We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Lilleshall B&B and Inns
shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wedding experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We attended my cousins wedding yesterday. Overall we had a fab day, but this was because we let many things 'slide' as nobody wanted to upset the day. From the moment we arrived and went to reception to check in, i felt like the receptionist was not happy and very defensive when we tried to iron out minor errors with the bookings. Nobodys fault, and we just wanted to check in, but she obviously felt the need to act in this way. I felt like they were not happy to have us there. Not welcoming at all but i ignored it as we were so looking forward to having a lovely day.

I have extensive experience of workiing in an environment where customer service is the most important part of the business so i am aware that i expect high standards. For this reason, i don't always complain, as long as i have a smile and i feel welcome, i'm happy enough. Also, in my experience, if a receptionist is defensive about small things that you just need addressing, it's usually because they have a lot of complaints!

The rooms were average but very clean and what you would expect from a sports facility, but not what you would expect from a hotel. The plastic cups had been used before and turned upside down to be used again - they had mouth marks around the rims - yuk! The biggest problem was that many of the bedrooms were 'freezing' cold, my 8 year old son woke at 2.30am upset because he was so cold, even though i had put extra clothing on him. I had to use bath towels and a coat as makeshift blankets on his bed. There is no way of contacting reception from your room and i had no mobile phone signal. I didn't want to leave him/take him out in the night to find someone who could help with extra bedding.

We spoke to reception staff in the morning who said that athletes had checked out the same morning and not mentioned being cold. They also said if it had been cold, the buildings thermostat would have kicked in... Completely defensive and unapproachable... Doesn't change the fact that we were freezing to the point i was shivering under the duvet. More than half of our party that stayed over had the same problem. I spoke to 2 people who said there room was ok but they are used to sleeping with windows open regardless of the weather. The beds were very hard which i personally don't mind but my children complained anout theirs being lumpy and hard.

To recap, the positives are the food which was very enjoyable. The grounds are amazing and very well kept. On a negative note, I certainly got the feeling that maybe they are great at hosing athletic/sports teams but in my opinion, the staff do not have the right attitude to deal with a wedding party. The only time i did feel warmth from any of the staff was at breakfast from the kitchen staff - they were lovely.

I think the message here is they are a sports centre. A wedding is such a special, personal day that has been planned and looked forward to for so long, not to mention saved up for! I would not recommend lilleshall as a wedding venue until the staff have been 'rebriefed' and extensively retrained to work in an industry that is very different to hosting sporting events.

Lilleshall, you have the facilities to be a fantastic place and setting for very special days, your hosting staff are letting you down......

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank netsShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
9
7
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I contacted Lilleshall because me and my partner were interested in holding our Wedding reception there.
After looking through the brochure i realised there wasn't any prices for the childrens menu so i contacted them to ask about these but they couldn't tell me over the phone so i had to wait a week for them to come back to me with the prices.
I then tried to make an appointment to arrange to go and have a look around Anne emailed me back a couple of days later to say they could do Friday 17th February 2012 i emailed straight back to say we had another appointment that day so couldn't make that one but we were free any other day. Anne didnt email back so i emailed her again and again and i am still to this day waiting for someone to come back to me.
I feel their customer service skills are poor and they have a can't be bothered attitude.
This venue is no longer an option for us to consider for our Wedding.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kpabarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lilleshall hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I was told i'd be working here for a few weeks and it would make sense to stay on site. Never again. I stayed in 6 different rooms over 6 weeks. Receptionists were upperty and rude and seemed to only have time for other staff. General maintenance was non existent, carpets threadbare, wardrobe doors hanging off, laughable excuse for wireless internet, showers that are impossible to get to a bearable temperature, clanking pipes at all hours of the day, i could go on. The cleaners do their best, but it must be difficult for them in such a horrible place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I've stayed in Lilleshall several times a year for the last few years as I had no choice (part of a sporting organisation)

Lets start with the rooms - most of the beds are like ploughed fields, or boxes with covers on... EXTREMELY uncomfortable.
If you get a TV that works, you'll be very very lucky.
Many of the rooms have cupboards with the doors falling off.
The tiles in the bathrooms are cracked, and the general maintenance is very very poor.

In terms of heating, it's usually either too hot or too cold. Don't go at the start or end of the winter as they use that as an excuse to minimise the availability of heating.

Foot in the canteen is OK, as long as you don't get stuck with the leftovers or take anything called 'steak' best to stick with the Salad or baked potato usually.

Don't bother trying to book directly. The girls in the booking office usually just let the answerphone take the call and rarely call back.

Wouldn't even give this place 2 stars...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkEllis034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilleshall
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
4.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
3.8 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
5.8 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre

Property: Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre
Address: Lilleshall National Sports Centre Pave Lane | near Newport, Lilleshall TF10 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Lilleshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lilleshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilleshall was originally built in 1831 as the hunting lodge and family retreat of the Duke of Sutherland. It first became a National Sports Centre in 1951 and was opened by the then Princess Elizabeth II with the original plaque still in place in the entrance to the main hall. It was Lilleshall's connection with Association Football that brought the Centre to the attention of the nation. The England team trained for two weeks at Lilleshall prior to their success in the World Cup of 1966. In 1967, Sir Alfred Ramsey returned to the Centre to unveil a plaque to commemorate his team's stay and endorse the view that Lilleshall could justly claim some credit for England's famous victory. In 1984 The Football Association's School of Excellence was established welcoming young talent such as Michael Owen, Jamie Carragher, Sol Campbell and Joe Cole to name but a few. Today Lilleshall is an elite training centre for some of the country's leading sportsmen and women and regularly welcomes use by numerous sports bodies. With its unique and rich heritage and commitment to providing a World Class Experience, Lilleshall is a certainly a place where you can wake up and feel inspired. Lilleshall is situated among the spectacular and secluded surroundings of the Shropshire countryside within 134 hectares of English Heritage Grade II listed grounds. The main house (Lilleshall Hall) overlooks the beautiful Capability Brown inspired gardens. As well as a range of world class facilities available for use (bookable in advance), the Centre has two walking routes. The 2.5 mile Discovery Trail will provide you with the chance to discover some of Lilleshall's many gems including the Italian Water Garden, the Pet Cemetery and the World Class Sports Facilities. The 6 mile Adventure Fitness Trail enables you to discover these gems but also provides you with the chance to test your fitness, taking you through the woodland belts alongside the estate's 2 mile sweeping drive to the golden gates (an exact replica of those at Buckingham Palace), before returning (a steady climb all the way!) to explore the heart of the estate. Work is also underway on a nature trail which is due to be open in the Summer. Visitors can reserve rooms in one of three purpose built accommodation blocks, a short walk from reception, the dining room and bar. (Sorry no rooms available in the main house). Room facilities include tea & coffee making, digital HD television, hairdryers and free WIFI along with ample free parking. There is a cafe bar open from 7:30 - 23:00 where you can enjoy hot and cold food and drinks. Beyond the site, Lilleshall is well placed for many local attractions including Weston Park, Ironbridge Gorge and Museums, Hoo Farm, Telford Town Park and Wonderland, The Wrekin, RAF Museum Cosford, Telford Ski Centre and Telford International Centre. The historic market town of Newport, where you will find many independent shops, pubs and restaurants, is approximately 4 miles away. Telford, with its many tourist attractions, shopping centre, cafes, bars, restaurants and cinemas, is within a 15 minute drive. The towns of Stafford, Wolverhampton and Shrewsbury are all within a 25 minute drive. Room prices start from just £38.50. Check in is from 1.30pm Monday - Saturday and 5.30pm on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing