We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel de France”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    37
    30
    32
See reviews for
16
30
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I really wonder why booking.com includes this hotel in their search results. It was the most disgusting experience of my life. Really filthy hotel, very old and dirty. The rooms had damages that were never repaired/rennovated (broken doors, holes etc). When we got in the room, bed linen was touching the disgusting carpet (has not been cleaned/changed since ages!).
The whole neighboorhoud was very dangerous-underground. We checked out 2 hours after checking in. Never slept there. They did not return us the money we had paid in advance, but I do not regret leaving that horrible place.
While checking out, there was a prostitute checking in with a client!!
Later on some Belgian people informed us that this area is very close to Brussels "red light district" and not at all recommended.
Not cheap at all for what it offers.
I really really do not recommend this place.
The only advantages: Internet connection was good and location close to the center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Title says it all really. Stayed there for 2 nights and by the end of it I had welts all over me. Staff seemed not particularly fussed, although the receptionist upon check out let me off payment for the 5 euro breakfast charge!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonRunner186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Gilles hotels

Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Close to the train station Gare du Midi and to the Grand Place, easy to find the location, clean room, the girls that they are cleaning are friendly, hot water to have a shower, the heater was on all day long.
The location a little bit scaring allmost at night, too small bathroom, the wifi didnt work at all, indifferent reception stuff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggeliki89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed because Euro was canceled. I was disappointed there was no coffee or tea facilities in the room. No restaurants attached or that I liked near by. Breakfast was good. Room was clean

I had difficulty opening the door some time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeannine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Staff helpful, and everyone speaks english.
Internet works perfectly (I was on the second floor).
The location is not very good. It's close to the Gare de Midi station, but all of the atractions are so far (30 minutes walking), 10 minutes by tube.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kessia_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We payed €25 each per night for essentially a bed and a toilet in a room just big enough to fit both. But it was clean, the sheets were fresh, the bathroom was modern. Staff were friendly but quiet and untalkative. In winter the radiator works brilliantly, almost too well. But the only window was the bathroom which opens to a central shaft which absolutely stank so we kept that shut. TV on the wall. Free wifi. Good budget hotel really.
But located in the Arab quarter so to get to anything worth visiting you have to walk for 15 mins through a fairly squalid area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderSupertramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#20 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.4 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Anderlecht
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
940 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Boulevard Jamar 21-23 | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing