We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience of Czech service”
Review of Hotel Selsky Dvur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Selsky Dvur
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vyskov
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best experience of Czech service”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

A weekend trip away with friends to Prague. Biggest problem with the hotel is it was so good we didn't want to leave.!
Price and quality were both exceptional and more than made up for being a 40 minute journey by public transport to Prague centre. But the buses and tube were so frequent and well connected it was never a problem. If you wanted a day off public transport, the park immediately behind the hotel was a delight to explore. Staff were always polite and helpful, and the quality of the food at breakfast and in the restaurant was outstanding. Try the lard with pork crackling. Well worth a day off your diet and risking clogging your arteries!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank skolfslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
9
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just come back from this hotel and it seems that its gone very down hill since last year!
This time we had a room upstairs which they all have windows in the roof. The upstairs rooms are small and what with the slope of the roof make the room even smaller. The rooms are very hot and no air conditioning and if you open the windows there's a chance of getting bites (which we had) as its next to the Zoo, also now there seems to be dog kennels across the car park, so you can here dogs barking and howling all night. They have also got birds in a cage down stairs which make a noise through the night that sounds like a squeaky wheel barrow passing the room at all hours. If it rains the roof window has to be shut or the rain will pour in and soak everything (which we found and had to have a new mattress and bedding before going to bed). When raining it sounds as if someone is throwing marbles on the roof so no sleep there!
Our mattresses this time were very thin, shower in bathroom wouldn't stay upright which we told reception but nothing done. The restaurant area is still the same, but we found the food was of poor quality and expensive compared to the well presented restaurants five minutes away in the square. Drinks at the hotel are expensive in Czech terms and its worth drinking around the square as the drinks and service are cheaper and better.
Breakfast is a farce! You feel as if your stealing food as there is a member of staff watching your everymove.
As we were there for the Moto GP, we needed to be away from the hotel early so we arranged with reception for us to make a few rolls to eat on the way to the racing as we had no time to sit and eat breakfast there, the breakfast women (who was more like a prison gaurd) stopped this and eventually we skipped breakfast and bought food from a garage on the way to the track.
It is advertised as in Brno, please note this is not the case, its around 25 miles from Brno and around another 5 miles to the race track.
Also if you have a look about you will find cheaper hotels, this is not worth its 3 stars, its more an expensive hostel!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontypaulwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here. We were spending 3 nights there for a friends wedding; the guests took all the rooms so we did over-run the place. The food was excellent - plenty of it, very fresh & a prompt service. We had use of the 10 pin bowling alley which was a great way to spend an hour for some friendly English/Czech rivalry! We stayed in the new extended part of the hotel. The rooms were good in size, very clean & modern & the beds were really comfortable. Shower cubicles were a good size & plenty of hot water. Only bad comment would be that there is no air conditioning (at 30 degrees it really would have been good to have some!) & there was no mini bar. We didn't use the spa facilities, but the area was very clean and ready for use.
We had access also to the zoo which was very popular (not sure if the Hotel has any ownership of this); however if you are an animal lover it was a little depressing in places. Some of the animals were very stressed pacing up & down the same path and their living quarters have seen better days.
Overall a great stay with friends to celebrate a typical Czech wedding which was great to be a part of.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look over the zoo area & at the back on to the kids playground - both were ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairepeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed here 1 year ago for one night when I went to Olomouc. There was only COLD water in bathroom ( heater was out of order) so I had to change my room. Next day I went away at 7 a.m. and breakfast was not ready. Good place for families and if you can wake up at 9:)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolína P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Tucked away behind Vyskov. You will find the towns best kept secret. An authentic restaurant awaits you, with friendly staff dressed in traditional costumes. The food and service is perfect. The Manager is very helpful and knows a lot about his wines. The hotel rooms are very good and good price too. Brilliant bowling alley downstairs, and zoo right next door. This is not to be missed. We will be back. Thanks ,michal.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunray7580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We went to vyskov zoo and dinoland with our 6yr old boy. We enjoyed the experience very much. Our son raced around the dinoland recognizing the Dino's and enjoying the little forest area.
We (the grownups) had a cup of coffee which turned out to be of good Italian quality. Not what we would expect anyway. Back at the vyskov zoo, our son was perfectly happy feeding the goats and lamas with the little wheat balls we bought at the reception. (10 Czech koruna per bag )
We decided to eat at selsky dvur just beside the zoo.
And boy did we get a pleasant surprise. We had pizzas with thin crust and good quality topping. No cheap solutions. One of us had a fresh 200gr trout (and I mean fresh from the fish tank), grilled vegetables and oven baked potatoes. The grilled vegetables had bite and looked and tasted fresh, they were perfect. The potatoes disappeared at a rapid pace from my dish, our son couldn't stop himself.
They were so good, crisp and tasty.
To accompany the fish I had a glas of Moldavian riesling white wine, it was crispy and perfect with the fish. It is called vino Jhruska. Ask for it if you go there.
For dessert we had orange cheesecake, again home made. We also had a local grandma dessert, a dumpling with some sort of ricotta cheese and blueberries. It was RICH and we could only eat 2/3. But it was refreshingly different and again a pleasant surprise.
Overall we felt that the food (not the pizzas) actually told you something about the local area. Fresh produce, fresh fish, great wine and cheese. Nothing fancy, just really really good.
We had eaten at pasta fresca in Prague the night before, it was overpriced and bordering on being a tourist trap. They told us that we would have a table in 25minutes, which proved to be not quite true. When we found out, our son was too tired for us to leave without food, so we ended up sitting in a drafty hallway, people smoking around us to the extent that we couldnt breathe and feeling chilly because of the draft. Not good enough.
The food was detailed but it seemed like they don't pay attention to the quality of for example tomatoes as much as you should expect. A bruschetta with tasteless tomatoes is a bland and expensive experience. Ditto the pasta with sliced meat and again tasteless tomatoes and some leaves of basil. Never again.
Selsky Dvur on the other hand; wonderful food, relaxed atmosphere with booths and personal, intelligent service. What a treat.
If we are going again to the dinoland/zoo-experience, we would book a night at selsky dvur, do the zoo/Dino thing and invite the kids for bowling in the basement. Then the grownups can both have a glas of wine and just go upstairs to sleep.
actually we were talking about just putting 3 stars. Just so other people wouldn't get disappointed. Thank you for our best dining experience in Czech rep this time. Kind regards from Denmark.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Line M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Fantastic hotel that's very clean, friendly, and fantastic price, breakfast fab, staff fab, manager very friendly and likes to sit and have a chat and find out what you need.

Room Tip: Rooms are all very similar and clean tidy up to date with great bedding and great bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontypaulwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vyskov
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atrium
Hotel Atrium
#1 of 5 in Vyskov
22 reviews
3.5 mi away
Penzion Pohoda
Penzion Pohoda
#1 of 2 in Lulec
1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penzion Sirius
Penzion Sirius
#2 of 5 in Vyskov
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
U Zlate Rybky
U Zlate Rybky
#4 of 5 in Vyskov
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penzion Chalupa U Mestske Brany
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selsky Dvur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selsky Dvur

Property: Hotel Selsky Dvur
Address: Cukrovarska 480/7, Vyskov 682 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Vyskov
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vyskov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Selsky Dvur 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Selsky Dvur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing