We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
1 review
“nice location, poor service”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

First of all, our reservation couldn't be found. Luckily, we were upgraded to the nice Honeymoon Room. However, it was difficult to get the staff to do their housekeeping there (we had to remind them every day).
The restaurant cannot be recommended at all. Poor service, no organization and the breakfast is not tasty.
The location is splendid, right at the beach and the rooms are nice, too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    39
    34
    24
    21
See reviews for
25
60
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in a bungalow at Mushroom Beach last week. It was clean (on arrival), there was air conditioning, and there was ample space to dump your stuff like spearfishing equipment/surf boards/ snorkeling kits etc.
Its right on the beach and the kitchen food (although can take over an hour to prep) is some of the best that you will eat on the island. Its also the best value for money - hotel next door is double the price for exactly the same set up.

However, what we didnt know was that our room had no hot water and that your room/bathroom it would only be cleaned if you asked them. After 4 days of bringing in sea sand and using damp towels it was a bit gross. They however do not tell you that you should ask them, you've just sort of gotta take the initiative.

Also something that irritated us was that if you pay with a credit card they will charge you an additional 3% (where everyone else on the island will only charge you 2%), however if your mates come to visit you and are not staying at Mushroom Bay the hotel will charge them an additional 5%. Just be aware of these hefty charges because they add up eventually. Come with loads of cash !

The hotel has goggles and flippers which are free to use, but I would advise you bring your own. Lots of mismatched pairs that are broken. Snorkeling / spear fishing right outside is possible. Lots of pretty corals, parrot fish, trigger fish and some squid. Beware however there is a serous rip current and the boats nearby care nothing for safety. If you are spearfishing bring a bouy!

The swell is quite small so its a great place to learn how to surf or just to have fun on a boogie board. Sets are awesome enough to take you to the beach from quite a way out.

We will definitely return. They were friendly and welcoming and happy to make a plan if you suddenly needed something.

Room Tip: Bungalows all face each other and the garden - no sea view. Family rooms/villas all face the sea/ s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamsin_Mullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Set in pretty gardens high on the hill at mushroom beach. Great location. Ok this is where things go down hill. The property has two pools..... Both green and not useable, we had bungalows next to village and they were noisy at night. If you stay here only stay in bungalows closer to beach. Breakfast is pointless don't waste your money. I'll finish on a positive note, as per Indonesian custom staff very helpful and rooms clean.

Room Tip: Please only stay in bungalows closer to beach. Don't waste money on pre paying breakfast (A$20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Huts are nice, setting and location are good, the place could use some renovations and is a little ran down but globally good value for money, if you don't care about a minimum of service !
My friend found an underwear in his room, and we did not have a proper bedsheet but just a bed cover. When you go to the reception to get information about activities or about the area it seems like you are bothering them. The food was really average (microwave, ants on the plates) , and only one of the cocktails on the menu was available. We met two ladies who were refused service at 8:30pm at the restaurant because it was not busy enough and they wanted to clean up and close !!!! There is no drinking water in the rooms and one evening we found ourselves wandering around the small village to find an open shop that could sell us a bottle of water because no one was to be seen in the hotel, the bar and restaurant were close and no one was at the reception, it was 9pm......
A big generator is located right next to the resort, and our rooms were really close to it. The night we stayed there had been a power outage (frequent in Bali and Lembongan) and the generator ran until 1pm, we could hear it like it was in our room.... Do not choose the first huts when you enter the resort, go as close to the beach as you can.
When we checked out, we explained the situation and complained about our experience but the person we talked to clearly did not care, and did not apologize but tried to find excuses for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zazou z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nusa Lembongan hotels

Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I wouldn't be able to comment on the actual hotel because I haven't stayed there. BUT I have used their scubadiving center, which is owned by the same family as the hotel. I have done approx. 120 dives in my life and this dive center had the worst equipement (they absolutely don't take care of it).
Well that is practically nothing compared to the scam of the center. I wanted to do my rescue diving course, which I did. But several weeks after my trip I hadn't received my scuba rescue certification, so I contacted PADI- telling me that my diving teacher hadn't done his certification to teach rescue divers. So I lost 400$ for nothing.
The irony of the whole thing is that they have a huge ''poster'' on their front window saying that they are authorized to give courses.... If the hotel is the same quality as the dive center, don't go there....

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank DIveadvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The huts were basic and nice. But the best part was the beautiful view from the restaurant and closeness to the beach. We loved the small swimming pool area also and just next to the hotell is a "hidden" beach where we baded alone, very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasalaMunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in January for 2 nights after staying in another hotel the other end of the beach. Mushroom beach was far better value for money. The room was basic but had all you required. There is an infinity pool on the side of the cliff which is gorgeous and quite hidden. We had it to ourselves one day and I'm pretty the other guests didn't know about it.

I ate at the restaurant once and it was ok but nothing special. We ate at Bali Hi next door which was gorgeous.

I'd definitely stay here again but I'd be prepared for the cold shower next time.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrebleMaker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
1.2 mi away
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
#2 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
#4 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poh Manis Lembongan
Poh Manis Lembongan
#9 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Indiana Kenanga Villas
Indiana Kenanga Villas
#6 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tarci Bungalow
Tarci Bungalow
#5 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Shore Huts
Bay Shore Huts
#3 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mushroom Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mushroom Beach Bungalows

Property: Mushroom Beach Bungalows
Address: Tanjung Sanghiang Bay | Nusa Penida, Klungkung, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mushroom Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mushroom Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mushroom Beach Bungalows Hotel Lembongan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing