We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditto!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilgil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kigio Wildlife Camp
Reviewed 28 March 2013

As the previous reviewers indicate, Kigio is a delight. We spent 2 nights there and enjoyed sleeping in the the roomy accommodations, seeing water buck at the watering hole and walking with George who showed us leopard prints in the salt slick. The managers, South Africans Shirley and David, were gracious and have a wonderful staff plus an excellent chef. As Kenya is taking a hit tourism wise, we were the only 2 guests 1 evening and enjoyed dinner beside the fireplace and lunch overlooking the clay bank where swifts have make their homes.

A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cabins near the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FinallyTimeToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

These lodges are built in traditional African style, and they are overlooking the Malewa River. They use solar power to generate electricity. The room are big, with hot water and great views.
The dinning Hall is spacious, one side has a nice fireplace, that keep you warn for dinner
The food is real good, and the employees are fantastic and friendly. At night, they have ready the bed for you, and also they place a hot water bag in your bed.
It is a great experience visit this environmental focus place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahidyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Last week my husband and I took a trip to Dubai and Kenya. Part of our trip was over night at Kigio game resort. We have to say it was 6 star experience for us. Private and custom made to order breakfast, lunch and dinner, great wine and beer selections too.. Beautiful huts and king size bed. Flashing toilet and hot shower in middle of the wilderness. Wow. Everyone should experience this if you like African safari, definitely it should be on the bucket list. The night safari was to fabulous compare with our Sienna Spring's experience, this was way superior, lots of games to see. The South Africa manager runs a great ship, friendly and knowledgable staffs, sorry, we forget his name. We are so looking forward to go back to Kigio, next time we would like to spend few more days.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill63141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stayed at Kigio in January 2013. It was wonderful! The rooms were spacious and cozy. The turn down service and hot water bottles helped with the cool nights!

The food was some of the best we had in Africa's camps/lodges (I visited approximately 5) and the staff was friendly, funny, and accomodating.

I would highly recommend staying at the camp!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We spent two nights at the Kigio Wildlife camp in January. As to be expected, the roads getting through the conservation area were very rough but that is what it is like in all the parks in Kenya and Tanzania. The first thing you will notice about Kigio is that the tent camp is in the middle of the park, not surrounded by a wall or fence, so animals can roam freely through the area. You are assigned a tent, which is really a huge room with an attached bathroom, cement floor and screened walls covered with canvas flaps. Don't worry about safety or comfort. You get a hot water bottle in your bed with turn down service and lots of blankets. We loved the real "Out of Africa" feel to the place. You walk down a path through the wilderness to get to your tent. Porters carry everything and escort you in the evening . Since we stayed two weeks in Kenya and Tanzania and stayed at five different tent camps, we had a good selection of accomadations to compare Kigio with. They get very high marks on thier professionalism, friendliness and their food. Most tent camps provide buffet style meals while Kigio offers food to order. You get a selection of two entres for lunch and dinner and custom made omeletes and pancakes for breakfast. I thought the food was exceptional. Another aspect of Kigio that really appealed to us was that it is a conservation area that does everything to be green and one with nature and thier community. I really admire wat they are doing. There is limited hours for hot water and power, no wi fi but a great free nature walk out into the conservation area. They provide a bird list and a night game drive ($55). The dining area is open to a beautiful cliff and stream teeming with birds. The dining room building also has a bar and a huge fire place.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk down a dirt hiking trail, ask for a room closest to the dining room bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugoHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was truly a wonderful place to be,, rustic but beautiful ,, would recommend it highly,, the rooms are clean and we loved that they are Eco aware,, the food was very good, organic and fresh, all the staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This was another "winner" on our recent Africa safari. The rooms are individual "cabins" which are absolutely humongous. Not only huge in square feet, but open to the peaked roof giving an extemely spacious feel. The backside consists of screens and zippered canvas that can be opened to let in the sunlight and get a view of the river down below. The weather gets very cool at night, but the friendly staff brings in hot water bottles while you are at dinner, and combined with duvets and blanket, you sleep comfortably to the sounds of nature.

The dinner is the choice of a meat dish or vegetarian (pasta while we were there), along with a soup starter and dessert and coffee. All of our safari dining experiences were in a roofed building, but partially opened to the outdoors. We were the only guests on the first night, so the staff set up a candlelit dinner from two in front of lighted fireplace. And the beef was some of the best ever. With a large group on the second night, our table was not so romantic, but the staff took good care of us. Since the meat choice was another beef entree (but not the same as the night before), we were told not to worry about beef again, as they would prepare pork chops just for us.

I lost track of how many times we were asked by different staff members if everything was fine- it was. Finally we had a very nice afternoon game walk (free to guests), a nice change from viewing from a vehicle, and a night game ride (paid for by our tour company) where we saw a leopard come down from a rocky overlook to stalk a warthog at the nearby waterhole.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tours2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilgil
23.1 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oasis Eco Camp
Oasis Eco Camp
#4 of 7 in Gilgil
22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elementaita Bandas Retreat and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horns
Hotel Horns
#3 of 4 in Gilgil
2 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sirville Lake Elementaita Lodge
3.7 mi away
Kika Lodge
Kika Lodge
#2 of 7 in Gilgil
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kigio Wildlife Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kigio Wildlife Camp

Address: overlooking the Malewa River, Gilgil, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Gilgil
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Gilgil
Hotel Class:3 star — Kigio Wildlife Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kigio Wildlife Camp Hotel Gilgil
Kigio Wildlife Camp Kenya/Gilgil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing