We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Week Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mid Week Stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We used the hotel as we wanted a hotel close to the station , Receptionists very helpful ,my daughter wanted to go on a tram ride ,they suggested ideas of where to go, only 3 small towels but they supplied extra when asked. The breakfast was a mixture of hot and cold food and was adequate. There is a mini supermarket a few doors down from the hotel. There are alot of people congregating around the station and near the hotel but that seems to be normal in most stations in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards,
Sophie Deravet
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    944
    485
    107
    52
See reviews for
380
521
281
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 August 2014

very good location for other train trips from train station and good connections by tram, metro and bus
not enough towels
good and plentiful breakfast but very crowded during weekend
luggage storage after checkout is not free ! ( is cheaper in train station )


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with fru.pl

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards,
Sophie Deravet
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent a long weekend in Brussels with friends and decided on the Ibis as we had used the Ibis/Novotels before on many occasions.
The Hotel is ideally placed for Midi Station into which the Eurostar runs diectly from London , although it appears to be at the more rundown end of the station concourse ,and situated in a rather intimidating and dirty area of Brussels , with large groups gathering and hanging around the hotel entrance day & night.
The Hotel itself is situated about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Brussels through what appears to be a rather dodgy neighbourhood with graffiti splattered everywhere. And i would advise guests to use the train to Brussells Central Station which is a very reasonable 2 Euro,s each way.
It is Basic & Clean and i must say that the bed was very comfortable and i had the best nights sleep in ages.
We decided that we would book breakfast at the Hotel which was 14 euros for an all you could eat breakfast,( which we thought was quite expensive anyway) which was fine the first morning , but the second morning was a total shambles,with 45 minutes to go before serving was due to finish their was no plates,no spoons,no cups,no cold meat, very little bread ,cheese or cerials & no beans and asking staff about the situation they were very abrupt and rude and took very little action to rectify the situation although they did all manage to find time to go for a ciggy break before the restaraunt was closed. It was that bad that when we left we went out and ate at a local cafe round the corner.
In regards to the bar area this was very well stocked ,clean and comfortable and the drinks were very reasonably priced , the only down side when we were their ,was that their was only one lady serving who seemed to be doing everything, but very slowly, Hence it took ages to get served even when their was very few people waiting.
Which brings us to the receptionist who never even asked if our stay was ok when we left , she gave the impression that she wasn,t interested and couldn,t get us out quick enough.
All in all not very impressed and won,t be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puggy271152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for writing such an extensive review on our hotel. Your comments help us in our efforts to improve our services.
I am sorry to learn that your experience has not been fully satisfactory.
We have taken your comments seriously and measures have been taken to improve quality of services
It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and demonstrate the improvements that have been made thanks to your feedback.
Kind regards,
Sophie Deravet
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We planned a long weekend in Brussels and having stayed in Novotel/Ibis hotels in the past had no hesitation in looking for one of these hotels for this weekend. This Ibis hotel is ideally situated for the arrival station of the Eurostar from London being only 5 minutes walk. The hotel is basic but clean, comfortable and being so close to the station ideal for getting to the centre of Brussels. We booked a breakfast deal which was good value for money on the first morning, there was a good selection of food & beverages available, but a total disaster on the second morning, with complete chaos in the dining room! There was very little food available which was not being replenished, lack of cutlery, crockery and trays some of which took 30 to 40 minutes to obtain! When staff were approached they were un-helpful and quite rude. We left without having a proper breakfast and so then had to pay to eat out. This has put us off staying at this hotel in the future.

Green Features: The hotel seemed to be very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Brussels Centre-Gare du Midi. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Concerning the breakfast, it is true that during the summer holidays we are facing some issue with the amount of group coming in our breakfast room at the same time. Our team try to do her best to keep up with the refill for the buffet, plates, cups, ….
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I have personally spoken to the Breakfast Manager about this issue in order to avoid in the future this type of disagreement.
I totally understand you disappointment and would like ones again to apology.

I appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sophie Deravet
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Disappointing for an ibis. Scary area and no parking. Cheapest parking around is 36 euros a day!! Internet here sucks!! I had to turn on roaming ( for good internet go to the lobby)
Breakfast is expensive for what it is. No eggs left and it's so crowded ( except from 10:30 till 11) seriously??
Our bathtub was broken but that's ok we still had hot water.
Only good thing I found here is the proximity with gare de midi.
I will avoid this hotel next time. For the same price can find other better places and closer to the city center.
First time I criticize Ibis hotels...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Atatouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for writing such an extensive review on our hotel. Your comments help us in our efforts to improve our services.
I am sorry to learn that your experience has not been fully satisfactory.
We have taken your comments seriously and measures have been taken to improve breakfast service.
It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and demonstrate the improvements that have been made thanks to your feedback.
Kind regards,
Sophie Deravet
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Gilles hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Excellent location 2 mins from Train/Eurostar terminal...friendly check in.. large room comfortable bed and good breakfast... this is a basic city hotel for you to sleep in and it covered that easily. We had 3 nights about 20 mins walk to City Centre, area around hotel is not so nice but it is in the City near a train station!! however saying that early evening the cafes along the same side as the Hotel are friendly and sell good beer and coffee...there was also a fast food café that was fun and very cheap!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin M, Manager at Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Sophie Deravet
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
0.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,006 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
679 reviews
1.1 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi

Property: Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Address: Rue d'Angleterre 2/20 | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi hotel is located just a few steps from the south entry to the railway station, from which international trains such as the Thalys and Eurostar depart. The famous Grand Place and Notre Dame Du Sablon church are 2 km from the hotel. Book one of our 225 spacious air conditioned rooms and benefit from our amenities, a restaurant, a bar with snacks available 24hrs, pay parking and a meeting room for conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi Hotel Saint-Gilles
Accor Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing