We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
The Engine Room sitting room which looks over the private courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Engine Room sitting room which looks over the private courtyard garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The Engine Room sitting room which looks over the private courtyard garden
The Engine Room - view from the church opposite
Part of the welcome pack which is included in The Engine Room
The exterior of The Engine Room with private courtyard
Kitchen area in The Engine Room with oven, hob, toaster, kettle, coffee machine and fridge
4 poster king size bed
The sitting room
The Engine Room exterior
The private courtyard
The courtyard garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Milton Abbas, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacquelin...
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A peaceful inspiring cottage in beautiful surroundings. Birdsong to wake to. Stunning walks and a great pub all within walking distance.
Sharon is a joy and very respectful of your privacy and requirements.
If you want to get away from the maddening crowd this is the place to be.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you Jacqueline.
It was a pleasure to host you.
Hope to see you next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4and20
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A lovely clean fully equipped and modern self contained hideaway in the middle of Milton Abbas. Excellent shower facility, comfortable and quiet accomodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2018
Thank you so much.
I glad you enjoyed your stay and you would be welcome back anytime
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
562jholt
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, relaxing and very central touring.”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a lovely place to stay - so many lovely walks and Milton Abbey is beautiful. The owner Sharron was really helpful and a wealth of knowledge on the local area. Would thoroughly recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind words
Milton Abbas really is a special place.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Hideaway!”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked through Hideaways and it definately was a hideaway! It was just the right size for two, a place to sleep and eat, a base for exporing the beautiful Dorset countryside. We really appreciated the milk,bread and butter provided. The bed was very comfortable. We loved the Dorset Coast, especially Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door. We had a lovely meal in the pub at Dewlish. There are plenty of footpaths to explore. Would recommend for short break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words.
It was a pleasure to have you stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
Rosudgeon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“everything we needed for a rest - including an umbrella!”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Sharon has thought of everything from the well equipped kitchen and bathroom to lovely welcome touches like milk, bread, coffee and tea. Beautifully appointed - bijou. The quiet was disturbed only by a regular motorbike. It was warm, clean and comfortable. Would come again to explore more of the area than we could manage in three days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The heater in the bathroom
Liked least: The TV would not connect to my computer nor accept DVDs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you Jane ,
Shame about the weather.
It will be lovely to see you both again soon in sunny weather I hope !
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karl b
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good base,with easy access to all areas of Dorset”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

my wife and i decided to return to Dorset and wanted somewhere that would be central to beaches and places of interest, the engine room was just the place. We have always liked the look of milton abbas with it's chocolate box houses,although the photographs make it look slightly more elegant than it actually is, some houses look quiet faded and worn.There is only a couple of negatives with regards to the engine room which was poor internet and the bed, which we found to be too firm and not very comfortable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn B
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, Quiet and Clean”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for one week in October. We were greeted by the owner, Sharon, who showed us the essential ie cooker, fridge and linen supplied. We found the cottage very warm and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. Television easy to use and worked well, although we only watched the News items. The Welcome Pack was very handy and most useful, which consisted of Bread, Butter and Milk. There was also tea, coffee and sugar if needed. The sofa was very comfortable as was the chair. Overall we would visit again and were very satisfied with cottage. If there was one problem it was the three steps leading upto the front door which we found a little awkward to negotiate but then we are pensioners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage well insulated and very warm. Location very good for coastal areas
Liked least: The steps leading to the front door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you for your comments
It was lovely to meet you both
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing