We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay felt like we were with family!”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    27
    37
    22
    32
See reviews for
17
36
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently travelled to Brussels for the Scotland match and had to book in here after accommodation with friends fell through. Given the game was on, choices were limited and I have to admit to some trepidation about this hotel given the reviews on here.

I am happy to say however that we had a problem free stay and although the hotel was by no means luxurious, it did everything we needed it to do.

The location is not great if you want the Grand Place as it’s a 15 minute walk away. It is however just across the road from Gare Midi where you get the Eurostar, and given we had 8 am reservations for our trip home this was a real boon. The neighbourhood is perhaps a bit seedy but we had no problems at all and there is an excellent kebab shop just around the corner.

The reception was always manned and we had no concerns over security. The chap who booked us in took a while as he leafed through a large sheaf of papers to find ours. The keys are the old fashioned kind which isn’t always great when you are in a large group and need one each, but they were happy to take the key and let us in as we appeared at night so it was not an issue.

The room was had was 201 which was one of their ‘suites’. It was quite basic, although it was clean and secure. Some of the carpets and décor in the common areas are a bit tired but the room was fine. It slept 5 in two double and a single and was large enough that we didn’t all keep bumping into each other. It had a large flat scene TV with BBC1 the only English option.

The bathroom was large and clean and the shower worked well. They were also happy to give us extra towels so all 5 of us could have a clean one.

The breakfast, which was included, was pretty good. It was buffet style with lots of meats and cheeses. There weren’t any bananas but there was orange juice and Nutella. The pain au chocolate was a bit stale but overall the breakfast was a pass.

We all agreed the Hotel Continental was a good choice and at less than 30 Euro a head a night it was fair value. I would have liked the safe to be free, which is standard in most places, but they do have free Wi-Fi and a night porter who believed my story of the Coke machine stealing my Euro!

Room Tip: 201 was front facing and slept 5. Noise from trains and road no issue as well double glazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Button71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I really don't understand the negative reviews on this hotel because for us it was FINE. It is well situated near Gare de Midi station and metro, close to restaurants, near the main flea-market, friendly and helpful reception (the fan in the room did not work and we were given a free drink for our inconvenience whilst it was replaced within 10 minutes, breakfast was adequate, room was clean - only down side was it was bit noisy due to other guests one night. I would stay here again, well worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and have done a bit of traveling and have enjoyed a number of no frills and basic hotels in order to make our trips last longer due to their costs. When we were stuck in Brussels without a place to stay we used Priceline and got a great deal... So it seemed.

We stayed only one night and literally ran away from the hotel when we left.

Some wonderful details:
- Our comforter had cigarette burns in it
- A local called it a "prostitute hotel"
- The deadbolt had been drilled out and did not work (we barricaded the door with our luggage and a chair as we slept)
- The lift had no inside door so you are exposed to the shaft while it moves- and it was tiny
- The railing on the stairs were not properly connected and moved as you held it
- We felt so unsafe leaving our laptop and camera we carried them around all day
- They served me milk for cereal out of a dirty/brown coffee pot
- A staff member was cleaning rooms barefoot
- The area itself was super seedy - we changed sides of the streets multiple times to avoid people standing around being creepy
- This place should be shut down

Just don't stay here.

Room Tip: To choose a good room stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Gilles hotels

Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We chose this hotel based on proximity to the station and as soon as we walked in we regretted it.
We were checking in and another guest came downstairs half dressed and wet, although he was yelling in French we understood enough that he had no hot water!
Construction work outside, construction work inside (or at least lots of areas blocked and under dust covers). Nasty lift that barely fit one person, stairs so steep and narrow that we didn't want to use them but they felt safer than the lift!
The room was the smallest we had ever seen and bathroom door lock was broken. And yes, no hot water!!! Not acceptable at all!
Someone else's hair already in the bed so obviously the sheets were not changed between guests.
Very seedy area where we did not feel safe at all, even saw a man using the street as a toilet.
The door to the balcony (don't know what else to call it although it was too small to stand on) was broken and did not sit against the frame, so all the construction noise, street noise, sirens etc could be clearly heard all night.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellamariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
#11 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
1.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Euro Capital
Euro Capital
#16 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#19 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Place de la Constitution 18, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Brussels
Hotel Continental Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing