We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must see!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barefoot Sukau Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sukau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Sukau Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Sukau B&B and Inns
La Queue-en-Brie, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a must see!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

if you like the "real nature"run to this nice lodge.!!.;close to the river the room are simple but confortable clean and quiet ;the food are very good the staff very nice and the Young guy who made the boat trip are very Professional and the price are good!!!the other lodge in the same area are very expensive!!!so go ...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wod94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    23
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We loved this place. It is run by the lovely Anna, backed up by Auntie Rose (the cook), Sharul, cook and boatman/guide and the fun Acil who was the boatman guide for all but our night cruise. The rooms are basic but clean and I had my best night's sleep there out of all the places we stayed. The dining/sitting area is overlooking the river and has one of the best views of anywhere I have ever been (and I've lived abroad for 20 years!). Tea and coffee is on tap constantly and they even got some condensed milk in for me so I could have the local coffee which is my weakness. The meals are delicious with lots of local food, but there isn't a menu, so you get what you are given. We enjoyed all of it, so no complaints there. There are river cruises morning, afternoon and night, and all at a very reasonable price (about 40 Ringgit per cruise) and the guides are extremely knowledgeable. They identified 5 different types of hornbill, monitor lizards, orangutans, proboscis monkeys, macaques and many other types of bird for us and we were lucky enough to see elephants. All down to Acil's perseverance and general good humouredness! And the piece de resistance was having a crocodile swim alongside our boat during the night cruise. Very scary but utterly incredible. Oh and watching the sunrise from the breakfast area while listening to the call of the rhinocerous hornbill......magical.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

The real Borneo... A very simple hostel with an amazing veranda above theThe real Borneo... A very simple hostel with an amazing veranda above the Kinabatangan River. We spent a few hours there, by enjoying coffee and tea and was just perfect time. Plus 2 boat tours at the Kinabatangan River: evening and sun rise time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELENIL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at this lodge for one night whilst passing through and enjoyed the experience.

We were picked up from Sandakhan and driven the two hours by the friendly owner, once arrived we had lunch, then did a river cruise and saw elephants, three different types of monkeys and some snakes. Then after dinner we did another boat cruise and saw a variety of birds and two crocodiles.

The accommodation is very basic, but good value and overlooking the river. The food was average and the staff friendly. The river cruises were very good and the guide was excellent at pointing out the wildlife although his English was not great.

If you're looking for cheap accommodation for a night or two to explore the river then this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Sukau like Danum (aka royal visit tour) seems to be commandeered by the "package tour" specialists which charge an exhorbitant amount locals probably don't get a minute fraction of. Forced then to web search backpackers knowing they wouldn't be paying this kind of money but would still want to see "the famous wildlife". The first I came to was Barefoot Lodge.
Tarriff was R80 per room. We booked three nights. No problem at all with the R45pp one way from Sandakan pickup. First omen was a dead dog lying on the road entering Sukau village. Second omen - no-one was else staying at the lodge. That meant I could not do the wildlife spotting trips without paying for the whole boat hire which I would not do. Third omen, dog vomit at the entrance to the eating area . Now not one to heed omens, I gave it no second thought.
So fit as...we walked down the road and found where all the foreign backpackers were staying (Greenview or Green something) and they had loads of people going so I paid per head and joined them. Both fit as fiddles, we walked about after the trip and waited for the 30R dinner which was two salty green stringy vege, cold lumpy rice, and THE FISH!!!!!!!!! Now we are vegetarians and told the agent who drove us to the lodge that we wanted vege only but he said he had been to the market and got us Barracouda and Tuna (the fish served turned out to be neither). We occasionally eat fish so we thought nothing of it but what was served was 4 hand length fish which amounted to nothing but spiny bones and head - we picked at the bit of flesh which was swimming in neat rancid oil (palm oil always smells rancid) some sauce as salty as the black sea and that was that. We only drank warm water from a thermos they provided thinking it was boiled. At about 4am the symptoms started. I am no doctor but would wonder if there was a connection with the story so far. We developed violent vomiting and diorrhea and a headache that felt like it was blowing up our heads over and over - the body aches were like being torn apart slowly. We got a lift to the local doctorless clinic and they offered no diagosis and a lot of pills none of which worked to ease the intense agony which lasted three days in a "shack" with only the barest, if that, facilities. Thank God there was a sit toilet and it was attached. The building itself is ready for demolition and while in the throws of high fever delerium, we watched the termites eating away at everything even our stuff that we could hardly even care about anymore. I seriously thought I would die and we were three hours from the nearest hospital. Neither of us have ever been so ill. I have travelled far and wide but nothing matched this.
Now the problem was that there being no other tourists staying we could not see if having eaten the same food as us, they had also got sick. We believe we had food poisoning but can't prove it so not accusations against the lodge are being laid.
Apart from the sickness, the sleeping quarters are directly behind the mosque and that means
prayer calling over loudspeakers through the day and night and then both at 4am and 5am. Humour even wins over dire sickness as we both started laughing -feebly as it was- when the two gaurd dogs of the lodge began howling along with the sound of the sung prayer. No offence intended but it did have quite the tinge of macabre. Second problem of location of lodge to mosque is the generator for the mosque. They were having teachings going on for hours and ending close to midnight and the sound of the generator was like a low drone drill going through your skull. Being so sick and with heads on fire and pounding there was no relief not by day nor night. During the day, the workers were rebuilding the pontoon for the lodge and that involved extremely loud hammering which went on for days. If this was hell then we were in it.
The good bit? The open air eatery come sitting area overlooks the river and is quite nice but the lodge is on the bend of the road and gets some traffic. Beer is cheap and available till ten but we weren't drinking any. Sukau Kinabatang river is beautiful so is the wildlife and the forest.
PS Breakfast served was fried sweet potato, white bread and melon (the only fruit I dislike) - luckily we were not up to eating this fare by a long shot. We began eating about 6 days later.

Room Tip: Make up your own mind. I told my story as I experienced it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We undertook the 2 night 3 day package. We were lucky as on a couple of occasions it was only ourselves and our guide on the river cruise trip.

The river cruising was excellent each time staying over the allotted time allocated. Our guide was brilliant at spotting wildlife especially on the night cruise.

There are posters and literature around the restaurant which help you to identify what wildlife you have seen.

The rooms here are very basic with thin walls. We could hear the fella next door snoring. Bathrooms are adequate but you wouldn't want to hang around in it any longer than is necessary. Hot water is available and towels are provided.

Food is tasty and varied enough over the 3 days.

There are great views from the restaurant lounge area. You can easily spot wildlife from there even when not on a cruise we watched at least 2 groups of monkeys work there way across the rock opposite.

Transfers were easy enough with friendly driver.

This stay is all about the wildlife. If your looking for home comforts dont stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareyS-ClareyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We were supposed to stay in Sukau Greenview B&B, but due to some problems we stayed at this place. Overall, the Barefoot lodge proved to be a good but a basic place to stay. Restaurant and river cruise are great. Food was average. Rooms are basic, but if you come to Sukau, you seek for adventures and jungles, so you do not need luxury rooms. Beer is available at reception (local brand - Skol for 6RM per can). However, you can bring your own alcohol and drink it in the lodge (restaurant).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bah881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukau
5.9 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
11.4 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 30 in Sandakan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Sukau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Sukau Lodge

Property: Barefoot Sukau Lodge
Address: Kinabatangan River, Sukau 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District > Sukau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sukau
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Barefoot Sukau Hotel Sukau
Barefoot Sukau Lodge Kinabatangan District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing