We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for local touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandarcy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Planned to stay Bank Hol Monday 26 May + Tues, ended up staying 4 nights. Very convenient location for touring Swansea and Gower and Neath valley and further west ( Penllergaer Woods highly recommended and only 5 mins drive away).
Very comfortable room, facing south away from the motorway, no road noise despite being alongside the M4. Buffet breakfast suited the two of us - hot scrambled egg, sausages and beans for me! Evening meals in the adjacent Harvester.
Good value for money as other comparable hotels I've stayed at within 5 miles cost more, don't include breakfast and one even charges for parking.
Staff were incredibly welcoming, very professional and attentive at all time s- late at night and very early one morning.
Only negative was having to leave the window open as it was so warm and hearing a very loud crash each evening as the empty bottles from the Harvester were emptied in to the skip after 11pm! Having said that I've stayed in london where there was a constant wail of police sirens!

Room Tip: Room on other side to motorway might be quieter. Family room means you have a sofa bed to sit on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us and we are pleased that you had a great stay. We are also pleased that you found the location good for exploring the Gower which has fantastic beaches and scenery.
It was also great to hear that you enjoyed the free breakfast that we offer our guests and that you found the staff to be attentive and welcoming which is something we pride ourselves on at Holiday Inn Express Swansea.
Once again, thank you for the comments and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

... be aware, there is no air conditioning, just a fan and the hotel is right next to the M4, so leaving the window open will entail road noise. It was a bit stuffy in late May. Next to a Harvester (basically an Applebee's in UK). Beds were small, but room size was not too bad. Did not seem like there was enough parking(shared with the Harvester) if the hotel is near capacity; parking right next to the hotel is limited.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay. Please be assured that all feedback is greatly received. I am sorry that you were disappointed that there was no air conditioning in the room which is why we have put fans in all of our rooms. In regards to the car park,I agree that it does get quite full especially when we are at full capacity and hope that you werent too inconvenienced.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here and it made a great base for exploring the Swansea coastal area. Easy drive to rhossoli bay and three cliffs bay (less than 30 min); 15 minutes to the city of Swansea. Hotel was clean, nice size rooms, free wifi coverage throughout hotel, great breakfast - and most importantly the staff- friendliest, attentive staff (Hayley, her male colleague working with her, and all of the others) that went out of their way to help you.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank LeeAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the beautiful scenery that the Gower has to offer. Also I have passed on your comments to the team members that you mentioned in your review. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel in March while visiting family. Excellent hotel, helpful friendly staff, spacious spotlessly clean room, good breakfast choice and seriously good value for money. Before travelling down to Wales I stayed in a London hotel for 3 nights and after that experience this place was a breath of fresh air! Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on the next visit.

Room Tip: Very good sound proofing so it doesn't seem to matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandJHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Many thanks for the excellent feedback you gave regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a great stay and found the hotel offered great value for money. We are also extremely happy that you found the free breakfast offered a good choice and that the staff were friendly and helpful.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel the location is 10mins drive to swansea and just under an hour drive from Cardiff. As soon as we arrived the staff were so professional and helpful. Their lounge/bar and restaurant is bright and spacious aswell as the rooms and the breakfast has lots to choose from. The best thing about this hotel without a doubt is the staff they couldnt have been more helpful and made our stay extra special! I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back!!!!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. The Heineken Cup weekend was extremely busy and it was great to hear such positive comments. We are really pleased that you were happy with the breakfast, accommodation and also the staff who you say made your stay that little bit more special.
Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from staying in this wonderful hotel.I honestly cannot say enough about such a great place to stay.staff were all friendly and helpful.hotel was fresh and spotless.rooms were spacious and comfortable.you can take a train from nearby neath station to swansea and cardiff.special mention to Hallie Rhys James and Simon for making us all feel so welcome.would highly recommend staying here and will definitely be back.:)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ballyerlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Many thanks for the kind comments you made regarding your recent stay with us. We are really pleased that you had a great stay and I have passed on your wonderful comments to the team.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked in here because hubby is in Swansea on business and we didn't realise it was a Bank Holiday Weekend & the Heineken Cup and so choice of hotels, B&B's, rentals with parking and wifi was severely limited. This is close to Jersey Marine and Neath and the hotel is quite far from anything. You need a car. It is convenient for the M4 motorway though so easy to visit other places in Wales.

On site is a Harvester restaurant. It was very busy on a Sunday with a 25 minute wait so we chose to hop in the car and go elsewhere (nowhere that is worth a mention here). There is a McDonalds fairly locally and the hotel does do quick meals, e.g, Pizza, and it has a small bar. There is also a "mini shop" on site that looks like a fridge or vending machine where you help yourself and then pay at the desk. Items stocked are pot noodles, crisps, etc. There is also a microwave. Tesco & Morrison is about a 10 minute drive away. The town is about a 10 minute drive away as well.

There is a good amount of parking spaces on site at the hotel and it is free.

Staff on reception are really friendly and very nice and welcoming. Check in is smooth.

We were allocated room 113 on the 1st floor which is near the lift. The room was decently furnished, although I hated the angled wooden headboard that looked as if it had dropped down one side! I kept feeling as if I needed to fix it :D It was well appointed with reasonable wardrobe space for a few suits and shirts, a desk for working on with a lamp, tea and coffee making facilities, a fan, a large flat screen tv, a floor lamp, bedside lamps, a couple of plug points (we always bring our own extension lead as it is always useful everywhere we go), side tables, stool. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The curtains were quite thick and so we were able to block out the morning light and sleep later, which is always nice.

Our room, as it was one of the last remaining as we booked so late, was adapted for wheelchair or disabled guests as it had a wetroom. This wasn't a problem for us for the couple of nights we stayed.

We did hear people leaving the Harvester at night but the noise didn't go on for too long and so it wasn't a problem.

This hotel wasn't booked through choice as we didn't have many options but we had a pleasant stay and the only thing I didn't like was the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicksibubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found the free car parking an added bonus to your stay and also found the staff friendly and welcoming.
I was also pleased to hear that you were happy with the room that you were allocated and found it spacious.
In regards to the location, we find that most guests are happy with it so that they are not right in the centre of Swansea where all the late bars and clubs are so that they can get a good nights sleep. There is a bus service outside the hotel that will take you to Swansea or Neath if you didnt want to drive.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandarcy
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
753 reviews
4.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
4.1 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swansea East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swansea East

Address: Neath Rd, Llandarcy SA10 6GZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Llandarcy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandarcy
Price Range: £39 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swansea East 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the easy-access Holiday Inn Express Swansea - East, close to city centre offices and beach escapes. Our friendly staff will greet you as you arrive in the bright Lobby at the Holiday Inn Express Swansea-East. Our quiet hotel, with its leafy garden and large car park, is just 1 minute from the London-bound M4 motorway and 41 miles from Cardiff International Airport. It's just a 10-minute drive from the Holiday Inn Express Swansea West to the DVLA and Swansea Council's city centre offices. Invite delegates to our 3 bright meeting rooms, and access free WiFi. Stay in touch with free WiFI in your comfy guest room or simply relax and watch your favourite shows on the 32-inch flat screen TVs. Your tour of the Gower Peninsula's dramatic coastline starts at the Victorian seaside town of Mumbles, 13 miles away. The Brecon Beacons National Park, with its waterfalls and valleys, is 30 minutes by car. Wake up daily to our inclusive Express Start buffet breakfast with selected hot items served in the comfort of the Great Room lounge daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swansea East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swansea West m4, Jct 43 Hotel Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Express Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Swansea
Llandarcy Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East Llandarcy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing