We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal retreat (sort of)”
Review of L'Art de la Fugue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Art de la Fugue
Ranked #3 of 9 Saint-Gilles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Royal retreat (sort of)”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Very close to the Brussels midi station, very helpful warm owner. We stayed at farinelli room which is royal and clean and very spacious. It has a bathtub too. The breakfast was meager with just fruit, juice, cafe. There is a kitchen ( we were allowed to use the kettle to heat water).
Not really close to city centre but metro station is walking distance to get into city centre in 15 mins.

Room Tip: Farinelli room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    25
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
3
63
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place was very convenient to the train station, on a quiet road. The innkeeper was very friendly, if a bit quiet. The placed is decorated from his travel collections from around the world- very nicely. A few issues were that there were no curtains on our room with floor to ceiling windows. The breakfast was also a little lacking as we were only offered bread (untoasted) and yogurt.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani24-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I will recommend this lovely place with very good location near the Midi Station. You can rent a bike in front of the station and explore the whole Brussel center and suburb.
This boutique property offers very nive rooms with personal touch. Frederic - owner of the hotel, prepare every morning continental breakfast. Each room has an original style. Can recommend to solo travellers but also for couples or business people looking for an independant hotel.
Definitely comig back.

Room Tip: An arabic style room (duplex) on highest floor with nice terrase
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was looking for a place near Midi station and I came across this B&B.
What a treat! Instead of the usual soulless hotel I was used to when travelling to Bruxelles for business, this place is home to a real art collection put together by the owners, has huge rooms each with its distinct style (I had probably the most classical one, named after the singer Farinelli), and a very nice outdoor patio... of course getting to use it is a matter of luck against Bruxelles weather.

Almost obvious for a place so well cared for, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the continental breakfast totally satisfying. The place is very quiet, the only disturbance could come from guests walking the old wooden floors with too much enthusiasm.

The location, as any place very near to a big train station, can sometimes look a bit sketchy, but I never felt unsafe. Placed at equal distance (4-5 minutes on foot) from Midi station and Porte de Hal metro/tram station, it can be easily reached by regional train from BRU, by bus from CRL, and by high-speed train from CDG and AMS. If you fell like emulating the owners, Place du Jeu de Balle with its flea market and Rue Haute/Rue Blaes with their antiques and design shops are within walking distance too.

While many 5-star hotels shamelessly make you pay additional fees for a sputtering internet connection, here the wifi is included and works like a charm.

A final praise for the owner, welcoming, discreet and helpful.

Room Tip: On the top floor, guess what, you won't have other guests walking over your head :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilbert1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

This is an absolute art house. I found an unused baby grand in the library. There is sufficient heater in the winter and simple amenities like soap and 2-in-1 shampoo.

The decor is absolutely distracting. Their best room must be the one in the attic, where I stayed. Loads of artsy stuff and books. You could spend the whole day here! (But miss out on great Brussels sights-awww...)

Breakfast isn't much. Nothing warm besides the tea. Would prefer warm bread though. ....

Streets may be a little shady late into the night but we survived. The location beats anything, straight out of the train station!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewyjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rwanda
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Oldish building, charming deco, spacious rooms, very healthy breakfast, good location near Gare de Midi and a short walk from St Gilles' cafes and bistros. And, bonus, a well stocked library for a relaxed evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerXY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I had a bedroom on the top floor, with a giant art deco bed and beautiful decor. The space was quite big and stylish, fifties and sixties mostly. The rest of the building has plenty of paintings, statues, books and all types of different pieces, all interesting by themselves. The owner is quite nice and helpful, the breakfast also good, it was a great experience, completely different from staying in a Hotel. The less positive points were the wi-fi power in top floor and the squeaking old wood floor. Fortunately I was on top...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elísio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Brussels Midi
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.3 mi away
Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euro Capital
Euro Capital
#16 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
#35 of 198 in Brussels
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Art de la Fugue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Art de la Fugue

Property: L'Art de la Fugue
Address: Rue de Suede 38, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Gilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your L'Art de la Fugue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Art De La Fugue Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing