delights. Located south of the capital, just two steps away from the Justice Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Toison d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Toison D'Or Hotel Brussels, Belgium
Citadines Toison d Or Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing