We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potentialities, needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pondok Baruna Guesthouse
Ranked #41 of 105 Nusa Lembongan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We were there in June 2009, the garden rooms were under construction, so we stayed in a sea-front room.
We were next to the dive center, so logistically excellent.
Maybe a bit of lack of privacy but this really did not bother us at all, as the rooms are higher than the walking path. The view over the sea at night is stunning...
Comfort is average, the room is basic, there is no airco but only some fans, which made the week quite heavy, due to the temperature and the humidity.
The bathroom was very very poor, after few days it stopped working, so we had to use the one of the diving center (just 10 mt away), which was ok solution, even if not really the top.
We found the staff of the resort and the diving center always very available and nice.
The food is excellent, also personalised if you need.
Accommodation and food were really cheap.
Should we go back, we would choose the garden rooms, which looked more comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Maybe we picked a bad week to go, but we wanted a simple place at a dive centre, with hot water and air con, which seemed to be the case. However they only had power in the evenings, and for 2 days/nights there was none at all!! No good for charging cameras/ torches, or apparently for running water which apparently came down via an electric pump. Maybe it was just this week. We moved to another place nearby with a generator and continued to dive with World diving. The garden view rooms were nice, overlooking a little pool where they do dive training. Breakfast basic but ok. Don't go for the sea front rooms if you're not a diver as there is lots of passing foot traffic and noisy divers kitting up outside the room. No safe in the room but the dive shop will put your things in theirs. Dive operation was good, if a little chaotic and busy, they were very good about getting me back in the water after I had a silly episode and scared myself.

Room Tip: garden room, not sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLWxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed in a Pondok Baruna garden room for five nights in December. It was ok.

The room was good in that it was relatively clean and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was smelly and not very clean.

Pool area is quite nice and generally pretty quiet.

Being a surfer, Pondok is in a very good spot. Could ride my scooter 2 minutes north and be looking out at both shipwrecks and lacerations.

Worst part about Pondok is the staff. They are not very helpful and speak little english (which is fine). I totally agree with another review that mentioned the staff just sitting around playing on their phones.

Room Tip: Be aware that the seafront rooms are very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed here in July 2011 with my two teenage daughters. How you enjoy it depends on what you expect. You are in Lembongan, not the heart of Kuta! It reminded me of Bali 30 years ago. Its not an upmarket place that caters to the demands of some tourists, but it is quiet, friendly and safe. The 'cafe" isnt open 24/7, and you dont get your every wish attended to, but the rooms are clean, staff are pleasant and helpful, and it has a lovely atmosphere. There are restaurants and shops close by that can provide internet access, meals and alcohol if desired. Sometimes I think that we expect too much, and find it hard to adjust to a different lifestyle. Yes, it would have been nice to have a fridge, and tea making facilities and TV in our rooms....but this is an island in Indonesia that offers a different experience. All three of us loved the opportunity to relax, enjoy the local people and ...just be in Indonesia!
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fenellak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We booked Pondok Baruna after being impressed with the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our experience, however, did not live up to expectations. The room itself is simple but as expected for the price. We paid extra for a garden room for the air conditioning (a must!) but whilst we were there the power was off during daylight hours. This was a problem across the island, but as Pondok Baruna did not have a generator, we consquently did not water during the day. This meant we could not shower after diving. The staff did not service our room despite requesting it and they sat around on the pool sun loungers playing on their phones all day. Empty bottles around the pool were not tidied up. There was only one safety deposit box in the guesthouse, kept behind reception, but when we handed over our belongings for safe keeping, they were put into an unlocked cupboard. We ended up locking our passports in our suitcases as we felt they were safest there (and no chance of the staff stealing them as they didn't bother to service the rooms anyway). On our last day, we found out that the owners were away on holiday. This probably explains the sheer laziness of the staff but certainly does not justify it. Extremely disappointed and an email of complaint will be sent.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ct2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Had a group booking here in September/ October. Very nice resort and very good value. Its a sister resort to Pondok Jenggala which is newer and next door.
Thoroughly recomend both places. Service was excellent. Certainly some of the best value for Nusa Lembongan

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daktari7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed for 3 days in a garden room with two adults and a 14 yr old. The setting is lovely and the room is fine but we really suffered with no fridge. We love a cold drink and a G&T at the end of the day but no way to cool the tonic or make ice. The staff were ok but not really friendly or helpful. One lady had a child's medicine that she was trying to keep cool so the addition of a fridge to each room would meet this basic need. We would also like to see a safe in each room for peace of mind. We travel with a large amount of cash and of course passports and travel docs.
The snack bar had very limited supplies and usually just told us to walk to the restaurant around the corner. They also had no tonic and no ice :-( Breakfast was ok but not much choice, croissants on the menu but they never had any.
The shower was the worst I've ever had, water saving with no pressure in the cold so it was either a trickle of luke warm water or scalding. Nowhere to put your soap and shampoo etc. except on the floor.
No TV but thats ok. Our air conditioner worked well but dripped a constant stream of water inside and outside the room.
We asked for an extra mattress when we booked but had to request again on arrival. They only gave us a sheet and when we asked for a light blanket they gave us another sheet.
The Baruna restaurant around the corner is good, nice food and good value.
The Pondok Baruna is very close to the dive shop so a convenient place to stay as long as you are aware of its limitations. The beachfront rooms while ideally located are just shacks, very run down and basic.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margynicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nusa Lembongan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sammada Hotel & Beach Club
Sammada Hotel & Beach Club
#9 of 27 in Nusa Lembongan
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Segara Beach Inn
Segara Beach Inn
#10 of 105 in Nusa Lembongan
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyuh Gading Home Stay Lembongan
Nyuh Gading Home Stay Lembongan
#32 of 141 in Nusa Lembongan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pondok Baruna Frangipani
Pondok Baruna Frangipani
#24 of 105 in Nusa Lembongan
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tigerlillys Boutique Hotel
Tigerlillys Boutique Hotel
#1 of 105 in Nusa Lembongan
235 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nicho's Bungalows & Villas
The Nicho's Bungalows & Villas
#96 of 141 in Nusa Lembongan
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Baruna Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Baruna Guesthouse

Address: Jungutbatu, 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Lembongan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Nusa Lembongan
Price Range: £23 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pondok Baruna Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Baruna Lembongan offers a range of tasteful Balinese styled accommodation on the beautiful island of Nusa Lembongan, Bali. Pondok Baruna offers three different accommodation options to guests: Pondok Baruna Frangipani is our Premier Resort offering luxury bungalows for those wanting to relax in peaceful tranquility. Our Garden Rooms offer mid range facilities in the heart of the village and just 35 meters from the beach whilst our Sea View rooms, located just 5 meters from the beach, are perfect for those on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Pondok Baruna Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Baruna Guesthouse Hotel Nusa Lembongan
Pondok Baruna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing