We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Klausen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dangerous”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Car got broken into, glass was shattered, lots of shady people. Bad part of town. Room was tiny, elevator was big enough for one person. Water takes 10 minutes to heat up. No parking. I definitely wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    23
    36
    30
    32
See reviews for
16
30
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is good for 1 night stay if you need to accommodate there to change the trains or plane-train.
Not really good, the patience is required.
Very strange district, 10-15 mins away form the Grand Place, and 7-10 mis from Manneken Pis.
The breakfast was included into our rate and good too. Free Wi-fi was a nice compliment.
The only adventage is location (close to rail way station)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

chosen because of its proximity - walking distance - from the train station . . .
hotel is a dump, starting with the exterior . . .
lobby almost is presentable, but not quite . . .

the rooms likewise are dingy, at best . .. see photos . . . our room is "decorated" in 3 colors: lavender, purple, and some textured orange color . . .
the bed duvets are stained with-what-we-dare-not-imagine . . .

our room, ostensibly clean, but grimy
decorated in


the bathroom smells musty, but mrs says the bathmat IS clean . . .

the window opens up only to an air-shaft . . . which we opened anyway, since the room was stuffy with heat, and infused with a diesel / kerosene / butane smell my daughter said *could be* heating oil . ..

hallways reminded of us the Milan atrocity, from their gritty griminess . . .

OTOH, on the plus side . . .
some one is smoking tonite, even tho its a non-smoking hotel, according to the literature (tho' we did find an ash tray in our room on our "desk table") and that is masking the petroleum odor . . .8^/ . . .
the tv works fine and has several english channels, one showing british game shows and another, american tv from the 80s. . . .
no rats, bugs, or vermin in evidence .

astounded at the high rankings for this hotel found on booking.com . . . empirically, I find them to be misleading at best . . .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Gilles hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I really wonder why booking.com includes this hotel in their search results. It was the most disgusting experience of my life. Really filthy hotel, very old and dirty. The rooms had damages that were never repaired/rennovated (broken doors, holes etc). When we got in the room, bed linen was touching the disgusting carpet (has not been cleaned/changed since ages!).
The whole neighboorhoud was very dangerous-underground. We checked out 2 hours after checking in. Never slept there. They did not return us the money we had paid in advance, but I do not regret leaving that horrible place.
While checking out, there was a prostitute checking in with a client!!
Later on some Belgian people informed us that this area is very close to Brussels "red light district" and not at all recommended.
Not cheap at all for what it offers.
I really really do not recommend this place.
The only advantages: Internet connection was good and location close to the center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Title says it all really. Stayed there for 2 nights and by the end of it I had welts all over me. Staff seemed not particularly fussed, although the receptionist upon check out let me off payment for the 5 euro breakfast charge!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonRunner186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Close to the train station Gare du Midi and to the Grand Place, easy to find the location, clean room, the girls that they are cleaning are friendly, hot water to have a shower, the heater was on all day long.
The location a little bit scaring allmost at night, too small bathroom, the wifi didnt work at all, indifferent reception stuff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggeliki89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.0 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#19 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
56 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Phenix
Hotel Phenix
#158 of 199 in Brussels
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nekotel Concept Art Hotel
Nekotel Concept Art Hotel
#161 of 199 in Brussels
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Euro Capital
Euro Capital
#16 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.4 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Anderlecht
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Boulevard Jamar 21-23 | Sint-Gillis, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing