We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, home from home”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Gilles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Belgo Argentina
Ranked #7 of 9 Saint-Gilles B&B and Inns
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, home from home”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Starting from the contacts via e-mail, I noticed that they were serious people: they promptly replied, gave me plentyful of indications on how to reach their B&B and other tips that i asked for.
We arrived late, but nonetheless, Esther was there waiting for us and gave us all the information we needed.
Our room was at the first floor, past the kitchen and sitting area floor (very beautiful with a great window on the garden).
Our room was very clean, large and luminous with a TV. It had that exotic touch, with nice furnising items. I stayed with my mother, so it didn't bother us, but if you are a couple the glass door might not be good for privacy (although you cannot obviously see through and the room is located at the end of the hall, so nobody will go there except you). We also had a very large and clean bathroom just for ourselves, just outside the room.
Esther asked us what time we wanted breakfast and the next morning everything was ready with hot coffee, milk, loaves of bread, couque au beurre (croissants) and a plentiful choice of jams and some savoury food.
We ate and talked with Esther and René, her husband, they're a lovely couple. They gave us a guide to the city and explained in detail how to get to places we wanted to go.
Their B&B is near the Horta metro station so it is very easy to go downtown Brussels and elsewhere. At least you get a glimpse of the non-touristic Brussels and you are near the Horta house museum.
All in all, very good and excellent quality/price rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Nice B&B, can't park by the B&B, have to park about a mile away in a bad part of town. Had two windows broken and everything in the rental car stolen.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckwheat Valley, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Great value for B-n-B. Don't be put off by arrival at Veterinarian Office - we were a bit confused but Rene has his office on street level and B-n-B rooms above. Clean, comfortable, large room at back - quiet. Spacious bathroom. Nice breakfast. Esther and Rene helpful with directions, etc.Easy walking from here to catch bus, etc. Stairs are tight - we had too much luggage (our fault) but Rene helped. Had to leave very early to catch train, they called for taxi and had coffee for us at early hour. Very accommodating !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrystalF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed in this bed and breakfast with two friends, right after our first hostel experience in Bruges. While it was a little difficult to find – it's easily hidden on a commercial street, in the same building as the proprietor's veterinary clinic – it was very close to a metro station. (A five minute stroll, at the most.)

The room we got was large and comfortable, and Esther has taken every care to anticipate the needs of travelers. There are multiple electrical outlets, towels to use, and brochures detailing attractions in Brussels. Everything was very clean, and we slept well.

The breakfast was delicious, with breads, spreads, cheese, yoghurt and drinks. Though we overslept our first morning (two hours later than we had said we would be eating breakfast), it was no problem, as Esther was understanding and kind. At roughly the SAME price per night as the hostel we had just stayed at, this bed and breakfast was an amazing deal!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartone555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The photographs look nice but the B & B itself is nothing special,breakfast is basic, noisy, unsafe area, I personally saw some lady being robbed while she fought back to keep her handbag. I was on my own so I was told to sleep only on one side of the bed because I had paid for one person only ...figure that out ! , poor pillow and mattress quality.

I would pay 5 euros more and get a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzyzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My friend booked this B&B after reading the review here. She has been constantly emailing the host regarding our booking and the correspondence has been great. Since she booked this place, months earlier prior to our arrival and no deposits we required, we were asked to email our confirmation on every 30th of 2 months before our arrival month. We were there during spring season in early May 2009.

To find the B&B from the train station wasn’t hard. We have been provided with a very good direction by Eshter and Rene. Our only problem was, walking up hill of about 1km from the station. Imagine, after a really long flight+a train ride or after the whole day sightseeing, having to walk up hill to Casa Belgo Argentina, I think I’ve build a muscle when we stayed there for 2 nights. We were greeted by Rene himself. Seems to be a decent man, didn’t talk much, only the necessary. Climbing the steep stairs was another challenge. Those with huge luggage will have a problem. We have only back pack with us. The interior is nicely done. Antique feels to the property. The breakfast room was on the 1st floor and our room was on the top floor. That is the 3rd floor. It is facing the front of the building. The top floor gets extra sunlight penetrating through the transparent roof by the stairs. The room itself was pretty decent, clever arrangement to save space. Amenities are tv, wardrobe, kettle, microwave, can opener and a small dining area fit for 2. The shower room is small but fine for 2 petite Asian girls like us. Hot water running all the time, so, no problem there.

We requested for an early breakfast because we like to start our day early and Esther & Rene have no problem with that. The breakfast was normal cold breakfast. Bread, butter, jam, cheese and yogurt. Hot drink and orange juice.

Kitty the cat was around. Very human friendly. I guess she’s use to being around strangers all the time. Surrounding the B&B are few shops. Didn’t have any problem to find anything to eat unless you are expecting a fine dining restaurant. Most of the time we eat before we come “home” but we did try an Arabic fast food for take away. It was ok. My friend on the other hand, hate it. Taste is subjective, so that will depend on individual.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Akit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2009

the room was nice, clean, lots of space, large bathroom. the owners seemed nice, but they really didn't talk to us other than showing us the room and keys. breakfast was just bread and yogurt. There was no internet available, which is kind of important to my husband and i.
the neighborhood wasn't that great. if i went back to brussels, i'd stay somewhere else most likely. this place wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything special.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaceyATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.6 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jam Hotel Brussels
Jam Hotel Brussels
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Brussels
Hotel Catalonia Brussels
#10 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manos Premier Hotel
Manos Premier Hotel
#13 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Un Jardin En Ville
Un Jardin En Ville
#7 of 209 in Brussels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison AZ
Maison AZ
#4 of 9 in Saint-Gilles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Belgo Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Belgo Argentina

Property: Casa Belgo Argentina
Address: Chaussee d'Alsemberg 32, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Casa Belgo Argentina Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing