We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Convento D'Alter
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
73
109
21
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
109
21
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was spaciousbreadone nightf btvconventomonasterypoolregionluxurychaosurfacecharm
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Convento for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom, and overlooked the pool and castle view - stunning! Nuno and the rest of the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was in a lovely room with good variety of food. A special shout out to Maria and the Alter do Chao Tourist Office for recommending and arranging the hotel for us. All of her recommendations were spot on and we are so appreciative.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank hillcrestfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Well located, comfortable with a large and nicely tiled bathroom so we assume the refurbishment wasn't too long ago. A great atrium, several seating areas well decorated, welcoming and helpful staff. The pool area and terraces seem perfect but the weather sadly let everyone down this Easter weekend. It was surprisingly not very busy and unfortunately the restaurant was not opened. However the local Pateo Real situated on the high street round the corner offered a very good dinner experience and was very busy. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was pretty good with a selection of fresh fruits (the melon, the mango and the pineapple were tasty but please don't encourage people to serve tasteless strawberries at this time, such a waste). I read some bad reviews about the breakfast and coffee in this establishment but it appears it has changed, there is a machine dispensing espressos, capuccinos etc and there's also filter coffee in a thermos so I would have thought everyone will find what they want here. There was a delicious cheese from the region and a choice of breads plus the usual assortment of jams, cereals, yogurts including soja based ones. It is a shame there was no presunto available while visiting as this is normally the case in most buffets we've had in Portugal. Staff were available readily, we were immediately supplied with extra wooden coat hangers. The parking facility is not best, on-street parking is limited and awkward and the large area of parking that would have been reclaimed from a disused factory yard really need some attention as it is full of potholes and uneven layers of various types of surfaces which jar with a good hotel. That area could easily be made more user friendly and appealing and in return benefit the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which, booked on a good deal, pretty descent, located on the side where most parking spaces are but quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FranckArmandPaulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

It's an old monastery and I'm sure that would make quite an impression when it was renovated, but now it's a bit outdated. Old bathrooms and cold floors. The breakfast was good though. Needs some renovations.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This restored convent with 2 floors is tastefully decorated; rooms are comfortable and most have an outside sitting area. Bathroom is spacious and well equipped. There's plenty of free parking, a pool, bar, and restaurant. Breakfast is ample. Staff was very accommodating -- I was able to get my laundry done and it was done beautifully and delivered to my room. Everyone is personable and friendly. It is a short walk to a cute town tho there's not much to do or see there. My only quibble is the restaurant or rather the kitchen. Other reviews refer to food over cooked; one diner we chatted with complained of the same. The night we dined a buffet was offered. For me it was inedible! The kitchen staff needs an overhaul starting with the cook. Otherwise an enjoyable stay and very relaxing.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank metrochik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed at this hotel as part of a cycle group this spring. Accommodations were lovely, pool was very refreshing! And after a day cycling it was great to lounge on the pool chairs, f&b all very good.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking pool. Lovely view and a great spot to dry clothes,
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mountforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews