We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double booked me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rigils Lembongan Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 101 Nusa Lembongan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I booked Riglis Bungalows through Agoda but when I arrived they said they didn't have my reservation and were fully booked. They said there was a problem with Agoda, which I've emailed them about to look into, but I suspect it may well be the owners' mistake!

The owner drove me around to find somewhere else but, as expected in peak season, the first few places were fully booked. He found somewhere for me but it was obviously not where I had wanted to stay.

The rooms looked really nice and the general area seemed clean but I obviously can't really comment in detail about this!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Rigils Lembongan Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Where do I start?
Greeted with - you're in this villa for one night then the one you booked for the last two nights. No apology. No explanation. We were just told that it was happening, quite bluntly. Why? Told same cost but had to move. (Turns out that we couldn't be in the one we'd booked 6 months earlier and paid for already because a recent two week old booking took preference - she was paying more). Lie #1

When questioned about this change told the villas were the same price and same size. Lie #2 & Lie #3.

Asked them for a refund of the difference in price between the two rooms the lady owner (Putu) told us that they were same price so there is no refund. The male owner (Nyoman) told us the next day what they rooms normally sold for, but because we had booked for less through Agoda we could be moved to the cheaper room. Lie #4

Putu went through a big spiel with us about snorkelling trips when we said we were interested in snorkelling. Told we couldn't do what we suggested as they don't do them that way. Got exactly what we wanted at Mola Mola on the beach for good price (ironically the first snorkelling trip was with the NZ girl who had our room for the first night so we found all about when she booked and the cost). Lie #5

Putu went through another big spiel about the restaurant suggesting that they had fresh tuna which would be an excellent dinner choice. When we came back from our afternoon at the beach Nyoman watched us check the menu again for dinner and didn't say anything when we left at 5.30pm telling him we'd be back for dinner after sunset drinks. When we arrived back at 7.00pm there was no-one about. Eventually he came out and told us there was no restaurant service as his wife (Putu) couldn't cook as she'd recently had a baby (3 weeks ago). There never was any restaurant service. Lie #6

Nyoman told us that he would organise it to be open for us for tomorrow night if we would like to eat there. When we arrived back the next night after our snorkelling trip we asked if we were going to get dinner there tonight. She looked at him with that "you didn't tell me anything about this" look and we were told no maybe tomorrow night. Lie #7

We wondered how fresh that tuna from yesterday would be (or if it ever existed). Lie #8

On arrival we were very rudely and abruptly told when we asked about wifi that you booked through Agoda so you know that there is no wifi. It was and currently still is advertised on the agoda booking site as internet available and internet complimentary. Lie #9

At the beach, because we couldn't get wifi at Rigils, we checked and the same was being offered on their own website in two different places. Lie #10

When we told them about it being on agoda we were told that they never told them that and agoda just put it on their booking site. Funny how the wording on agoda and the wording on their own website was identical. Lie #11

On their website as one of their features they suggest that they have a bar (in two different places on website). If you like to drink Bintang, water or Sprite then yes they do have a bar. That is all they have. Lie #12

Their place is called Rigils Bungalows and Spa. No mention of the fact that there has been no massages there for a while due to the pregnancy and new baby. When we asked about what makes this a spa Nyoman said it was because they had a massage table by the pool. When Putu does get back to doing massages in who knows how long maybe they can call this a "spa". They certainly weren't comfortable when we asked about massages. We were so looking forward to one of the massages as they come up as a big thing on reviews.

We were lucky that we got our towels when we did (second day) as the NZ girl and her friend didn't get towels at all in their two night stay. They were told that they were at the laundry.

Breakfast was okay from day 2 as we actually had a menu to choose from (we found it behind the counter ourselves). Day 1 we were given what Nyoman decided we wanted. No choice was offered. Don't get your hopes up for anything special though.

Our room was not serviced but we did not mind this. However I would think that anything offered as being serviced daily should be.

This is the only place that we've ever been where there was NO complimentary water.

It was pretty obvious that Putu ran this place. She did everything but as she was following custom and waking, feeding and attending to the new baby every hour (YES EVERY HOUR 24/7) she was so tired. Nyoman was trying to cope but really couldn't on his own.

As we stayed longer and got to know them a bit more we found them to be quite friendly and would have been great hosts, I'm sure, in normal circumstances.

We tried to explain some of these lies and shortcomings to Nyoman because we wanted to help them. He listened, commented a little but I don't think truly understood.
Had they explained honestly what the situation was then we, and I'm sure most reasonable people, would understand.

They have a wonderful set-up with beautiful large rooms. The villa we had for nights 2 & 3 was large and luxurious. It was a fabulous room.

The villa we had for night 1 was nice - only recently built - with us being only it's third tenants.It makes 5 bungalows which all seem great. Each has a balcony, with chairs and table, facing to the pool.
They have beautiful gardens and a lovely pool area.

The place is all of a 3 minute stroll down to Tamarind Beach and about 6 or 7 minutes up, around and down to Mushroom Beach (which is fantastic).

Having been through all of that WE WOULD BOOK HERE AGAIN.

The place has so much to offer.

We would just hope for a bit more honesty and with Putu and Nyoman both able to attend to their guests in the manner that so many other reviewers have glowingly reported.

Room Tip: Keep checking that you ARE getting the room that you pay for. The large villas are absolutely beaut...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipL1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I'm a Bali local who's stayed many places here and around the world. Rigils is mediocre. Not a good value; not a bad value. Location, facility, rooms are just OK. Owner couple is pleasant and helpful but have to be asked for towels, room cleaning, toilet paper, anything, etc. Pluses: nice clean cool pool, tiny grounds/garden are pretty and well-kept (photos are accurate), AC room for the price of advertised fan room, speak English well (for tourists), owner got us a great boat captain (also good English) for a great price to go to snorkeling spots, don't need a credit card to reserve and just pay cash on check-out. Minuses: only cold water which comes out as a trickle; breakfast is minimal; they were constructing a 5th bungalow and it's a very small property so sawing, hammering, drilling noise even early on Sunday morning! (and workers were respectful but had a clear view into most of the bathrooms which are open air); you can hear fellow guests talk (and they you) through the walls with the door shut. Owners live there with four kids including newborn when we were there so it was pretty loud, but it does have a comfortable homey family feel (because they and other guests are all right there with you) if that's what you like. If that's what you are trying to take a holiday away from, DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank YantiArdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The accomodation at Rigils certainly gets you value for money: the villa we stayed in was very spacious, with windows all around and tasteful design features that make it feel quite swanky (esp. the open bathroom!). The pool is quite small, but sufficient for a cooling dip, and there are enough beds for all the guests. We were slightly disappointed by the service, especially given the fact that other reviews were so enthusiastic. The family was friendly enough, but by (admittedly very high) Balinese standards, a bit disinterested. The kitchen is apparently closed now. Breakfast is basic - fruits and toast - which is fine, but there didn't seem to be an option to order supplemental items. Furthermore, when we asked whether we could extend our stay by one night, we were told that the place was fully booked. However, when two other guests made the very same request later that day, they were offered our room! And at the end of the day, all the reservation sites indicated that rooms were still available. We almost wondered if we should take it personally...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Allert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved this place, really calm and beautiful. The bungalow we had was immaculate and really good for the price. You can see that the owner has good control over the place as it is so clean. We enjoyed talking to them as they were so kind and very funny, as well as being very helpful. I would definitely recommend this place :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chayal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We cannot believe how stylish, clean, beautiful and calm this place was. We stayed in an immaculate bungalow for an amazing prize. In fact we decided to book several extra nights because it was so dreamy! I was pregnant at the time and nothing was too much trouble for Putu: she cooked for us, arranged a scooter so we could get around the island, and gave me a fantastic massage. We will never forget her kind, caring attitude. This is a very special family-owned business a million miles from exploitative big multinational hotels. Please book with confidence: if anything, it's more gorgeous in real life than in photos!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigsoulmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely place - four nice bungalows all centred around a pool. Very well maintained and excellently presented.

Family run business and husband and wife duo are lovely and explain the local area and what there is to do.

Bungalow is very clean, ours at the lowest price had a nice bed with mosquito net. Wardrobe also locks to out valuables away. The bathroom is outdoors though (but lots are in bali), so few flies and things around!

Only annoyance was by booking through booking.com breakfast is not included, book direct and it is.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris2hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.1 mi away
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
Mushroom Beach Bungalows
#18 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Indiana Kenanga Villas
Indiana Kenanga Villas
#7 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Well House Lembongan Island
The Well House Lembongan Island
#4 of 101 in Nusa Lembongan
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
#36 of 137 in Nusa Lembongan
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassava Lembongan Bungalow
Cassava Lembongan Bungalow
#16 of 101 in Nusa Lembongan
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Perdana Homestay
Perdana Homestay
#1 of 101 in Nusa Lembongan
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rigils Lembongan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rigils Lembongan Bungalows

Address: Nusa Penida, 80771, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: £18 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rigils Lembongan Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rigils Lembongan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing