We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Lilleshall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just before Christmas we were invited to a wedding held at Lilleshall Hall. The venue in the old part of the hall was perfect. The staff were very attentive, the food was excellent and if the weather had been a little warmer it would have been great to walk around the beautiful gardens. We stayed overnight in one of the double rooms. They are not luxurious but are very clean and the bed very firm which suited my bad back. The only negative side of the stay was the breakfast. The plates were cold and we were unable to pick our own sausage and bacon as the waitress behind the buffet counter put them on our plates for us. My husband does like his food cremated but this was not. The only eggs are poached as we were told they were healthy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Many thanks for the feedback on your recent visit to and stay at Lilleshall. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience at the wedding.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with breakfast, we do operate a servery service on all our meals taken in the Main Dining Room. With regards the poached eggs, this is in line with our usual healthy eating policy, in which we serve scrambled and poached eggs as an alternative to fried. Our plates are usually heated and therefore to ensure consistency we will be more attentive with the temperature of these in the future.

Our grounds are open to visitors* most of the year round, so we would be more than happy to welcome you back when it is a little warmer.

* Animals are not permitted with the exception of guide dogs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had a company Christmas party at Lilleshall for 60 of us last week and around 25 of us stayed the night. It was a great event - the alcohol flowed, the disco played and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had a Christmas meal and the food was hearty - not fine dining but big portions which suited most of our group.

I was a bit concerned about the bedrooms having read earlier reviews - but the rooms / block that we stayed in looked like they were brand-new. Everything spotless and well finished. An interesting quirk is the bathroom light has a motion sensor and it doesn't seem to cover the shower - so the light kept going off while I was mid-shower - disconcerting to start with but if you wave your hand over the top of the shower screen door the light comes on again!

Breakfast was canteen style and suited our group very well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MesoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the motion sensors in your bathroom.

The bathroom sensors have been installed as part of our commitment to energy saving across the site and reducing our carbon footprint. A review of the time setting on the sensors will be undertaken to ensure that the incident that you experienced does not occur in future.

We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the event and hope to see you again this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just got ack from a first sty at Lilleshall for a Squash Coaching Conference. The accommodation is fine with great views of the fabulous grounds. The food is really good, nutritious and lots of variety. The soup at the conference meal was fantastic! I read that people say its a canteen like restaurant, but I don't have a problem with that as the food was good and service quick. The timings a realistic to the events going on. Will definitely come back again and wouldn't mind going again if we wanted to stay for a weekend away

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the accommodation and food was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at the Lilleshall National Sports Centre as part of table tennis on the weekend of 12/13th October. From the outside the place looks fantastic but its a whole different story inside. My floor in my room had not been cleaned and found various things on the floor. In the bathroom i found the shower head was low and tried to move it up and by doing so the pipe attached to the shower came off, i managed to put it back on but then when i had a shower the water wasn't hot, lukewarm at best. In terms of the food it isn't a restaurant it is just a canteen with hardly any choice of food and breakfast times are absolutely ridiculous (7:30-8:30) on a Sunday morning. I am so glad it was only a weekend stay and that i didn't have to pay for any of it as it was paid for me by the English Table Tennis Association. One word AVOID!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrtT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Moore_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay at Lilleshall on a table tennis sporting camp. I was disappointed and concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction. High standards of cleanliness and guest comfort in our rooms are extremely important to us and I assure you that what you describe is unusual. I am so very sorry to hear that you did not experience our usual standards. I would be grateful if you could contact me as soon as possible with the room number you stayed in so that we can find out exactly what happened here and ensure it doesn’t happen again. I appreciate that you may not remember the room number, however if you can tell us the name of the accommodation block and floor that would help. You can send this information to enquiries.lilleshall@serco.com. As you say, the service in the dining room is more akin to a cafeteria, with tray service and self-clearance. It is not a typical restaurant, with diners frequently dressed in sports attire and aged anywhere from 8 to 80. Meal times are agreed with Sport England at times to meet with needs / schedules of typical sporting camps. We did provide an early lunch to meet the requirements of your camp organisers. I am sorry that you weren’t happy with the choice of food. Our breakfast offering that weekend, as per usual, consisted of poached and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, fresh tomatoes, toast & preserves, natural yoghurt, strawberry yoghurt, fruit of the forest, fresh fruit salad and grapefruit segments, Danish pastries, 5 choices of cereals, selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate, orange juice and squash. The lunch menu is homemade soup with fresh bread, 2 x main choices, a vegetarian option, baked potatoes with fillings, 2 carbohydrates, 2 vegetables, a hot dessert, chilled dessert selection (at least 5 choices), salad bar. Our own research tells us that the majority of our customers are delighted with the selection available, however we are sorry that you feel there wasn’t much choice. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you with more information on the room you were in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here to attend a model airs how at Weston Park. I had not realised precisely what it was but the place was lovely. The room wasabi great and the staff had arranged to zip link the beds which was lovely. We ate at they centre as it s a bit remote and not too easy to find anywhere else. The food was very uninspiring and very canteenish, in fact that is what the eating arrangements were. Apart from that our room and the lovely grounds were superb.
The reception staff seemed pretty disinterested and kept me waiting while they discussed house keeping issues

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We went to a wedding reception here at the end of July 2013. It's impressive from the moment you enter the long driveway. The weather was perfect, which always helps, and the setting is perfect for wedding photographs. We started with drinks on the terrace and moved to a plush function room for the main reception. The food was superb and the service both efficient and friendly. Very impressed and we were told that it was a reasonable cost compared to others venues the bride and groom had considered. Great day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I have been fortunate with my job to have travelled worldwide and stayed in many great locations and Lilleshall is one of them.

Set in amazing grounds the accommodation and facilities are excellent. I have stayed at Lilleshall every year for 7 years now and always enjoy my time there. With great food and staff that cannot do enough for you I look forward to returning each year.

You know its a great venue when you see our Olympic athletes staying there and using its facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre

Address: Lilleshall National Sports Centre Pave Lane | near Newport, Lilleshall TF10 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Lilleshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lilleshall
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilleshall was originally built in 1831 as the hunting lodge and family retreat of the Duke of Sutherland. It first became a National Sports Centre in 1951 and was opened by the then Princess Elizabeth II with the original plaque still in place in the entrance to the main hall. It was Lilleshall's connection with Association Football that brought the Centre to the attention of the nation. The England team trained for two weeks at Lilleshall prior to their success in the World Cup of 1966. In 1967, Sir Alfred Ramsey returned to the Centre to unveil a plaque to commemorate his team's stay and endorse the view that Lilleshall could justly claim some credit for England's famous victory. In 1984 The Football Association's School of Excellence was established welcoming young talent such as Michael Owen, Jamie Carragher, Sol Campbell and Joe Cole to name but a few. Today Lilleshall is an elite training centre for some of the country's leading sportsmen and women and regularly welcomes use by numerous sports bodies. With its unique and rich heritage and commitment to providing a World Class Experience, Lilleshall is a certainly a place where you can wake up and feel inspired. Lilleshall is situated among the spectacular and secluded surroundings of the Shropshire countryside within 134 hectares of English Heritage Grade II listed grounds. The main house (Lilleshall Hall) overlooks the beautiful Capability Brown inspired gardens. As well as a range of world class facilities available for use (bookable in advance), the Centre has two walking routes. The 2.5 mile Discovery Trail will provide you with the chance to discover some of Lilleshall's many gems including the Italian Water Garden, the Pet Cemetery and the World Class Sports Facilities. The 6 mile Adventure Fitness Trail enables you to discover these gems but also provides you with the chance to test your fitness, taking you through the woodland belts alongside the estate's 2 mile sweeping drive to the golden gates (an exact replica of those at Buckingham Palace), before returning (a steady climb all the way!) to explore the heart of the estate. Work is also underway on a nature trail which is due to be open in the Summer. Visitors can reserve rooms in one of three purpose built accommodation blocks, a short walk from reception, the dining room and bar. (Sorry no rooms available in the main house). Room facilities include tea & coffee making, digital HD television, hairdryers and free WIFI along with ample free parking. There is a cafe bar open from 7:30 - 23:00 where you can enjoy hot and cold food and drinks. Beyond the site, Lilleshall is well placed for many local attractions including Weston Park, Ironbridge Gorge and Museums, Hoo Farm, Telford Town Park and Wonderland, The Wrekin, RAF Museum Cosford, Telford Ski Centre and Telford International Centre. The historic market town of Newport, where you will find many independent shops, pubs and restaurants, is approximately 4 miles away. Telford, with its many tourist attractions, shopping centre, cafes, bars, restaurants and cinemas, is within a 15 minute drive. The towns of Stafford, Wolverhampton and Shrewsbury are all within a 25 minute drive. Room prices start from just £38.50. Check in is from 1.30pm Monday - Saturday and 5.30pm on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing