We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, reasonably priced, superb views & close to town.”
Review of Hotel Elena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elena
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Recco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The tourist information gave us a selection of hotels to try and we chose the one closest to where we were parked. A good choice! Along with tho other attributes already mentioned we had off street parking for our hire car and a very fine breakfast included. At 90 euro for the night we considered it to be very good value. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel is located on a side street a little hard to get there the first time, the hotel is clean and convenience, we picked Elena because is close enough to other towns by driving within 15-20 minutes (or take train) this hotel was our home for 6 nights. Also breakfast is good and great service
Only one complain, the floors are marble very nice and easy to clean however it echoes throughout the hallways when people are walking specialty at night and if they are wearing high stilettos. I will recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lupe92129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Unfortunately, this hotel stop lasted a mere 14 hours.

Our stay was both outstanding and awful. The view was fantastic (WOW!) which was enhanced with the balcony. The manager at check-in was particularly nice to us – since we have business associates in common. The room ((401) was worth the $98 I paid - without the view – except for one awful problem: the sewage line in the bathroom was not plumbed properly and the smell of the sewer woke me in the middle of the night it as so bad. We were on a tough tour (long days and late dinners) and needed rest before another long day. Closing the bathroom door and opening the balcony door was a more-efficient way to deal with the issue and my greatest need (more sleep!)than complaining. But that doesn’t make things right - especially since using the bathroom in the morning was so awful my wife threw-up twice before the air cleared. A mention of the issue to the morning desk clerk was met with far too much nodding and empty patronizing. 3 staff member encounters: 1 great, 1 mediocre and 1 wanting.

Parking here is difficult, though the clerk assured me that there was more parking under construction soon-to-be-completed. I couldn’t unload my bags before they were pushing me to drive off to find a parking space. The actual road that Hotel Elena is on a road that is accessible from only one direction. If you arrive from the north, you must drive past the hotel (within 20 meters of it) and come back from the south. Also of importance: that road has no other exit, so if you need to drive north you must drive south first and then turn about to avoid wasting a few minutes finding the end of lane that your GPS may assume is the road above it as mine did. Finally, the bathtub we requested (and got) had a broken plug mechanism (which could have been the source of the smell), so my wife was unable to take the bath that so relaxes her during these arduous trips from winery to winery, vineyard to vineyard and rushing from one region to the next. (Professional visits are just a bit more work than tourists getting drunk...)

The breakfast itself was decent, though it was heavy on the sugar; plenty of fruits, jams, cakes, tarts and pastries to eat, but bread, butter, hard-boiled eggs, cream cheese and another packaged wedge cheese were the only available savory items. Top marks for providing a service oven to keep some of the pastries warm! Americans will also appreciate the pot of coffee (as opposed to some breakfast service that offers only espresso and cappuccino.) There is a large dining patio with the same incredible view to make this a top breakfast experience. WiFi signal is good, but one of those systems where you must log in every time you start a session.

The bottom line comes from weighing the sewage smell (which is beyond nasty – it is a health issue) and the parking versus the one manager and the view. I can’t help but hope that the sewage issue will be resolved (despite the morning manager not giving me any confidence that she understood the problem) and we already know the parking is being addressed. I am forgiving and will endorse this hotel despite my bad and good experience.

Room Tip: Seaside view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Wonderful views across the sea at sunset.
Friendly staff. Some people on other sites complained about the breakfast. Not sure why, we had hot pastries, bread, eggs, cakes, cheese, tomatoes, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, hot milk, tea. Strong showers, clean rooms. Close to the bus stop for camogli, Ruta etc. free wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, great location and a comfortable room with a clean modern bathroom for €80. And an excellent buffet breakfast for 2 included. We'll be back. I don't have time to say anymore but it seems reviews have to be over 200 characters. Very good hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfreesun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in late August, 2012. Our whole experience there was pleasant from beginning to end. First before our arrival we communicated by email (and Skype) with very pleasant people, who were patient and helpful. When we arrived late in the evening, we found the hotel clean, and the night receptionist knowledgable and friendly. Our room on the +1 floor (street level is 0) was also clean, comfortable and roomy, as was the modern bathroom. We even had a balcony! Coincidentally, there were outdoor concerts and music which we could enjoy from our room.The next morning,we woke up to a stunning view of the beach, harbor, and city. Just gorgeous! Our breakfast was full and ample, with many choices, and with outdoor seating as well. Again the staff was eager to please, even preparing a cold chocolate drink at my request. They were even very generous about allowing us to use their computer. The city itself was charming and great for walking and relatively inexpensive dining. We took day trips to Cinque Terre by train and to Portofino by boat, both destinations well worth visits. It was a terrific choice of hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floor levels seem more desirable, but all seem good. Fllor numbers range from -2 (lowest, clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had planned 5 nights in Switzerland but drive down to Recco last minute. Hotel Elena was perfect. The staff was helpful - the breakfast plentiful and good - outdoor seating overlooking the water. Our room was clean and had a balcony with a perfect view. We were able to walk to shopping and restaurants. The Hotel even offered a small private beach. I would highly recommend this Hotel. You will not be disappointed. Free wifi!

Room Tip: The elevator was slow so maybe a room on the first floor might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recco
0.7 mi away
Hotel Manuelina La Villa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Da O' Vittorio
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Camogliese
Hotel La Camogliese
#2 of 6 in Camogli
446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casmona
Hotel Casmona
#3 of 6 in Camogli
223 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elena

Address: Corso Garibaldi 5, 16036 Recco, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Recco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Recco
Price Range: £414 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elena 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect location in the center of the beautiful Recco, the Hotel Elena enjoys an ideal setting nearby Portofino, Genoa and Cinque Terre. The Hotel Elena presents itself with an elegant Villa from which you can admire directly the sea. The hotel has been completely renewed in order to satisfy the most demanding guest without loosing the friendly atmosphere. Nearby the Elena guests can easily have access to Golf Course, Tennis Club, Imbarcadero for boats and ferries, Tourist Port with charter, Diving Centre and several bathing establishments. The hotel offers access to the private beach (from June 5 till to September 30) equipped with umbrellas and chairs and for which is required a supplement of 15 euros per day for two person. BREAKFAST: The Buffet breakfast is served from 7,30 am to 10,00 am. In summer you can have breakfast on the terrace where a Buffet is made of tasteful things - especially the typical "focaccia alla Genovese", cakes, pastries and freshly baked croissants prepared daily by the famous pastry Chef Pâtissiers Moltedo . Possibility to request a room service even for breakfast with a supplement of 5.00 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elena Hotel Recco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing