We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Suka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suka Beach Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed four nights here in hut #4 and really loved it. The best part is the lounge area underneat all the bungalows- many hours were spent lazily hanging in the hammock! It's also nice to be a bit away from the bustle of the main strip. Ketut and his family were very friendly and helped us to take care of our baby (they quite enjoyed playing with him!). Make sure to do the snorkling trip with Ketut's "captain."

The only reason we left when we did was because there was construction starting on two new bungalows. It's great to see such a kind and honest family expanding their business.

Overall, for the price, this place is a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a bungalow with a fan (no. 3 house) for two weeks, but ended up staying there for three and a half! Like many other reviewers we were thrilled about our stay and the hospitality of Ketut and his family. The location of Suka Beach is perfect just next to the beach and with only few tourists walking by daily. At the same time there are many locals living in the area, and it is interesting to see the seaweed farms when the tide is low. The view from Suka Beach is stunning and sunsets are breathtaking.

The bungalows are very basic, but they are clean and comfortable. The breakfast included was excellent. You get to choose one drink and one meal from the menu, which was very nice and convenient. The food at Suka beach was good in general, not pricy at all, and if you like fish, remember to ask for that one day in advance. Ketut's brother will bring some fresh in the next day, and it's so delicious.

If you like to do some activities on the island, just ask Ketut. He is very helpful and likes to make arrangements for you at a good price like snorkeling, kayaking, renting of motorbikes etc. He also helps with the booking of boat tickets to Bali or other islands (Gili, Lombok), and the boat agencies will pick you up at Suka Beach.

We couldn't ask for a better stay. Everything was perfect, and we will definitely be back one day!

Room Tip: The bungalows 1 and 2 have AC and hot water, and they are closest to the beach and have the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

When booking this place through agoda we really didn't know what to expect, especially as it was our first visit to Nusa Lembongan. I am happy to say that our stay of 3 nights was not nearly long enough as we had an amazing time!

First up, the setting. Situated on the beach facing West you get amazing sunsets, tilt you head to the right up the beach and you can see the cloud covered mountain ranges in Bali. If you think that is impressive wait until low tide…crystal clear water reveals perfectly formed seaweed beds which the locals work tirelessly on day and night. Wow.

Suka is only small, 4 bungalows in a line which are of the finest build and very, very comfortable. We were in number 4 furthest from the beach but had the benefit of raised views over a neighbouring seaweed farm property. Watching the women work and the processes involved was mesmerising, definitely worth a watch.

Ketut and his family were amongst the best hosts we have had on our travels through SE Asia, within minutes we felt right at home. Very refreshing to be looked after by people who care about your stay and aren't interested in ripping you off all the time. We did everything through Suka, rented a bike, ate dinner, bought drinks…we saw prices elsewhere which made us seriously respect Ketut for not following suit and caring for his guests.

I won't give you the running commentary of how good the AC was or how soft the beds were because comments below do a great job, the place is perfect.

If you are after a real sense of tranquility nestled amongst traditional local living this place is for you. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 4 bungalows, number 1 being closest to the sea. All great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Suka Beach Bungalows offers a combination that's hard to top: a fabulous location, comfortable accommodations, and a cordial host.

It sits right on the water, overlooking Nisa Lembongan's iconic seaweed farms and the Shipwrecks surf break, with a sweeping view of the Bali coast beyond, from sunsets over Sanur in the west to Bali's highest volcano, Gunung Agung in the east.

There are four bungalows, angled back from the sea along a ramshackle garden, two with AC and two without. AC doesn't really matter. The breezes take care of you.

The bungalows are built in rounded A-frame style, with lots of places for lounging, which is as much an art form in Bali as dance, music, painting, architecture or landscaping.

On the ground floor is an open-air resting platform with a mattress and cushions, plus a hammock. Once you enter via the indoor-outdoor private bathroom and go upstairs, there's a large, comfortable bed and, on the balcony, a table and chairs.

The views are fine from the bungalows, but better from the small restaurant, where breakfast is served under thick shade trees. Breakfast is a bit paltry - just one item and one drink from a menu - but the food, especially the banana pancake and vegetable omelette, is excellent. You also can buy lunch and dinner here if you want.

Ketut, the owner, is a good communicator; he answered our many questions promptly before we reserved. Everybody on the island seems to know him. Whenever we said we were staying at Suka Beach Bungalows, people said, "Oh, Ketut!"

Ketut and his extended family can provide just about anything you want. One morning, he arranged a fine snorkeling trip with a man he called his "captain."

Another morning, he came in from his dawn fishing excursion with three red snapper, which he fixed for us for lunch with rice and vegetables at a good price.

Ketut's brother does massage in a seaside hut right on the grounds, and another relative who ran a general store up the road rented us bicycles.

The two big draws on Nusa Lembongan are diving and surfing. We did neither, but it's a good bet Ketut could fix you up. If not, there's a good dive shop, Blue Corner, next door.

The third big draw is doing nothing at all. Suka Beach Bungalows is perfect for that.

Room Tip: The views are a little better from bungalows 1 & 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here during December for about 5 days, and not much more could be expected. The Bungalows are on beachfront property, which kept the heat down and bugs non-existent. The bungalows are basic, with a bedroom, shower and toilet, but are very well made and pretty structures.
They provide motorbikes for rent (about 5$) a day which are really handy. I would also recommend doing the snorkeling, and going to the other island for a day and cruising around if you have time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights in an aircon bungalow. The bungalows are beautiful! The views are lovely and sunsets are perfect from the balcony. Its situated in a fairly isolated area so nice and peaceful. You can hear the waves crashing outside at night and thre are hammocks and matresses below the bungalow so you can soak up the views. There are also sun beds if you want to sunbathe. The service is great and staff very helpful. The food here is cheap and offers big portions compared to other restaurants in the area. Would love to come back and will definately recommend this place to all colleagues and friends!

Room Tip: Bungalow one with aircon is closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Suka Beach for two nights and were impressed by the room and service.

It is farther along on the beach walk so that you don't have to worry about lots of people constantly walking in front of your bungalow. The bungalows are kept very clean and comfortable and everything is in great condition. There is no hot shower water, but there is never a need for hot water on Nusa Lembongan. Breakfast at the adjoining restaurant was great. And the rest of the food served there is also very good.

Ketut was extremely helpful in organizing snorkel trips at a very good price to points around Nusa Lembongan and Nusa Penida, including Manta Point. He also helped organize transport to Nusa Penida and later to the Gilis. He was very friendly and generous with his time and information.

It was a pleasure to stay at Suka Beach and I would recommend it for any type of traveller. If you go without planned excursions, Ketut will take care of you and help arrange exactly what you need.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghartt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.1 mi away
Segara Beach Inn
Segara Beach Inn
#9 of 105 in Nusa Lembongan
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yogi Beach Bungalows
Yogi Beach Bungalows
#58 of 141 in Nusa Lembongan
90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
Nanuks Lembongan Bungalows
#35 of 141 in Nusa Lembongan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Well House Lembongan Island
The Well House Lembongan Island
#5 of 105 in Nusa Lembongan
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sukanusa Luxury Huts
Sukanusa Luxury Huts
#7 of 105 in Nusa Lembongan
151 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jenny's Place
Jenny's Place
#30 of 105 in Nusa Lembongan
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suka Beach Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suka Beach Bungalow

Address: Desa Jungutbatu, Nusa Penida, Klungkung, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: £18 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Suka Beach Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing