We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A last minute booking but what an experience. This hotel is only for the experienced traveler who understands just how wild these places can be. Room was not good, dirty and old blankets on the bed. Woken at 1am by wild screaming and fighting. Area is very rough, lots of homeless, railway and street noise with no double glazing. Get the metro for 3.7 euro and stay in central Brussels, for the same money.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the ground floor, but if you do go up watch the lift it has no inner door.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

The hotel location in Brussels is excellent near everything, particularly good for the budget traveller who is travelling by train.
It is very basic and does not pretend to be better , so the rates are accordingly modest for Brussels.
It was clean and the staff were ok.Yes it's a bit old but we found it adequate and just average.
You get what you pay for in this case.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiblu-90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Very friendly people. Very close to Brussels-Midi station and walking distance to city centre. Rooms very basic, little bit noisy, bit old. Good coffee at breakfast. And if you book directly with the hotel, really good price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnsWageningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank RJRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank 814Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently travelled to Brussels for the Scotland match and had to book in here after accommodation with friends fell through. Given the game was on, choices were limited and I have to admit to some trepidation about this hotel given the reviews on here.

I am happy to say however that we had a problem free stay and although the hotel was by no means luxurious, it did everything we needed it to do.

The location is not great if you want the Grand Place as it’s a 15 minute walk away. It is however just across the road from Gare Midi where you get the Eurostar, and given we had 8 am reservations for our trip home this was a real boon. The neighbourhood is perhaps a bit seedy but we had no problems at all and there is an excellent kebab shop just around the corner.

The reception was always manned and we had no concerns over security. The chap who booked us in took a while as he leafed through a large sheaf of papers to find ours. The keys are the old fashioned kind which isn’t always great when you are in a large group and need one each, but they were happy to take the key and let us in as we appeared at night so it was not an issue.

The room was had was 201 which was one of their ‘suites’. It was quite basic, although it was clean and secure. Some of the carpets and décor in the common areas are a bit tired but the room was fine. It slept 5 in two double and a single and was large enough that we didn’t all keep bumping into each other. It had a large flat scene TV with BBC1 the only English option.

The bathroom was large and clean and the shower worked well. They were also happy to give us extra towels so all 5 of us could have a clean one.

The breakfast, which was included, was pretty good. It was buffet style with lots of meats and cheeses. There weren’t any bananas but there was orange juice and Nutella. The pain au chocolate was a bit stale but overall the breakfast was a pass.

We all agreed the Hotel Continental was a good choice and at less than 30 Euro a head a night it was fair value. I would have liked the safe to be free, which is standard in most places, but they do have free Wi-Fi and a night porter who believed my story of the Coke machine stealing my Euro!

Room Tip: 201 was front facing and slept 5. Noise from trains and road no issue as well double glazed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Button71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank abdelghani b
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Euro Capital
Euro Capital
#16 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
0.2 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Place de la Constitution 18, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Price Range: £52 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Brussels
Hotel Continental Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing