We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality for a budget price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandarcy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this Holiday Inn. The beds were very comfortable, the room was well designed - and even the remote for the tv worked! The latter is rare in my experience.

Most importantly given my complaint about unsafe bathroom fittings in my review of another much more expensive hotel, the shower room was great. A good size shower cublcle with a non-slip shower tray and simple bar control and excellent shower head; a tiled floor for which a nice large fluffy bath mat was provided; and very cleverly, the door to the shower room also serves as a door to the loo, making it possible for the loo to be used separately and privately. No lack of nice big fluffy bath towels either.

In addition, the breakfast was excellent. No gripes here about lack of plain muesli and lousy coffee. Both were provided as well as hot dishes, toast of various kinds, croissants, and fresh fruit. I could start my day feeling human :-)

There's also free wifi, - and the staff were lovely.

This place ticks all the boxes for me - a great base for exploring the area as well as for business customers and at a sensible price.

Room Tip: Our room (a twin) was at the rear, closest to the M4, but with the window closed we didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 691amandak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you had a great stay and found that all the boxes were ticked for you.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights to attend a friends wedding in the local area. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable with a choice of pillows. Breakfast was fine and met our needs. My only complaint was the WiFi ...it was advertised all over the hotel, shame it didn't work, I tried it on my i Phone and Laptop but nothing.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jace935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the complimentary breakfast met your needs. I am sorry that you were unable to connnect to our free wifi that is available throughout the hotel and had you informed reception I am sure they would have been more than happy to get you connected and if there was a problem they could have contacted our internet supplier for you. Once again I am sorry that you found a problem with the internet and glad that everything else was perfect for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stay in Holiday Inn/ Holiday Inn Express' often as we love the quality and that they are all very similar.
Swansea East Express was fab. We stopped here for one night before watching our football team play at the Liberty Stadium which was 13 mins away in the car.
Usual Express quality.
Rooms average sized.
2 kids slept on the sofa bed which was comfy.
Coffee and tea making facilities.
Quick free wifi for 2 devices.
Widescreen Freeview TV.
Bathroom equipped well.
Helpful staff.
Clean and pleasant decor.
Free basic brekkie is good and gives you fruit, cereals, cakes and a few hot choices. Can't complain.
HIE Swansea East keeps the HIE standards well

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Many thanks for your excellent comments you posted regarding your recent stay with us. We are really pleased that you had a great stay and that you found Holiday Inn Express Swansea met your expectations and kept to the HIE standards.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

9 out of 10 stays at HIE, you are guaranteed a no non sense, as stated in the tin, accommodation.
Clean rooms, decent bath amenities, coffee machines, swift and courteous check in, adequate breakfast, comfortable beds for a good nights rest, very spacious rooms - and all this at a pocket friendly price (£75 per night during a bank holiday, last minute booking).
5 stars because compared to the price paid and the value of the entire package, it is unmatched. Yes it is monotonous, and you would be hard pressed to differentiate between another HIE in another city - but it is the consistency that I like.
I do like the boutique B&B's. But at times, especially when we are out the entire day trekking/cycling, all we need is comfortable and clean rooms and this is what they do really well. No gimmicks. No fuss.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are really pleased that you had yet another great stay with us and found everything we offered you was what you expected from the brand.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The comment that wifi is available is an absolute joke..I paid £5 for the increased speed option only for it to 'forget' causing me to spend half an hour on the phone to the technical department who temporarily fixed the issue only for it to revert back to slower than a dial up connection from circa 1997 after about an hour..the staff on the front desk were however helpful after the first incident, I didn't bother reporting the ongoing issue as I couldn't be bothered being palmed off by the call centre technical department..very poor!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Cas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Many thanks for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you had an issue with the wifi at the hotel and the problem has been reported to our internet provider. I am glad, however that you found the staff at the hotel helpful and that they assisted you the best they could with your internet problem.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here on business for one night on 19th August.

Check in was smooth with no issues. The room was clean, well maintained and more than adequate.

I ate in the Harvester next door. I have had mixed experiences at Harvester's. If I had read the comments on TA concerning this restaurant, I'd have probably not have gone. However, it was not until after I had eaten there that I read them. I have to say that my experience was very positive.

I cannot speak for the rest of the hotel, but in my room I found the standard free wireless to be pretty slow - this is a pain when you're working.

The bar/dining area felt a little formal. More tables and chairs than comfy seats (there were a few), but this is probably to be expected, given that this area also doubles for breakfast.

Breakfast (in general) was tasty. I arrived just after 8am, and so too did the rest of the hotel it seems. There was a large number of oriental tourists who had, it felt like, taken over the relatively small area. Having been on coach type hotels, I can imagine that they had a time to leave and all told to get breakfast a 8am! It was chaotic.

All in all, still a very good stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CathyM_and_IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I had a 3 night stay over the weekend and were very impressed with everything connected to the hotel.very friendly staff, clean rooms comfortable beds. Simple breakfast, you won't get full English but that's a minor grump.
10 minutes from Swansea City centre, the Mumbles and The Gower. Plenty of golf courses, restaurants, bars, we will return soon

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesM4J43, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swansea East, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you had a great stay and found the hotel met all your needs and expectations. Once again thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandarcy
2.7 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
763 reviews
4.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
3.3 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 22 in Swansea
835 reviews
2.2 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swansea East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swansea East

Address: Neath Rd, Llandarcy SA10 6GZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Llandarcy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llandarcy
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swansea East 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the easy-access Holiday Inn Express Swansea - East, close to city centre offices and beach escapes. Our friendly staff will greet you as you arrive in the bright Lobby at the Holiday Inn Express Swansea-East. Our quiet hotel, with its leafy garden and large car park, is just 1 minute from the London-bound M4 motorway and 41 miles from Cardiff International Airport. It's just a 10-minute drive from the Holiday Inn Express Swansea West to the DVLA and Swansea Council's city centre offices. Invite delegates to our 3 bright meeting rooms, and access free WiFi. Stay in touch with free WiFI in your comfy guest room or simply relax and watch your favourite shows on the 32-inch flat screen TVs. Your tour of the Gower Peninsula's dramatic coastline starts at the Victorian seaside town of Mumbles, 13 miles away. The Brecon Beacons National Park, with its waterfalls and valleys, is 30 minutes by car. Wake up daily to our inclusive Express Start buffet breakfast with selected hot items served in the comfort of the Great Room lounge daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swansea East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swansea West m4, Jct 43 Hotel Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Express Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Swansea
Llandarcy Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Llandarcy
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East Llandarcy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing