We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, excellent service, unreal views, lovely food ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nusa Lembongan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great staff, excellent service, unreal views, lovely food ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. The most notable thing about BatuK is the staff. All of them were super nice, not over the top, it always felt real. The views are great, the rooms are good, the food was very good and all up it was a very nice stay. Worth the extra $, good value for money, not always the case in the upper price segment in Bali. Thank you for the great service and very nice atmosphere. Loved our time here and will come back again.

Room Tip: 1br villa # 7,8,9,10… 10 in particular, great views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BionicGsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    103
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
99
357
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at batu karang resort earlier this month.
As soon as the boat landed on the shore we knew this was going to be an amazing stay, we were greeted by a member of the hotels staff and had a short walk to the hotel our bags were already in our villa once we had checked in.
Honestly we this is the most idyllic location for a relaxing escape.
The villa views were amazing the resort has three stunning pools to swim in and soak up the views. Great food and the most delicious cocktails!
The staff were great with anything you needed and as the resort is set up a hill they have a buggy service to take you up to your room etc which I think would be helpful if you find a hill hard to walk uphill.
Breakfast was fantastic you get to pick off the menu not buffet style.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we can't wait to come back in September when we are getting married at this resort! It's that stunning

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AKandCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you are planning to holiday in Bali do yourself a favor and take at least three days away and visit Batu Karang Resort on Lembongan Island. You will not regret it. In 50 years of travelling we have never received such friendly and courteous service. From the moment we arrived on the island our holiday began. Our room was stunning with views over the ocean back to Bali and the Volcano in the distance. The service was friendly, efficient and attentive without being overstated. The food was of excellent quality and locally made including the bread which was delightful. Having a couple of beers at the front of the resort and watching the sunset will be a highlight and it happens most nights. Seafood on the island is excellent, fresh and caught locally. We will be back.

Room Tip: No less than three nights to make it worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This place is amazing! We stayed here for our honeymoon in October and arrived to a bottle of champagne, chocolates and two sarongs as gifts! Then on our last night were treated with a delightful rose petal bath! Very much felt spoilt. The villas are amazing and clean! The good was delicious, we tried a few other places on the island too and couldn't find better then batu Karang and the deck! Make sure you get the breakfast included it is amazing not your typical continental style it's the works! I would come back here in a heart beat! Many thanks for making our trip a wonderful memory!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoemahYWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

As this very moment, Im here in the hotel and this is our second night. The hotel is very expensive compared to the service standard.
Turn ons:
Great view
Good room and bath facility

Turn offs:
Not worth it,too expensive
No beach with the hotel, its a five mins walk from the hotel but not a clean beach
No room service (yes surprisingly)
The staff is not very hospitable or welcoming except of a couple of people at the reception.
The restaurants close at 9.30
No floormat in the washroom and only two bath towels (four is the Standard)
The tv is hardly bigger than my laptop screen, of no use actually.
They Dont have automatic changeover to generator, When the light went last night, we were sorrounded with pitch black darkness for five minutes.
Definitely my Worst stay in my trip. Batu karang has the room of a four star hotel but that is it, poor service compared to other hotels we stayed in ubud and lombok. Wont recommend at all as the people in bali are far more welcoming.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Habibelahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andthenandthen, Owner at Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to go online and share your comments about Batu Karang. Its not often we get such a poor review in fact there has only ever been 4 occasions that we have been given a 1 star rating so it does raise an eyebrow as to how it can be so bad when so many have voted otherwise. Only 4 out of 278 reviews rate Batu Karang as such a poor experience and two of those didn’t even stay with us, they stayed next door…. That’s 1.5% of all reviews or .75% if you factor out the non staying guests. We do strive for perfection and try our best to ensure all guests get the most out of their stay and we are very sorry that you have not. Given this we are always on the look out for constructive criticism that can help us to fine tune our product and we act accordingly.

We completely agree with you on the turn ons however we would add a couple of our own like - great outdoor activities, snorkeling, diving, surfing, early morning walks, sunsets, secluded beach’s if you hunt them out and of course great cultural immersion through the temples and colourful ceremonies that are regularly held on the Island. We had to assess the turn offs of course and would like to address some of them here to make sure that there is no confusion in the future.

No beach with the Hotel? I don’t think it states anywhere in our website or brochure that we are beach front or that we have a beach, if there is some material out there that states this then please forward this to us as we would like to have it corrected as there is nothing worse than misleading forums or media. We are however Ocean front, on a cliff 4-5 m high over looking sensationally crystal clear water. Yes there is a beach to the left and the right of our property however a 5 minute walk is really a major issue for most. We timed it recently and it took 2 minutes to get there but I suppose this depends on the pace at which you walk, it could take longer if you stopped to ponder the beautiful surroundings or chat to the locals.

No room service – Room service is provided on request, however we don’t recommend it as given the topography of the Resort, delivering to the rooms can be challenging and can effect the presentation and quality of the food. However as stated on request we do provide it as we are very service conscious here at Batu Karang.

The Restaurant closes at 9:30 pm – There is actually no closing time on the restaurant, given the island nature of the property and the fact that there is generally not a lot of night life, once all of our in house guests have had dinner we usually leave it open until the outside diners have finished then close. This can be at 9:30 or 11:30pm. As a courtesy we do ring the rooms of our in house guests who haven’t been to the restaurant to ensure that they have been provided for. We don’t provide 24hr room service as requests for it are as rare as poor tripadvisor reviews.

TV is hardly bigger than my laptop – The TV is provided so you can watch TV from your bed. We never installed larger ones as it would then block the sensational view from your bedroom. If you required a large 42 inch or even 6ft screen we have these at the Lounge room and at the Movie room where you can have your favorite movie screened by projector onto a 6ft screen and have surround sound too. If you book it, you get it all to yourself and have the bean bags to stretch out on and really relax on your holiday.

No Automatic change over – Did you really stay with us? We have two 150KVA Generators and a huge Syncronized Panel which runs all of the automatic power transfers,. If PLN the main power supply to the island does go out it takes 2 minutes for the changeover to happen as the generators have to warm up before being put under load. We are very sorry for this inconvenience but we are on an island off an island and local infrastructure can be shaky at the best of times. You mentioned 5 minutes of darkness before the power came back on. Which helps us to establish timings as it would seem that the arduous 5 minute walk to the beach you refer to earlier in your complaint is more like 2 minutes as the high tech panel is electronically programmed to 2 minutes. For a moment we thought someone might have moved the beach further away.

Definitely my worse stay in my trip – we are sorry that you had such a bad trip to Nusa Lembongan. The islands natural beauty and its laidback , barefoot feel normally provides as the perfect getaway for busy people looking to escape the hussle and bussle and to wind down. It’s a shame that you didn’t get to experience this.

We look forward to seeing you again and we will make sure that all of your complaints are referred to the appropriate people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing! We stayed here for our honeymoon in October and arrived to a bottle of champagne, chocolates and two sarongs as gifts! Then on our last night were treated with a delightful rose petal bath! Very much felt spoilt. The villas are amazing and clean! The good was delicious, we tried a few other places on the island too and couldn't find better then batu Karang and the deck! Make sure you get the breakfast included it is amazing not your typical continental style it's the works! I would come back here in a heart beat! Many thanks for making our trip a wonderful memory!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_livesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Batu Karang for 6 nights. The resort is quite expensive, but we felt it was money well spent. We had original booked a deluxe room which is right at the top of the resort overlooking the lap pool. There was building going on behind our room (new villa I think). After we were shown our room we did voice our concerns regarding the noise it was no problem moving us to a 1 bedroom villa at no extra charge. Rooms are spacious, plenty of storage area. My only complaint regarding the room is that when they have installed flat screen TV on a wall mount and you can't close the curtains completely. It was very overcast when we were staying but it could be a problem on bright mornings.

Staff were all attentive, polite and very friendly. We did end up being the only guests for one day and one night and they closed the pool bar which we felt was unfair as facilities should not be limited because of the amount of guests. We found that on this particular day and next morning when we were the only guests we seemed to wait a lot longer than other days for service at breakfast etc.

We had two treatments at the Spa which were both excellent. Highly recommend this Resort.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.6 mi away
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
#2 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Indiana Kenanga Villas
Indiana Kenanga Villas
#6 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
The Ocean Sunset Villas Ceningan
#4 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Poh Manis Lembongan
Poh Manis Lembongan
#13 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Shore Huts
Bay Shore Huts
#3 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
d'Nusa Beach Club and Resort
d'Nusa Beach Club and Resort
#14 of 25 in Nusa Lembongan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa

Property: Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa
Address: Jungut Batu, 1111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
#1 Spa Hotel in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Nusa Lembongan, Batu Karang Lembongan Resort and Day Spa is an ideal spot to discover the surrounding island sanctuary. Only 30 minutes by boat from the east coast of Bali, provides a great escape for those seeking the real paradise.The ambiance of Batu Karang Lembongan Resort and Day Spa is reflected in every guestroom. Spacious villas are an indulgence with a modern décor with Balinese accents and the finest amenities. Air conditioning, satellite/cable TV, shower, fan, bathrobes, hair dryer, safety deposit box, mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities are just some of the facilities. Outdoor bathrooms afford complete privacy and luxury and balconies with day beds are featured for guests to relax and to embrace the breathtaking panoramic views of the ocean, east coast of Bali and the magnificent silhouette of Mount Agung.Lulur Spa features traditional Balinese massage as well as relaxing seaweed beauty treatments. Batu Karang provides a Day Lounge with a DVD player, library and internet stations, Gym, Steam room, 3 swimming pools, Day Spa, Conference room & facilities, movie theatre, restaurant, café & bar, buggy transport within the resort and free WIFI. Local and international dishes are served at the in house restaurant, Muntigs Bar & Restaurant. Refreshing drinks and snacks are available at the swim-up Pool Bar also!With its convenient location, the resort offers easy access to varies world-class surf breaks; Playgrounds, Laceration and Shipwrecks and to many of the best dive sites in Bali. Batu Karang can arrange many recreational activities like snorkeling trips, diving, fishing, stand up paddle boarding, motorbike rental, bike rental, surfing trips and many others to ensure you have the best time during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious experience at Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Batu Karang Lembongan Resort & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batu Karang Lembongan Resort And Day Hotel Lembongan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing