We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Rooms - Simple, Clean, Quiet & Functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pondok Baruna Guesthouse
Ranked #56 of 104 Nusa Lembongan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Its important to note that there are two types of rooms available at this guest house and probably should be separated as they are in different locations and of different standards. This review is for the more expensive garden rooms

I recently stayed for 4 nights in the newly refurbished garden rooms. There are about 6 rooms that are 50m back from the beach, dive centre & budget rooms. The garden rooms are next to a nice pool with loungers, & the breakfast area.

The room was clean and has separate shower & toilet areas unlike some other places where you get wet feet going for a pee! The rooms have AC & hot water which all worked perfectly.

Breakfast was included which I found to be very good (juice or fruit plate + pancakes or eggs) . Note that if you're diving early in the morning (7:30am) there can be a breakfast rush so allow 30+ mins for breakfast as most people stay there for the diving. It officially opens at 7am, but they're start 5-10mins before that time.

The rooms are quiet, although there might be some noise from neighbouring rooms if they're being noisy of course. This is common for Bali many hotels anyway.

Room service during the stay works by hanging a card on the door knob. I did not require it, so can't comment on that. All staff were friendly & relaxed.

No safe in the room (not sure why not) - I left valuables in the dive centre.

Book 2-3 weeks early in peak season!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camthelegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

We recently spent three nights at Pondok Baruna , in the newer garden rooms.

It is such a nice place on a really interesting island. The "room" is really more like a Balinese villa with a lovely sitting out area. Breakfasts were fab and the meals in the restuarant extremely good and excellent value. The owner was always about and was charm personified , as were the rest of the crew.

The purpose of our visit was to dive with World Divers and this certainly did not dissapoint. The guides were brilliant, so professional and enthusiastic. On one amazing 2 dive day we saw a giant manta , a shark , at least four mola mola and a pod of dolphins. The reefs are in fantastic condition as the main local industry is not fishing but sea weed farming.

The island itself is really interesting, the local people obviously work very hard on their farms and we were surprised that it is so unspoilt being so near Bali. It was great to stay right in the middle of the village and experience the culture.

We definitely hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed in a beachfront room for 2 nights. Room was very basic but clean, however the bathroom was pretty terrible – very small (you had to sit sideways on the toilet), water all over the floor, nowhere to put products, and a drain that didn’t drain.

There was a standing floor fan that we were very thankful for, as the room got quite stuffy and hot especially at night.

The area is quite smokey and the room had open slats that you can’t close so we were subjected to quite a strong smell in the morning.

It can also get quite noisy in the morning when the locals start work, and we also had people participating in the dive program meeting outside our room. Needless to say, if you’re after privacy, this is problem not the room for you.

The walls are very thin so you wouldn’t want noisy neighbours although we didn’t find this to be a problem as it seemed that most of the people staying there were participating in dive programs so they went to bed fairly early.

The view from our terrace was fantastic and we loved sitting there in the afternoons watching the world go by.

The pool area is lovely and the bar/restaurant serves reasonably priced, yummy food (I’d recommend the chicken satay, and the lime juice).

Breakfast was great - fruit platter, a choice of eggs and toast or a croissant, and tea or coffee.

The staff are delightful - very friendly and helpful. They did not clean inside our room but they emptied the rubbish bin on our terrace every day and swept the area. They also keep the surrounding garden and grounds looking immaculate.

TIP: Avoid arriving after dark as it is likely that nobody will be there to meet you. In this case, walk down the street alongside the property heading away from the beach, when you reach the ‘main’ road turn left and walk until you see their restaurant (Pondok Baruna Warung) on the right hand side. Staff here will be able to help you out.

Next time we’d probably go for a garden room simply for a bit more privacy and comfort, but we have to admit we’d be quite sad for the loss of the little terrace and beautiful outlook of the beach.

We also heard that the dive programs in the area are fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s2olivias2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We originally intended to stay for 5 nights, and decided to stay for 10! We had a garden room right by the pool. The room was comfortable, well appointed, and had the comfiest bed we had in Southeast Asia. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. We ate in the restaurant a few times, and it was good value and tasty. This was one of our favourite places to stay during our travels, and we occasionally dream of returning to this little oasis!

Room Tip: Splurge for a garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Beautiful location with view of the beach and very friendly staff. Would recommend it to anyone!
The only down side are the really thin back walls with ventilation grids to the street, which could wake you up early...but as it is a really relaxed, calm island..

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylli188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My wife and I stayed in the garden rooms for 5 nights and we found them to be excellent value for money.All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times,nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always happy and helpful.We used the restaurant a lot and the quality and value was first class.The dive centre was very professional and well run and they helped in every way they could.We would thoroughly recommend the complete package .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micksalsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed here 4 nights in total, I stuffed up our booking and we ended up arriving a day earlier then I had booked. However that was no problem at all as they accommodated us in the Garden rooms. The garden rooms are very nice, modern and clean. On the second night my husband and I moved to the budget rooms facing the seafront. They as other people have said are very old rooms, however we loved the balcony and views. We ate some very delicious meals at the restaurant and the staff were always very nice to us. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone on a budget who just need a base to go and explore. We used world dive very professional outfit, will def be back

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roshyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sammada Hotel & Beach Club
Sammada Hotel & Beach Club
#8 of 26 in Nusa Lembongan
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indiana Kenanga Villas
Indiana Kenanga Villas
#7 of 26 in Nusa Lembongan
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Segara Beach Inn
Segara Beach Inn
#9 of 104 in Nusa Lembongan
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pondok Baruna Frangipani
Pondok Baruna Frangipani
#28 of 104 in Nusa Lembongan
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locomotive Hotel and Spa
Locomotive Hotel and Spa
#34 of 104 in Nusa Lembongan
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyuh Gading Home Stay Lembongan
Nyuh Gading Home Stay Lembongan
#30 of 140 in Nusa Lembongan
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Baruna Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Baruna Guesthouse

Address: Jungutbatu, 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: £24 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pondok Baruna Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Baruna Lembongan offers a range of tasteful Balinese styled accommodation on the beautiful island of Nusa Lembongan, Bali. Pondok Baruna offers three different accommodation options to guests: Pondok Baruna Frangipani is our Premier Resort offering luxury bungalows for those wanting to relax in peaceful tranquility. Our Garden Rooms offer mid range facilities in the heart of the village and just 35 meters from the beach whilst our Sea View rooms, located just 5 meters from the beach, are perfect for those on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pondok Baruna Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Baruna Guesthouse Hotel Nusa Lembongan
Pondok Baruna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing