We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and poor quality food”
Review of Hambro Arms

Hambro Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and poor quality food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our family of four met up with friends at this pub for lunch on a quiet week day over Easter - the first time we had been there. The children all ordered a basic pasta dish with a cheese sauce which they were happy with and the men ordered egg and chips / club sandwich - pretty basic fare really, not cheap but fine. The two ladies struggled to find anything a bit lighter on the menu so ended up ordering a starter each with a bowl of chips to share (crab cakes / saffron and leek tart). Both meals arrived virtually cold. My tart was something to behold, and so bad I am compelled to write this review (having never before written a review on Trip Advisor). It was a sweet pastry base (which I am sure came out of a packet) filled with a yellow runny sauce mixed with bits of leek. More of the yellow goo was dolloped on top - maybe so you couldn't see what was underneath. Isn't a tart supposed to be at least a little bit set? It tasted like it looked - like a sauce that had come out of a bottle, mixed with a few cooked leeks. It was truly awful. I The manager did take it off our bill, but I am amazed that a pub can serve food of that quality, especially at these prices, and think they will get away with it. If this pub wasn't located in a pretty tourist village I am sure it would not survive! Having said all that, if you just want egg and chips and are prepared to pay over the nose for it - this is your place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    20
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will avoid next time”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Visited early one lunchtime with 3 other couples when very few tables were occupied. Couples ordered individually and food arrived for 3 of the 4 couples within 10 minutes. Reasonable food but small portions for the price. However food for one couple failed to arrive - despite constant re-assurances from staff that it was coming. After 45 minutes the staff tried to blame those on the table for taking it (however each couples order had a numbered spoon), or it must have been given to someone else. They very reluctantly refunded the cost without any real apology.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank billinswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quirky room, shame about the food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had the standard room, which is quirky and comfortable, not for large people though! However, everything went wrong at dinner. We ordered steaks and were told we might have a bit of wait. We said we didn't mind, we weren't in a burry. However, 40mn later we were still waiting. When we chased up our order, the waiter to!d us it was just being cooked; they weren't even full! It was almost an hour before we had our food. It was a great disappointment, for £17 a steak, I was expecting something special. The so called hand cut chips were obviously straight from the freezer and pretty anemic with some small chopped mushroom and 4 small grilled tomatoes. I had to send it back as it was pretty rare and I had asked for medium; I couldn't face eating almost raw meat. To be fair, the supervisor was very good about it, and brought back a new steak with better cooked chips and steak. Unfortunately, it wasn't very tender. The breakfast was fine although they serve late, not before 8:30 at weekends and we had planned a long walk and had a long drive home at the end, so were keen to start earlier. We did get 10% off our bill, but that's not enough to make us want to stay there again. It is vastly overpriced for average food; shame as it's a great location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika55_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional pub, modern touches”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of the pub is fairly out-of-the-way. The village of Milton Abbas doesn't look like it receives that many visitors. However, for those lucky few who venture there, they are in for a treat. Surrounded by hills, next to a scenic lake, a grand old boarding school and lovely countryside, the village itself is a collection of mostly thatched cottages built in the 1700s. Their beauty, uniformity and placement along the main street would belong in a medieval fantasy movie.

The pub follows the exterior design theme. However, the interior is newly refurbished, matching old features with modern decor. The half of the ground floor with the bar looked as expected, old wooden beams, white plaster, etc.

Service was prompt, friendly and efficient. We went in a large group of 9, and they hastily rearranges tables in the dining room.

Food was traditional English with modern touches, using the finest local ingredients. There is a limited selection of 2 local ales, more than enough for us to try on our two visits.

The restaurant fits somewhere between smart casual and formal dining. We had several young children and they were well catered for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wombatcafeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great pub in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We've been to the Hambro a few times now as we are lucky enough to live nearby. The staff are truly fantastic and do everything in their power to make your visit the best it can be. The pub classics are very good, and the more adventurous offerings can vary from interesting to outstanding! But this is still the pub I take my parents to when they come to visit and the outlook from the front is the definition of chocolate box.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmsgld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hambro Arms also viewed

Blandford Forum, Dorset
Milborne Saint Andrew, Dorset
 
Winterborne Kingston, Dorset
Blandford Forum, Dorset
 
Puddletown, Dorchester
Winterborne Stickland, Dorset
 

Been to Hambro Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing