We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regimantal Association gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Lilleshall B&B and Inns
Sandy, Beds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Regimantal Association gathering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Accommodation very clean and comfortable but the rooms are a little small, flat screen TV and all the facilities you expect in a 1st class hotel , good views, excellent gardens. Only disappointment was the bar lunch. Despite being advised that a large group would probably want a bar lunch there didn't appear to be any special arrangements made. My wife and I were in the bar a few minutes before 1pm, the only item available was one chicken bagette which we shared. There was nothing left for others that came after us. However it was very pleasant sitting out in the garden with a beer. Evening meal, a BBQ provided and cooked by the staff was excellent both in quality and quantity. Breakfast times, 7.30 to 8.30am is a bit early for Sunday but food was again good. Generally most enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSAP4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre.

We are glad that you had a pleasant visit and found the facilities in the accommodation to your liking. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening BBQ, breakfast and sitting in the gardens but are disappointed that the lunch menu was not to your satisfaction. All feedback is important to us and we use this to improve. Additional customer service training is now being given to ensure that our staff are better able to anticipate our customer’s needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    20
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
7
2
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
640 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our room in Kent block was clean, with impressive panoramic views across the grounds. Over the bed was a plaque, a romantic reminder that "Winners Never Quit, Quitters Never Win". Not the best bedroom related advice I have ever received. Competitive sleeping is definitely not on the agenda at Lilleshall National Sports Centre. Breakfast is dished out between 7:30 and 8:30, even on a Sunday morning. And they do weddings and other boozy functions as well at Lilleshall National Sports Centre. I don't know about you, but after a boozy function, I like already to have had my five mile run by 8:00 at the latest, in anticipation of some anaemic bacon, pale and wan sausage, watery scrambled eggs and lukewarm brown toast. Like you probably do, I like to wash all that down with some coffee out of a machine, and some orange juice made from concentrate. That is if the young athletes haven't snaffled all the orange juice beforehand for their 'water' bottles.

Lilleshall National Sports Centre is a sprawling National Sports Centre doing a bit on the side as a hotel, and not really pulling it off. North of £86 per night is a good £26 too much to pay for a twin room, a rank canteen breakfast and what feels like student accommodation but with the addition of a flat screen telly. Serving breakfast UNTIL 8:30 am, on a Sunday, really is pathetic, catering to the needs of the organisation and not to the needs of the guests. Mercifully, they let you go back to bed and check out at gone noon on Sundays. I assume that our £86 will go some way towards subsidising the accommodation of current and future elite athletes, which comes as some comfort during this summer of conspicuous sporting success.

If you can possibly stay somewhere else, you really,really should.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, General Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Idler,

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent visit to Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre. We appreciate your feedback and always use such customer reviews to improve.

Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre offers 4* Campus Style Accommodation primarily catering for athletes of a local, regional, national and international standard. The facilities, food and timing of meals are all designed around the requirements of these athletes and enable us to deliver to their training needs.

Given Lilleshall’s beautiful grounds and setting we also offer Lilleshall Hall and Gardens as a unique wedding/function venue. For our non-sporting guests, we offer a competitive bed and breakfast rate of £60.20 per night for a single room and £86.70 for a twin or double room with breakfast being served until 9am for weddings and functions.

We have taken your feedback very seriously and are investigating to understand why we failed to meet our own very high standards during your visit. If you would like to call us to discuss the points you have raised in more detail then please do not hesitate to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lilleshall hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Working on site for a couple of days allowed me to sample the rooms, great quality, good finishes, very clean and set in wonderful grounds. Food was excellent a very enjoyable two days in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience and found the accommodation and food to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Perhaps you can even make the most of our wonderful grounds with our very own orienteering course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just before Christmas we were invited to a wedding held at Lilleshall Hall. The venue in the old part of the hall was perfect. The staff were very attentive, the food was excellent and if the weather had been a little warmer it would have been great to walk around the beautiful gardens. We stayed overnight in one of the double rooms. They are not luxurious but are very clean and the bed very firm which suited my bad back. The only negative side of the stay was the breakfast. The plates were cold and we were unable to pick our own sausage and bacon as the waitress behind the buffet counter put them on our plates for us. My husband does like his food cremated but this was not. The only eggs are poached as we were told they were healthy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Many thanks for the feedback on your recent visit to and stay at Lilleshall. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience at the wedding.

I am sorry to hear about your experience with breakfast, we do operate a servery service on all our meals taken in the Main Dining Room. With regards the poached eggs, this is in line with our usual healthy eating policy, in which we serve scrambled and poached eggs as an alternative to fried. Our plates are usually heated and therefore to ensure consistency we will be more attentive with the temperature of these in the future.

Our grounds are open to visitors* most of the year round, so we would be more than happy to welcome you back when it is a little warmer.

* Animals are not permitted with the exception of guide dogs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had a company Christmas party at Lilleshall for 60 of us last week and around 25 of us stayed the night. It was a great event - the alcohol flowed, the disco played and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had a Christmas meal and the food was hearty - not fine dining but big portions which suited most of our group.

I was a bit concerned about the bedrooms having read earlier reviews - but the rooms / block that we stayed in looked like they were brand-new. Everything spotless and well finished. An interesting quirk is the bathroom light has a motion sensor and it doesn't seem to cover the shower - so the light kept going off while I was mid-shower - disconcerting to start with but if you wave your hand over the top of the shower screen door the light comes on again!

Breakfast was canteen style and suited our group very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MesoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the motion sensors in your bathroom.

The bathroom sensors have been installed as part of our commitment to energy saving across the site and reducing our carbon footprint. A review of the time setting on the sensors will be undertaken to ensure that the incident that you experienced does not occur in future.

We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the event and hope to see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just got ack from a first sty at Lilleshall for a Squash Coaching Conference. The accommodation is fine with great views of the fabulous grounds. The food is really good, nutritious and lots of variety. The soup at the conference meal was fantastic! I read that people say its a canteen like restaurant, but I don't have a problem with that as the food was good and service quick. The timings a realistic to the events going on. Will definitely come back again and wouldn't mind going again if we wanted to stay for a weekend away

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros_W_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the accommodation and food was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at the Lilleshall National Sports Centre as part of table tennis on the weekend of 12/13th October. From the outside the place looks fantastic but its a whole different story inside. My floor in my room had not been cleaned and found various things on the floor. In the bathroom i found the shower head was low and tried to move it up and by doing so the pipe attached to the shower came off, i managed to put it back on but then when i had a shower the water wasn't hot, lukewarm at best. In terms of the food it isn't a restaurant it is just a canteen with hardly any choice of food and breakfast times are absolutely ridiculous (7:30-8:30) on a Sunday morning. I am so glad it was only a weekend stay and that i didn't have to pay for any of it as it was paid for me by the English Table Tennis Association. One word AVOID!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrtT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L_Moore_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay at Lilleshall on a table tennis sporting camp. I was disappointed and concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction. High standards of cleanliness and guest comfort in our rooms are extremely important to us and I assure you that what you describe is unusual. I am so very sorry to hear that you did not experience our usual standards. I would be grateful if you could contact me as soon as possible with the room number you stayed in so that we can find out exactly what happened here and ensure it doesn’t happen again. I appreciate that you may not remember the room number, however if you can tell us the name of the accommodation block and floor that would help. You can send this information to enquiries.lilleshall@serco.com. As you say, the service in the dining room is more akin to a cafeteria, with tray service and self-clearance. It is not a typical restaurant, with diners frequently dressed in sports attire and aged anywhere from 8 to 80. Meal times are agreed with Sport England at times to meet with needs / schedules of typical sporting camps. We did provide an early lunch to meet the requirements of your camp organisers. I am sorry that you weren’t happy with the choice of food. Our breakfast offering that weekend, as per usual, consisted of poached and scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, fresh tomatoes, toast & preserves, natural yoghurt, strawberry yoghurt, fruit of the forest, fresh fruit salad and grapefruit segments, Danish pastries, 5 choices of cereals, selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate, orange juice and squash. The lunch menu is homemade soup with fresh bread, 2 x main choices, a vegetarian option, baked potatoes with fillings, 2 carbohydrates, 2 vegetables, a hot dessert, chilled dessert selection (at least 5 choices), salad bar. Our own research tells us that the majority of our customers are delighted with the selection available, however we are sorry that you feel there wasn’t much choice. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you with more information on the room you were in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilleshall
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Telford North Hotel
2.3 mi away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.8 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
7.3 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre

Property: Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre
Address: Lilleshall National Sports Centre Pave Lane | near Newport, Lilleshall TF10 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Lilleshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lilleshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilleshall was originally built in 1831 as the hunting lodge and family retreat of the Duke of Sutherland. It first became a National Sports Centre in 1951 and was opened by the then Princess Elizabeth II with the original plaque still in place in the entrance to the main hall. It was Lilleshall's connection with Association Football that brought the Centre to the attention of the nation. The England team trained for two weeks at Lilleshall prior to their success in the World Cup of 1966. In 1967, Sir Alfred Ramsey returned to the Centre to unveil a plaque to commemorate his team's stay and endorse the view that Lilleshall could justly claim some credit for England's famous victory. In 1984 The Football Association's School of Excellence was established welcoming young talent such as Michael Owen, Jamie Carragher, Sol Campbell and Joe Cole to name but a few. Today Lilleshall is an elite training centre for some of the country's leading sportsmen and women and regularly welcomes use by numerous sports bodies. With its unique and rich heritage and commitment to providing a World Class Experience, Lilleshall is a certainly a place where you can wake up and feel inspired. Lilleshall is situated among the spectacular and secluded surroundings of the Shropshire countryside within 134 hectares of English Heritage Grade II listed grounds. The main house (Lilleshall Hall) overlooks the beautiful Capability Brown inspired gardens. As well as a range of world class facilities available for use (bookable in advance), the Centre has two walking routes. The 2.5 mile Discovery Trail will provide you with the chance to discover some of Lilleshall's many gems including the Italian Water Garden, the Pet Cemetery and the World Class Sports Facilities. The 6 mile Adventure Fitness Trail enables you to discover these gems but also provides you with the chance to test your fitness, taking you through the woodland belts alongside the estate's 2 mile sweeping drive to the golden gates (an exact replica of those at Buckingham Palace), before returning (a steady climb all the way!) to explore the heart of the estate. Work is also underway on a nature trail which is due to be open in the Summer. Visitors can reserve rooms in one of three purpose built accommodation blocks, a short walk from reception, the dining room and bar. (Sorry no rooms available in the main house). Room facilities include tea & coffee making, digital HD television, hairdryers and free WIFI along with ample free parking. There is a cafe bar open from 7:30 - 23:00 where you can enjoy hot and cold food and drinks. Beyond the site, Lilleshall is well placed for many local attractions including Weston Park, Ironbridge Gorge and Museums, Hoo Farm, Telford Town Park and Wonderland, The Wrekin, RAF Museum Cosford, Telford Ski Centre and Telford International Centre. The historic market town of Newport, where you will find many independent shops, pubs and restaurants, is approximately 4 miles away. Telford, with its many tourist attractions, shopping centre, cafes, bars, restaurants and cinemas, is within a 15 minute drive. The towns of Stafford, Wolverhampton and Shrewsbury are all within a 25 minute drive. Room prices start from just £38.50. Check in is from 1.30pm Monday - Saturday and 5.30pm on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing