We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy nature in an eco friendly environment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilgil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kigio Wildlife Camp
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We spent two nights at the Kigio Wildlife camp in January. As to be expected, the roads getting through the conservation area were very rough but that is what it is like in all the parks in Kenya and Tanzania. The first thing you will notice about Kigio is that the tent camp is in the middle of the park, not surrounded by a wall or fence, so animals can roam freely through the area. You are assigned a tent, which is really a huge room with an attached bathroom, cement floor and screened walls covered with canvas flaps. Don't worry about safety or comfort. You get a hot water bottle in your bed with turn down service and lots of blankets. We loved the real "Out of Africa" feel to the place. You walk down a path through the wilderness to get to your tent. Porters carry everything and escort you in the evening . Since we stayed two weeks in Kenya and Tanzania and stayed at five different tent camps, we had a good selection of accomadations to compare Kigio with. They get very high marks on thier professionalism, friendliness and their food. Most tent camps provide buffet style meals while Kigio offers food to order. You get a selection of two entres for lunch and dinner and custom made omeletes and pancakes for breakfast. I thought the food was exceptional. Another aspect of Kigio that really appealed to us was that it is a conservation area that does everything to be green and one with nature and thier community. I really admire wat they are doing. There is limited hours for hot water and power, no wi fi but a great free nature walk out into the conservation area. They provide a bird list and a night game drive ($55). The dining area is open to a beautiful cliff and stream teeming with birds. The dining room building also has a bar and a huge fire place.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk down a dirt hiking trail, ask for a room closest to the dining room bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugoHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was truly a wonderful place to be,, rustic but beautiful ,, would recommend it highly,, the rooms are clean and we loved that they are Eco aware,, the food was very good, organic and fresh, all the staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This was another "winner" on our recent Africa safari. The rooms are individual "cabins" which are absolutely humongous. Not only huge in square feet, but open to the peaked roof giving an extemely spacious feel. The backside consists of screens and zippered canvas that can be opened to let in the sunlight and get a view of the river down below. The weather gets very cool at night, but the friendly staff brings in hot water bottles while you are at dinner, and combined with duvets and blanket, you sleep comfortably to the sounds of nature.

The dinner is the choice of a meat dish or vegetarian (pasta while we were there), along with a soup starter and dessert and coffee. All of our safari dining experiences were in a roofed building, but partially opened to the outdoors. We were the only guests on the first night, so the staff set up a candlelit dinner from two in front of lighted fireplace. And the beef was some of the best ever. With a large group on the second night, our table was not so romantic, but the staff took good care of us. Since the meat choice was another beef entree (but not the same as the night before), we were told not to worry about beef again, as they would prepare pork chops just for us.

I lost track of how many times we were asked by different staff members if everything was fine- it was. Finally we had a very nice afternoon game walk (free to guests), a nice change from viewing from a vehicle, and a night game ride (paid for by our tour company) where we saw a leopard come down from a rocky overlook to stalk a warthog at the nearby waterhole.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tours2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This place was fantastic. The employees were beyond wonderful. Everyone was so helpful and kind. The food was amazing. This was my favorite place of the 8 places we stayed during our trip. George took us on a great nature walk. The night game drive was also excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILoveElephants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The Kigio Wildlife Camp was the highlight of our recent trip to Kenya and Tanzania. The simple accommodations were spacious and clean. The staff was outstanding, bending over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The food was probably the best we had on our travels. It was situated overlooking a river, where hippos could be seen. Monkeys were in the trees surrounding the cabins, but were not obtrusive as seen in other places. The nature walk was outstanding.
The only downside was the water was apparently pumped from the river, and had a brown tinge to it. You felt clean after your shower, but it made you feel dirty looking at the apparently muddiy water going down the drain.
All in all, Kigio Wildlife Camp is authentic Africa and a wonderful stop on any tour of Kenya. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UofMFan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was my favorite of all the places we stayed while in Kenya. Staff of several local young men were amazing and went above and beyond any normal expectations to make sure we were comfortable. It is rustic, but it had an authenticity as a true African Experience that we were looking for on our trip. The food was great, and make sure you don't miss the night time game drive.
Rooms are gigantic and were kept very neat and clean.
A must see for anyone looking for authentic safari.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and were out on safari most of the time so we didn't spend a lot of time in the camp. It's very cold at night so your only options for the evening are eat as quickly as possible (dining room is open air) preferably with a winter coat on, then go get in bed with the hot water bottle and LOTS of covers (provided). Getting showered and dressed early in the morning is a chilly experience too. You can sit close to the fire in the restaurant in the evening but if you want to read you should bring a book light, there just isn't any lighting (pretty much true in the rooms too). Accommodations are sort of half-cabin, half-tent and some are pretty far from the main building along minimally lighted paths. The food was adequate but nothing special. No hairdryers or curling irons can be used in the rooms. A hairdryer station is available at the main building. The road to approach this camp is the worst we encountered in Kenya (which is saying a lot). People with back or neck problems should stay away. Our room was huge but all 3 beds crowded into one corner, no idea why. I'm not really sure why our tour company chose this place, since our main safari in the area was at Lake Nakuru which was an hours's drive away and close to an urban area which should have had an assortment of accommodation. We had a night game drive provided which was a nice feature but unfortunately we didn't see too much that we didn't also see in the daytime. No wi-fi at this camp but they will drive you to the sister camp to use it if you ask.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank NotTooFussySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilgil
23.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oasis Eco Camp
Oasis Eco Camp
#4 of 7 in Gilgil
22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elementaita Bandas Retreat and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horns
Hotel Horns
#3 of 4 in Gilgil
2 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sirville Lake Elementaita Lodge
3.7 mi away
Kika Lodge
Kika Lodge
#2 of 7 in Gilgil
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigio Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigio Wildlife Camp

Address: overlooking the Malewa River, Gilgil, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Gilgil
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Gilgil
Hotel Class:3 star — Kigio Wildlife Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kigio Wildlife Camp Hotel Gilgil
Kigio Wildlife Camp Kenya/Gilgil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing